• Tech Revolution gathers STEAM as Mona Prep goes for STEM ed

All aboard! Toot!! Toot!!

Rev. Thwaites Hails Opening of Engineering Lab at Mona Prep

THURSDAY, 26 SEPTEMBER 2013 08:19 WRITTEN BY JIS E-mailPrintPDF
    Tweet

Minister of Education, Hon. Rev. Ronald Thwaites (3rd left) and Board Chairman, Mona Preparatory School, Stefan Wright (2nd left), cut the ribbon to officially open the institution’s engineering laboratory on September 25, at the school’s premises located at 221 Old Hope Road, St. Andrew. Others sharing in the moment (from left) are Director, Mona Preparatory Foundation, Sharon Bair; Chairman, Mona Preparatory Foundation, Dr. Heather Brown Henry; Principal, Carol Blanchard; and Founder, Halls of Learning, Marvin Hall.

Minister of Education, the Hon. Rev. Ronald Thwaites, has hailed the opening of an engineering laboratory at the Mona Preparatory School, noting that the facility will foster critical and analytical thinking in students.

Speaking at the official opening ceremony on Wednesday, September 25, at the institution’s Old Hope Road premises, Rev. Thwaites said the lab “is far more appropriate for problem solving and analysis than it is for memorising and regurgitation.”

“It is engaging the technical and vocational aptitude of our students because all that we know of the 21st century is that no longer can we have this dangerous separation between the academic and the technical. Rather, we now have to have a balance between the two and here is Mona Prep saying...that this is the way to go,” he said.

He noted that children from the earliest age possible should be exposed to facilities, which will allow them to think critically, to prepare them “for the kind of job market and personal professional fulfilment that we need.”

The Education Minister commended the sponsors who contributed to the project, underscoring that donors play a crucial role in the continued advancement of institutions island-wide.

“There are 131 active alumni associations among our 1,100 or so public schools. We want to see more and more, that is the essential public partnership of which we speak,” he stated.

Minister of Education, Hon. Rev. Ronald Thwaites (standing right), observes as students use Legos to build structures, during the official opening of the Mona Preparatory School’s engineering laboratory on September 25, at the school’s premises on Old Hope Road, St. Andrew. Others looking on are Founder of Halls of Learning, Marvin Hall (2nd right); and Board Chairman, Mona Preparatory School, Stefan Wright (left).

Chairman of the Mona Preparatory School Foundation, Dr. Heather Brown Henry, informed that the facility, built at a cost of $4 million, caters to children age three to six and will over time, be equipped to meet the needs of all students.

“We still need a lot more, it is not fully equipped by any means but the Foundation has undertaken to underwrite the cost of not just equipping it but maintaining and also tutoring the children. We only have things for the junior levels from grade three to six. We need more hardware, notebooks, computers, we need Lego that is appropriate to the older age students and there are a variety of other things it need as well,” she said.

Dr. Brown Henry said the laboratory was conceptualised as part of efforts to provide “more of a hands on learning for our students, for them to be able to use and transform the information that they have in science and maths (and) use it in critical thinking problem solving.”

Mona Preparatory School, formed under the auspices of the United Church in Jamaica and the Cayman Islands, opened its doors September 22, 1964.

The school is a private institution whose mission is to provide a Christian environment in which students can learn and develop into well-rounded individuals who see service as an important part of their contribution to society.

Good to see.

4 Million for Leggo? Ok then.

Yuh ever been to Lego Land?

Originally posted by Exile View Post
          4 Million for Leggo? Ok then.
          I don't what the $40K represents in terms of the cost profile... but I suspect it's more than just Lego

Another Symbolic Thing?

Good to see.
            Words like “public relations” and “symbolic act” come to mind. Watch and see, nothing significant is going to come of this after these “15 minutes of spotlight”!

Well they said computers , hardware and lego.

Also, when they say Lego they don't mean simply building blocks, lego has a whole separate line for STEM education that involves building models for renewable energy equipment, robotics, motorized machines among other things. They are excellent but not particularly cheap.

Lawd Historian it is a private school attempting to improve their product. Why the negativity?

How will you judge whether nothing comes out of it? Are you going to track these students for the next 15 years to see where they end up?

Lawd Historian it is a private school attempting to improve their product. Why the negativity?

How will you judge whether nothing comes out of it? Are you going to track these students for the next 15 years to see where they end up?
                  It befuddles the mind!

So what do we expect them to do? Since we have a history of things falling apart, should we just not try and try again?

I remember when Munro had perhaps the only language lab of its kind in Jamaica, a boasy terraced room with headphones at each station, cassette decks (yeah, those!) and the rest of it. Well, MC did not become the language institute of the Caribbean and the lab eventually became an ordinary terraced classroom. So yes, Mona's Lab may also fail but give it a chance as Mona is still a private institution with wealthy alumni.

Sheeez!

To me though, even if a project does not last for the next 50 year that does not mean that nothing came out of it.

For example I remember when I was at UWI the Munro guys used to talk about this speed reading machine they had been introduced to in school, and how much it still helped them when they had to do extensive research in the library. I don't know if that still exists there or the concept is obsolete now but clearly it helped at least generation of students at the school in ways that extended past high school.

The other thing is, sometimes you will fail when you are trying new things! It doesn't mean you stop trying or that it was necessarilty a stupid idea to begin with!

Yes, we did have that speed reading machine which was pretty simply, did not need the huge investment the Language Lab did. We used the reading machine for years. Not sure it's still being used but I hope so.

I remember when I went to primary school Mona Prep was the *****! At Festival competitions they would have mini-orchestras while other schools presented students playing recorders. They used to get many scholarships back then also.

Things have changed over the years for them. They no longer dominate GSAT or Prep School football. Good to see them trying to make a real difference again and it should be encouraged, not ridiculed. Maybe we just might get that Old Hope Road stretch to become Academic Alley - UTech, JC and Mona Prep - while roping in Papine and Mona High.

Don1, seeitdeh, yuh work cut out fi yuh!

Maybe we just might get that Old Hope Road stretch to become Academic Alley - UTech, JC and Mona Prep - while roping in Papine and Mona High.

Don1, seeitdeh, yuh work cut out fi yuh!
                        LOL... ah lang time wi know seh dat Uppa Hope Rd Corridor ah di academic nexus ah Jamaica... Fram di Intellectual Ghetto, to UTech thru JC an dung tuh St Margaret's Prep ...woooiiee

Let's see how that corridor compares to the Mensa Mount in Malvern consisting of Munro College, Hampton High, Bethlehem College, BB Coke High and Munro Prep!

We doing it already! Unnu have to catch up!

Stefan look like him did go Good School... pity about the Vin association but wi can forgive him fi dat..

Let's see how that corridor compares to the Mensa Mount in Malvern consisting of Munro College, Hampton High, Bethlehem College, BB Coke High and Munro Prep!

We doing it already! Unnu have to catch up!
                              LOL

But wait.. mi neva know seh Munro ave one prep feeder