Maybe Jamaica's future is in Reggae Music and Sports?

"oversight? ...protection of the brand? ...managing prices?"

Yes they do but people mix high mountain with Blue mountain coffee and do they charge these people??? I remember one big politican was accused of this.

Yes they manage the prices the farmers get, as they sell it in bulk and the farmers can't even sell a pound to anybody else so they will not maximize their profit but depend on the coffee board.

Have no problem with them regulating the Brand, that is about all I think they should do. Employ people to market or let the farmers sell their products at competitive prices.

We are simply not serious about farming.
      This is true Sass. I live in upstate NY and there are many different types of farms within a 5 mile radius of my house. Throughout the entire year, the farms have designated areas open, where the public (families) can come and "pick your own", whatever is in season. This helps sustain the farms financially, even though it is a very small percentage of their revenue. It also builds customer loyalty when you see the farms' products on the supermarket shelves. In Jamaica, outside of Apelton Estates and a very few others, there is nothing like that on offer. The whole Jamaican concept of farming plus its importance to the economy are totally off. This is similar to our stereotypical idea of tourism.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Don't take my word for it. Research and ask anyone. Where my family house is not a mile from where the Coffee was pulped back in the days. I know of someone who sold some beans from Blue Mountain Coffee in Buff Bay and charged a few years ago.

Yes the concept of people going to farms having some coffee, selling to local hotels etc should be Encourage for Blue Mountain Coffee. You make sure if you buy Blue Mountain coffee in Jamaica it is Jablum or approved by Coffee Board or you could go to jail.

"oversight? ...protection of the brand? ...managing prices?"

Yes they do but people mix high mountain with Blue mountain coffee and do they charge these people??? I remember one big politican was accused of this.

Yes they manage the prices the farmers get, as they sell it in bulk and the farmers can't even sell a pound to anybody else so they will not maximize their profit but depend on the coffee board.

Have no problem with them regulating the Brand, that is about all I think they should do. Employ people to market or let the farmers sell their products at competitive prices.
          That centralization of warehousing...consolidation of point of purchase allows for preventing that 'tiefin business' farmers and growers engaged in in the past.

Not hard to see how that benefits the (our) industry were maintaining premium prices, controlled release of beans, etc., to the world-market and strong brand is concerned. Also protects investors as the board provides captive market.

Say's who? Karl you want to go and talk to some of the farmer them. They will tell you how Coffee board promise and didn't deliver. How certain bigmen mix their coffee and it passed and they feel the penalty.

Right now in some Market people overseas selling Coffee, mark Blue mountain that doesn't come from anywhere near Jamaica. That is what Coffee board should be paying attention to. They do more damage than the blue mountain farmers will ever do.

The farmers don't get premium price or so many wouldn't have stop producing, coffee production has been down since the 90's. Why???
            Last edited by Assasin; September 30, 2013, 01:49 PM.