• Italy’s First Black Minister Has Bananas Thrown At Her

ITALY’S FIRST BLACK MINISTER HAS BANANAS THROWN AT HER DURING SPEECH

Italy’s first black minister had bananas thrown at her by an audience member during a speech Friday, the latest in a series of harassing racial incidents she’s endured since her appointment in April.

All of the bananas missed the podium where Integration Minister Cecile Kyenge was speaking, the U.K. Telegraph reported, but unleashed a storm of condemnation in the country. According to Reuters, the slurs have been blamed on far-right groups angry with Kyenge’s efforts to make it easier for immigrants to gain Italian citizenship.

Kyenge, who was born in the Democratic Republic of Congo, responded to the incident on Twitter, calling it “sad” and a waste of food in light of the economic crisis, Reuters reported.

“The courage and optimism to change things has to come above all from the bottom up to reach the institutions,” she tweeted.

Gianni Alemanno, the former mayor of Rome, was less measured in his response: “Another shameful and disgraceful gesture. Solidarity with the Minister Kyenge. Now let’s just isolate the idiots.”

Earlier this month, an Italian senator said Kyenge reminded him of an orangutan.

“I love animals – bears and wolves, as everyone knows – but when I see the pictures of Kyenge I cannot but think of, even if I’m not saying she is one, the features of an orangutan,” Roberto Calderoli said in a speech. He later called Kyenge to apologize.

http://www.233prime.com/italys-first...r-has-bananas/

Europeans are so fake when it comes to issues of race. This would never occur in America in 2013.

ITALY’S FIRST BLACK MINISTER HAS BANANAS THROWN AT HER DURING SPEECH

Italy’s first black minister had bananas thrown at her by an audience member during a speech Friday, the latest in a series of harassing racial incidents she’s endured since her appointment in April.

All of the bananas missed the podium where Integration Minister Cecile Kyenge was speaking, the U.K. Telegraph reported, but unleashed a storm of condemnation in the country. According to Reuters, the slurs have been blamed on far-right groups angry with Kyenge’s efforts to make it easier for immigrants to gain Italian citizenship.

Kyenge, who was born in the Democratic Republic of Congo, responded to the incident on Twitter, calling it “sad” and a waste of food in light of the economic crisis, Reuters reported.

“The courage and optimism to change things has to come above all from the bottom up to reach the institutions,” she tweeted.

Gianni Alemanno, the former mayor of Rome, was less measured in his response: “Another shameful and disgraceful gesture. Solidarity with the Minister Kyenge. Now let’s just isolate the idiots.”

Earlier this month, an Italian senator said Kyenge reminded him of an orangutan.

“I love animals – bears and wolves, as everyone knows – but when I see the pictures of Kyenge I cannot but think of, even if I’m not saying she is one, the features of an orangutan,” Roberto Calderoli said in a speech. He later called Kyenge to apologize.

http://www.233prime.com/italys-first...r-has-bananas/
      Agree with you Horts. Europeans are where Americans were in the 50's or early 60's. I have been saying that on this forum for many years, but the detractors and American pseudohaters always disagreed.

Yet again!?

It's bad in Europe but I believe there is still a great deal of racism lurking under the surface in the USA. Just go to the White House app and see what people are saying about the govt shutdown or any of the numerous YouTube's out there dealing with Obama. I don't know which of the two better. People smile up with you in America while in Europe dem just flung di banana and done!

Mi nuh hear dem a lynch nuhbaddy and DWB is not a crime over here. Mi cyan think of anywhere in Western Europe where places are off limts due to skin colour, ie where being caught in certain neighbourhood at night being black is akin to a death sentence. Mista Treyvon would agree.

Point is the racism manifests in different ways and Italians can be among the worst as other Europs jokingly call Southern Italians "Africans"...so them try gwaan whiter dan white.

In America it would be bullets instead of Banana.

Americans need to be careful how they look at other countries when it comes to racism. Don't mek di Obama factor tun unnu inna fool!

Hanging out in the South Side of Chicago can be a death sentence.

Trus mi in some parts of the good ole USA that could still happen.
                    Did you hear the GOP congressman compare ObamaCare to being worse that laws affirming slavery? That I would think is worse than throwing a banana but if there debate on that I am sure it is at least its equal.

Willi you seem very touchy and defensive when it comes to the despicable manifestations of European anti-black racism. North America has many racist episodes but whether you want to admit it or not there is a level of racism taken for granted in Europe that is not in North America hence the actions and utterances not just from the rabble but from those who would otherwise be considered the elite of society.

Did you see what the OP said about what cant happen in America?
                        Did you read my respinse in its entirety?

Are you an expert on what happenss here?

Did she catch them? That would be impressive...

I agree with you. It manifests itself in different forms, Some things like the racism that happens at football games in Europe would NEVER be accepted in professional sports in North America. On the other hand there are areas of the US that would go back to lynching tomorrow if they could get away with it.

I don't see where one has any moral high ground over the other.