• Education in Jamaica

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Education_in_Jamaica

http://www.moe.gov.jm/school-publications-2012-2013

http://www.moe.gov.jm/

Ministry rolls out National Mathematics Policy

BY INGRID BROWN Associate editor — special assignment browni@jamaicaobserver.com
    Wednesday, October 02, 2013

THE Ministry of Education is in the roll-out phase of a National Mathematics Policy to improve how the subject is taught in schools in light of low exam performances at both the primary and secondary levels.

The policy will seek to improve teacher and teaching quality, provide additional support for struggling students and increase access to resources.
    Dr Tamika Benjamin, national mathematics co-ordinator in the education ministry (left), explains the rationale for the National Mathematics Policy at this week’s Jamaica Observer Monday Exchange. With her are Novelette Plunkett, head of the Mathematics Department at The Mico University College, and Byron Buckley, director of communications at the education ministry. (PHOTO: NAPHTALI JUNIOR)

#slideshowtoggler, #slideshowtoggler a, #slideshowtoggler img {filter:none !important;zoom:normal !important}

In the first year the programme is expected to provide support for 1,365 secondary teachers in 130 secondary schools and 2,000 primary teachers in 250 primary schools. An additional 250 schools will be targeted in years three and four of the intervention.

National Mathematics Co-ordinator in the education ministry Dr Tamika Benjamin said the policy establishes some minimum standards and guidelines for several aspects of maths education, given that there were no prior standards.

"We have noticed when we go into schools, teachers tend to plan around a topic rather than plan for a lesson. So you plan that I am going to teach fractions and one lesson plan is drafted rather than a plan for each individual lesson plan to be developed in the unit," she explained.

Dr Benjamin, who was addressing reporters and editors at this week's Jamaica Observer Monday Exchange at the newspaper's head offices in Kingston, noted that there are several challenges with this approach.

"There is not enough continuous assessment to determine that students have grasped the concept to move on to the next stage, so the policy requires that there must be an individual plan for each lesson," she said.

According to Dr Benjamin, one challenge in the current system is the issue of the contact hours dedicated to the teaching of maths.

She noted that while this is less of a problem at the primary level, it is a source of concern at the secondary level.

"At the secondary level the previous average was 180 minutes per week, and the policy is now stipulating 240 minutes per week, which must be delivered over no less than four teaching sessions," Dr Benjamin said.

The ministry, Dr Benjamin said, is aware that schools on the shift system will have the most challenges implementing this. However, there are several schools which are not on the shift system and their teaching hours fall below this standard.

"We are expecting that they will make adjustment, if not for this academic year -- given that they would have already done timetables -- then for the 2014/2015 academic year," she explained.

The policy also seeks to establish qualifications for persons who are going to teach maths. Those who will be teaching at the secondary level will require, in addition to their first degree, a number of credit hours in maths education courses.

"So, for persons who would have done 45 credits in math education courses they will be able to teach up to grade 11; those with 60 credit hours will be able to teach grades 12 and 13 at the CAPE level," she explained. "Anybody falling short of that will be considered to have done a minor and would only be allowed to teach to grade nine."

The policy is particularly important at this time as statistics have shown that the factors contributing to the low levels of performance include the fact that only nine per cent of secondary school teachers are fully qualified to teach to grade 11; 35 per cent of primary school teachers have never passed Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC) maths; and 19 per cent of primary school teachers say they dislike the subject and are afraid of it.

Dr Benjamin said the issue of 35 per cent of teachers never having passed maths was because in the late 80s into 1990s maths was waived as a requirement for entry to teacher education programmes. Jamaica, she said, is now seeing the effects of that.

The ministry policy, she said, now stipulates that applicants must have a pass in maths to enter any of the teacher-training institutions.

Under the policy, all primary and early childhood student teachers must be observed teaching mathematics by a specialist during their teaching practice.

"In the past, persons on teaching practice were supposed to be observed a number of times, but there was nothing to require that they should be seen teaching the core areas of maths and language arts," Dr Benjamin said.

Head of the Mathematics Department at The Mico University College, Novelette Plunkett, said the policy will be dealing with the significant number of unqualified persons who are out there teaching maths.

"The area relating to teacher training is very significant because, if it is that we take care of it in the college we won't have to do too much of the tidying up that we have to do now with the thousands of teachers that we have to work on out there, and it is important we do that because there are persons in the system teaching maths with absolutely no maths qualification at all," Plunkett said.

Under the policy, 50 specialists will be deployed to primary schools and an additional 26 to secondary schools to support teachers in developing the knowledge, skills and competencies to utilise methods of teaching which are promoted in the National Comprehensive Numeracy Programme.

Training of teachers will be facilitated through coaching on site, access to an online programme, and face-to-face in a modular form in teacher-training institutions.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2ga5e74Wd

BY INGRID BROWN Associate editor — special assignment browni@jamaicaobserver.com
      Wednesday, October 02, 2013

THE Ministry of Education is in the roll-out phase of a National Mathematics Policy to improve how the subject is taught in schools in light of low exam performances at both the primary and secondary levels.

The policy will seek to improve teacher and teaching quality, provide additional support for struggling students and increase access to resources.

In the first year the programme is expected to provide support for 1,365 secondary teachers in 130 secondary schools and 2,000 primary teachers in 250 primary schools. An additional 250 schools will be targeted in years three and four of the intervention.

National Mathematics Co-ordinator in the education ministry Dr Tamika Benjamin said the policy establishes some minimum standards and guidelines for several aspects of maths education, given that there were no prior standards.

"We have noticed when we go into schools, teachers tend to plan around a topic rather than plan for a lesson. So you plan that I am going to teach fractions and one lesson plan is drafted rather than a plan for each individual lesson plan to be developed in the unit," she explained.

Dr Benjamin, who was addressing reporters and editors at this week's Jamaica Observer Monday Exchange at the newspaper's head offices in Kingston, noted that there are several challenges with this approach.

"There is not enough continuous assessment to determine that students have grasped the concept to move on to the next stage, so the policy requires that there must be an individual plan for each lesson," she said.

According to Dr Benjamin, one challenge in the current system is the issue of the contact hours dedicated to the teaching of maths.

She noted that while this is less of a problem at the primary level, it is a source of concern at the secondary level.

"At the secondary level the previous average was 180 minutes per week, and the policy is now stipulating 240 minutes per week, which must be delivered over no less than four teaching sessions," Dr Benjamin said.

The ministry, Dr Benjamin said, is aware that schools on the shift system will have the most challenges implementing this. However, there are several schools which are not on the shift system and their teaching hours fall below this standard.

"We are expecting that they will make adjustment, if not for this academic year -- given that they would have already done timetables -- then for the 2014/2015 academic year," she explained.

The policy also seeks to establish qualifications for persons who are going to teach maths. Those who will be teaching at the secondary level will require, in addition to their first degree, a number of credit hours in maths education courses.

"So, for persons who would have done 45 credits in math education courses they will be able to teach up to grade 11; those with 60 credit hours will be able to teach grades 12 and 13 at the CAPE level," she explained. "Anybody falling short of that will be considered to have done a minor and would only be allowed to teach to grade nine."

The policy is particularly important at this time as statistics have shown that the factors contributing to the low levels of performance include the fact that only nine per cent of secondary school teachers are fully qualified to teach to grade 11; 35 per cent of primary school teachers have never passed Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC) maths; and 19 per cent of primary school teachers say they dislike the subject and are afraid of it.

Dr Benjamin said the issue of 35 per cent of teachers never having passed maths was because in the late 80s into 1990s maths was waived as a requirement for entry to teacher education programmes. Jamaica, she said, is now seeing the effects of that.

The ministry policy, she said, now stipulates that applicants must have a pass in maths to enter any of the teacher-training institutions.

Under the policy, all primary and early childhood student teachers must be observed teaching mathematics by a specialist during their teaching practice.

"In the past, persons on teaching practice were supposed to be observed a number of times, but there was nothing to require that they should be seen teaching the core areas of maths and language arts," Dr Benjamin said.

Head of the Mathematics Department at The Mico University College, Novelette Plunkett, said the policy will be dealing with the significant number of unqualified persons who are out there teaching maths.

"The area relating to teacher training is very significant because, if it is that we take care of it in the college we won't have to do too much of the tidying up that we have to do now with the thousands of teachers that we have to work on out there, and it is important we do that because there are persons in the system teaching maths with absolutely no maths qualification at all," Plunkett said.

Under the policy, 50 specialists will be deployed to primary schools and an additional 26 to secondary schools to support teachers in developing the knowledge, skills and competencies to utilise methods of teaching which are promoted in the National Comprehensive Numeracy Programme.

Training of teachers will be facilitated through coaching on site, access to an online programme, and face-to-face in a modular form in teacher-training institutions.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2ga5e74Wd

Karl they will have to do better. Sixty credits to teach CAPE? You need someone with at least a bachelors to teach it. Student at such level need to see proofs (the underpinning of maths) I see Ja throwing in Matrices (mechanical part of linear algebra). Let me quote a mathematician: "Linear algebra is the most understood branch of math today" You can teach anyone to add, subtract and multiply (called operations) matrices the meat of linear algebra is the concept of vector spaces and Eigen space (this allows you to easily manipulate large matrices and its application can be readily seen in HD video technology) Boss these subjects are not thing to joke with. That's if you mean business for your economy.

I did say Ja could hire some phds from say India for cheap then distribute them across the island but ah well. Things and time will tell.

Karl they will have to do better. Sixty credits to teach CAPE? You need someone with at least a bachelors to teach it. Student at such level need to see proofs (the underpinning of maths) I see Ja throwing in Matrices (mechanical part of linear algebra). Let me quote a mathematician: "Linear algebra is the most understood branch of math today" You can teach anyone to add, subtract and multiply (called operations) matrices the meat of linear algebra is the concept of vector spaces and Eigen space (this allows you to easily manipulate large matrices and its application can be readily seen in HD video technology) Boss these subjects are not thing to joke with. That's if you mean business for your economy.

I did say Ja could hire some phds from say India for cheap then distribute them across the island but ah well. Things and time will tell.
          You are correct on concept...but as Mosiah and some of the rest of us have found out - (I hope they have after that 'Utopia' shot was taken at asking for "excellence" in the schools and from the administrators and teachers.) - "Rome wasn't built in a day!"

i.e. You have to make a start - Teachers do not have to be geniuses. The curriculum and syllabus is pre-determined. The teachers must them prepare excellent teaching plans...then lesson plans inclusive of methods to best get across the subject matter to each individual student. It is a lot of work...but it is for the most part/it is mainly/most often repetitive.

Bone up on subject matter! Practice delivery - innah empty classroom? ...yuh living room? ...wherever!!!

Determine core teaching method with variations on same as there is recognition that each student grasps knowledge in unique way(s). Be open to 'questions' from students 'coming out of left field'. Be honest! --- If you cannot provide the answer do not fudge!!! ...research! ...think on possible new questions! ...prepare! ...return to classroom and deliver in excellent manner!!!

To be good at teaching - like to be good at playing football - the teacher must have the right attitude. There is no such thing as a teacher being too critical of self!!!

Among other things: Constantly examine and seek to improve and also to improve the learning experience of the students. The day the teacher stops doing that - get out of the classroom!!!

wish the minister and the ministry luck with this program.

Rome was't built in a day and that is true. Other Romes are sprouting up around the planet, Ja needs a fast track approach Karl. Now instead of going up to the Indian embassy for music and dance; why not arrange for some of their math and science phds to teach in Ja. In order for students to be real comfortable with calc. they need a teacher with a masters or phd. Math is too important in the info age. In the industrial age; one could get away with memorizing mechanical steps in calculus (manipulating symbols) not so in the info age.Machines are being required to be smarter these days and this takes depth in math.

Sure...but why cannot both be done - Going to for music and dance & that mathematics?

Let me answer - Absolutely no reason.

You tell me why you think for us to advance in say, the sciences and mathematics we we need to discard the arts rather than getting the best of both worlds? ...for that matter the best of 'all worlds'?