We cant trust the Chinese with Goat Island Harbour!

• We cant trust the Chinese with Goat Island Harbour!

http://www.businessinsider.com/china...on-2013-3?op=1

The pictures will turn yuh stomach!

http://www.businessinsider.com/china...on-2013-3?op=1

The pictures will turn yuh stomach!
    Wi know seh dem notorious wid dat environment sitten. In fact their environmental issues are so huge they're now one of the top impediments to growth.

But JA's issue with this Chinese investment goes beyond the Goat Islands:

1. They can't be "trusted" with ANY coastal area for industrial operations...Jamaica must have a robust environmental monitoring & sanctions enforcement regime WHEREVER their development takes place

2. Do Jamaica's political Termites & ChiChi have the capacity & political WILL to have such a regime??

That's the $64K question

Good Points

Wi know seh dem notorious wid dat environment sitten. In fact their environmental issues are so huge they're now one of the top impediments to growth.

But JA's issue with this Chinese investment goes beyond the Goat Islands:

1. They can't be "trusted" with ANY coastal area for industrial operations...Jamaica must have a robust environmental monitoring & sanctions enforcement regime WHEREVER their development takes place

2. Do Jamaica's political Termites & ChiChi have the capacity & political WILL to have such a regime??

That's the $64K question
      Very good point and very good question! I certainly share your views here.

This is why I am laughing at Jawge's hilarious post about fishermen. He seems to be ignorant if the fact that wetlands preservation is a MUST for vulnerable island states like us. Mash up Goat Islands and the next big hurricane will do untold damage to the South coast...I shudder to think.

Exile, Your time to rope in and lecture. Mi know seh the termite dem is yuh peeps, but its more important to NOT **** of Mother Nature than Sister P.

Fair enuff... but a couple questions:

1. Can you name another suitable, large coastal area where such a huge development would not cause huge, negative environmental effects?

2. Can the enviro effects be acceptably mitigated by artificial reefs, transplant of mangroves, groynes, coastline armoring etc?

We need to take action not with prejudgments with scant info.... but based on science and opportunity cost analysis

I agree we need due dilligence and caution with this thing.Wi hungry , but wi hungry long time.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Can someone comment about the Bowden area?

Willi, Ben said something which was true. "I wanted to be fooled". I know the displaced fishermen would not be integrated in the new hub project but I just dreamt there. Ben caught on because I mentioned the fishermen.

You have to note one fact though; it doesn't matter where on Ja's coastline (if not Goat island) the hub is placed, the environment will be disrupted (with fishermen and their ancient practice being affected).

I mentioned a school on the south coast but I know the thinking in Ja is provincial hence this wasn't going to happen. Ja carries to much colonial baggage (uptown/downtown, town/country,east/west back/front .. anything that divides) but for once I wanted to see something that would relieve Ja of her history of poverty.

I latched on to the crane building but something in my gut said it's too good to be true and if it's too good to be true? then....... There are some people in Ja that would do all sort of things to see that Ja remains as is today (history is on my side here). This minority loathes the idea of Ja's population moving to a society of being well educated and being productive. Yes; "I wanted to be fooled" . I also don't trust the Chinese.

Good piece Jawge....worrrlll bosss

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Yuh done know.

Its not that complicated Jawge...

The Portland Bight area is Jamaica's largest protected zone.

The Mega Project plan from the Ministry of Industry and Commerce does NOT involve destroying the Portland Bight area.. yet it speaks to a projected US$10 Billion in investment.

How do we suddenly arrive at an 'all or nothing' 1.5 Billion investment that destroys the Portland Bight area ?

It is rather interesting how easily Jamaican people can be manipulated by the PNP Politrickans...

Then again.. as I said.. some WANT to be fooled..

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
                        Can someone comment about the Bowden area?
                        The Bowden area may not be favorable to a big logistics development supposedly generating 10K jobs because the underlying housing, transportation, utility & labour resources are relatively underdeveloped in that region

New labour, skill training, highway & local road access, housing, water, electrical, air access infrastructure would have to be provided to support such a large project...it would take too long and be too expensive for the govt and/or the investor

Just my take

You cannot transplant the Bight which took 5,000 years to get to where it is.

Alternative?? KINGSTON!

Huge?? What part of $1.5b is huge, it barely rises to the label of big. Huge is >$5B, preferably 10b.

I dont need any feasibility study to tell me that once the Bight is gone, Jamaica fenneh ! It is irreplaceable and its long term economic potential is untapped. Ah crosses yuh waan call dung pon di Islan more dan it have arreaddy?

Nothing compares to the huge protected area of the Bight.

Why we even arguing in trivialities.

YUH DONT TOUGH yuh protected area fi 30 piece of silver.

To come telling me about possible disruption in non-critical, non-protected areas is a poor red herring.

But gwaan, mash it up cause yuh desperate orange tinted people tell yuh foolishness and yuh waaan run wid it.

You cannot transplant the Bight which took 5,000 years to get to where it is.

Alternative?? KINGSTON!

Huge?? What part of $1.5b is huge, it barely rises to the label of big. Huge is >$5B, preferably 10b.

I dont need any feasibility study to tell me that once the Bight is gone, Jamaica fenneh ! It is irreplaceable and its long term economic potential is untapped. Ah crosses yuh waan call dung pon di Islan more dan it have arreaddy?
                              Kingston has no coastal area which can accommodate a logistics/industrial operations area of the scale the Chinese plan... Kingston too chuck up...ah dat mi ah skool Ben pon fram jump aldo im ead too tuff fi accept dat
                              KMR spatial limitations are the reasons why di Chiney dem ah look elsewhere

Plus a $$1.5 billion greenfield industrial development is HUGE for Jamaica. That's 10% of GDP in direct investment plus they'll inevitable be many more millions in supporting investments and economic multipliers from 3rd parties....

Jamaica absolutely cannot afford to ignore that type of investment which could open a bigger pipeline of investors in a global hub concept

As to the Bight.. I'm willing to wait to see what the coastal management plan is before making a judgment.... however the environment lobby's uprising is BRILLIANT imho... it keeps both Termites & Chinese a likkle more honest than normal. That's a big positive