Di Govt putting hose before cart.

• Di Govt putting hose before cart.

The mad rush for "development" seems to be nothing more than a sellout race to balanced short term budget.

All the grand announcements and mi nuh see the concommitant strategy to upgrade the workforce skillset to assume these hypothetical jobs. Is it that we creating a dormitory site for Fillipino and other foreign workers to come et wi suppah inna wi own yard???

This thing look far bigger than the GOJ.

That is what is going to happen.

Going to be like cruise ship staff, we serve the food and clean the facilities and the Asians will be the technicians and engineers.

With an unskilled workforce it can be no other way. Maybe it's the best we can do in the short term but You haffe have skilled people to move up the food chain.

The mad rush for "development" seems to be nothing more than a sellout race to balanced short term budget.

All the grand announcements and mi nuh see the concommitant strategy to upgrade the workforce skillset to assume these hypothetical jobs. Is it that we creating a dormitory site for Fillipino and other foreign workers to come et wi suppah inna wi own yard???

This thing look far bigger than the GOJ.
      This education upgrade should have commenced many years ago ... at least since 2000 to be generous. It's a long term JLPNP "education cyaan nyam" failed philosophy ...

The JLPNP tribes along with the "High School Mafia" insist that our education system remain as it was in the colonial era.. they are DUMB

Dis is how it set:

1. Highly stratified by class with 75% - 85% of the school cohort unprepared for the level they're in

2. Abominably skewed admission practices which institutionalize victimization of the poor

3. Emphasis of rote learning of the "classical subjects" with disdain showed for technical or even technological courses ... the celebrated Schools Challenge competition is the epitome of this rote learning 20th Century relic ... archaic thinking abounds!

4. Insane focus on poorly constructed standardized tests to grade or degrade children & schools... without much granular study or fixes addressing baseline performance vs non-performance indices (the recently instituted school assessments is a refreshing change but the jury is out on how this informs policy or funding reform)

5. Early childhood education i.e. the ROOT of the system... is abominably underfunded

The irony is ...even if we operated this shitstem WELL we would still not have a chance of catching the more evolved countries of the world...

Dat shiit needs to change intamede
      Last edited by Don1; September 29, 2013, 08:22 AM.

You are seriously conflicted! At least JC is. They got to the semifinals of last season's SCQ! Why couldn't Ruel lick some sense inna dem 'ead and send dem fi go buil' robot?!?!?

LOL ... fi reel. woooiiee

It goes deeper than that. People can be trained but it is also how the Chines view us. They don't want to pay any Don and politician, They don't want their things disappearing like their bearings from the sugar factory. The fact that our unions willing to take them on, on everything and there was some comment some time ago about "party nation".

As I said in the beginning we may need goat Island visa.

So wi aggo mash up our precious natural resources for short term scraps from di table?

Give us vision, lest we perish...

I don't see it as an either-or thing. For a project of any reasonable magnitude in JA there will be an environmental impact of some sort, and there will be the need to import skilled labor.

The challenge is to make decisions which minimize the risks but creates the environment for the multiplier effect to work its way through the economy longer term.

Her impetus is to play with numbers and I am in complete agreement..
                  Keep an eye on her initiatives,this is a woman, said to be if lesser cloth,that will spur an unprecedented economic growth.

The Bight is the mother of all Ecol impact sites.

Its our Amazon rainforest.

That is what is going to happen.

Going to be like cruise ship staff, we serve the food and clean the facilities and the Asians will be the technicians and engineers.

With an unskilled workforce it can be no other way. Maybe it's the best we can do in the short term but You haffe have skilled people to move up the food chain.
                      Why would you not think that as it was for the 'hotel' industry...in the early years all the good 'top jobs' were held by ex-pats...and as it should be for the "cruise ship staffing" (using your term) in future years, so it shall be for other developments?

Hell in earlier years all our top leadership roles and jobs were held by 'fah-ri-nahs'...but I get your point (and Tamara Scott Williams' article should lead to such thinking on and provision of solutions for...) on need to quickly 'take control'/'step on the gas' to fully leverage developments to our advantage.

This education upgrade should have commenced many years ago ... at least since 2000 to be generous. It's a long term JLPNP "education cyaan nyam" failed philosophy ...

The JLPNP tribes along with the "High School Mafia" insist that our education system remain as it was in the colonial era.. they are DUMB

Dis is how it set:

1. Highly stratified by class with 75% - 85% of the school cohort unprepared for the level they're in

2. Abominably skewed admission practices which institutionalize victimization of the poor

3. Emphasis of rote learning of the "classical subjects" with disdain showed for technical or even technological courses ... the celebrated Schools Challenge competition is the epitome of this rote learning 20th Century relic ... archaic thinking abounds!

4. Insane focus on poorly constructed standardized tests to grade or degrade children & schools... without much granular study or fixes addressing baseline performance vs non-performance indices (the recently instituted school assessments is a refreshing change but the jury is out on how this informs policy or funding reform)

5. Early childhood education i.e. the ROOT of the system... is abominably underfunded

The irony is ...even if we operated this shitstem WELL we would still not have a chance of catching the more evolved countries of the world...

Dat shiit needs to change intamede
                        We are, where we are!
                        ...better late than never!

We are, where we are!
                          ...better late than never!
                          Ok... but do you see anything being put in place now by the current politicians to change those dynamics I listed?

Not as needed.
                            ...but I do not like the tone. It suggests that we never can do!!! ...defeat! ...'give-up' broken people!!!

A nuh wi dat!
                            FORWARD! ...git hup an do, mi seh!

Not as needed.
                              ...but I do not like the tone. It suggests that we never can do!!! ...defeat! ...'give-up' broken people!!!

A nuh wi dat!
                              FORWARD! ...git hup an do, mi seh!
                              Karl... mi nuh intressed inna Forwarding or Sloganeering....unless there's an active work plan to back it...

The FACT is the Termites have NO comprehensive education reform project or even a plan to take Jamaica to where it needs to be

Dat dere is di fax ,,,, but doan tap wave yuh pom pom