Maybe Jamaica's future is in Reggae Music and Sports?

• Maybe Jamaica's future is in Reggae Music and Sports?

Where else can we compete while because are trapped in a life of debt?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EYhWm2zX7Iw

I was pondering the same thing last week - music and sports driving our tourism. Not every country is destined to become manufacturers of computers, automobiles, or even clothing. Maybe we should just forget this Noise Abatement Act and have parties until morning, a year round festival.

Still need to do something about the crime and the grime. But let's embrace what is working for us and tun it up even more!

Tourism is a major plank. Regardless what anyone say we have a lot of product to sell to the world, we just nuh realize. While I am big on technology, we still have a lot more to do.

Yam a sell for 3 US Dollar a pound, don't involve a lot of production cost except time, Haitian mango a sell for 1.50 per one, Ackee selling in some place for 12.00 a can, Jackfruit, Sugarcane, breadfruit all sellout inna the farmers market. A small portion comes from Jamaica.

Maybe we could make Goat Island or Navy Island a party Island and you don't any zones

Forget agriculture! Not sure we can compete there, unless it is some niche market like St. Bess Hi-Grade!

Maybe not even logistics hubs are in our future. Who knows??!

Three good suggestions, Goat Island or Navy Island a party Island, Reggae and Sports & Noise Abatement Act. How about the cuisine tun up?

No Mo that is where we can compete in niche markets like the ones I mention. Not traditional crops. The fact is we are farming fools.

You notice how JP went from selling Banana to UK to making profit by marketing two hand of banana in a bag? Some products are more profitable than high grade. Akee is one of them, Blue Mountain Coffee is another, it is just our mindset.
            Last edited by Assasin; September 28, 2013, 09:34 AM.

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
              Three good suggestions, Goat Island or Navy Island a party Island, Reggae and Sports & Noise Abatement Act. How about the cuisine tun up?
              We have no idea how fariners love our food. Goat Island alone?!? That Caymanas stretch o' land, like how it far from residential areas, that should become Party Central!

Can't wait for Damion Crawford to become PM. Tun up di ting and shell dung di place, man!

We are an agro superpower if we only use our brains and organize ourselves!

Originally posted by Time View Post
                  Where else can we compete while because are trapped in a life of debt?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EYhWm2zX7Iw
                  This is a defeatist sentiment which would ensure continued backwardness

So what wi must do, build robots?

Trapped?
                      ...if that is so it is self-imposed trap.

..but the track and field and netball bodies in sports and GK and Sandals as private commercial entities are good examples on 'how fi run tings'!!!

So what wi must do, build robots?
                        We must upgrade our technical skills to move up the labour value chain from... singin', dancin', kickin' ball, runnin', taxi drivin', trinket makin' etc ...not that those pursuits are bad or should be shunned...but we must set our sights further and grow beyond such careers for the masses to have a chance at real prosperity. This should be obvious by now... after all it's 2013 not 1963

And yes..kids learning robotics and consequently being exposed to and getting excited about interactive applications in CAD, software programming, mechanical construction, electronic design & engineering etc... can play a very positive role in that transition to a Knowledge Economy required for progress... but not if our vision is myopic and mired in singin' and playin' some sport or the other
                        Last edited by Don1; September 28, 2013, 06:38 PM.

... not bad but watch how you use that 'construction' word. We can't build anything physical because we can't afford the raw materials and the cost of loans. The International banking system kills off our ability to complete with imports and also our ability to export.

Originally posted by Time View Post
                            ... not bad but watch how you use that 'construction' word. We can't build anything physical because we can't afford the raw materials and the cost of loans. The International banking system kills off our ability to complete with imports and also our ability to export.
                            Not bad?? LOL

Let's not get too literal here with the semantics

By "mechanical construction" is meant kids developing the capability to think logically using the rules of mechanics in order to assemble disparate mechanical parts into an object which has a mission of fulfilling a specified task... das all

Whatever the industry we choose you will need a literate and skilled workforce to compete or you are just fighting for the crumbs. Sports, music, tourism and hi-grade included.