Shaggy Album write up

• Shaggy Album write up

Shaggy returns to roots - Artiste goes back to basics for new album - heads to Rae Town for Jamaican launch

Published: Thursday | September 26, 2013 1 Comment

Shaggy

Sly Dunbar (left) and Robbie Shakespeare. File

Rae Town Oldies Street Dance, held at Capricorn Inn, Rae Town, on Sunday, January 22, 2006. FILe

1 2 3 >

Davina Henry, Staff ReporterFans and friends descended on the Milk River Café in Brooklyn, New York, for the release of Shaggy's 12th studio album.
    His success, encompassed in an exemplary career spanning more than a decade, is still something he takes time to analyse.
    "Everything changes when you are a reggae artiste who falls under the American gaze. The recognition in Jamaica, while paramount, does not measure up to the United States validation of an artiste," said Shaggy, putting his crossover appeal into context.
    Produced by Sly and Robbie, Out of Many, One Music promises to excite and thrill music lovers. The album came about by chance when Sly and Robbie and Shaggy ended up on a tour.
    The album has already received tremendous feedback from industry tastemakers through various listening parties.
    Shaggy told The Gleaner he decided to go 'back to the roots' with this album.
    "Calling it Out of Many, One Music makes it as Jamaican as it can be. The fact that I'm doing this with Sly and Robbie, who are Jamaican icons, make it a fitting title. That's why we even did the logo of the album to be a mock-up of the Jamaican coat of arms. We wanted it to be as Jamaican as possible."
    The authentic 'back to the classic reggae' album features collaborations with Beres Hammond, Damian 'Jr Gong' Marley, Cocoa Tea, Jimmy Cozier, Tarrus [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Riley[/COLOR][/COLOR], Peetah Morgan, Tessanne Chin, Konshens and Chronixx. R&B superstar Ne-Yo is also featured on the album.
    The collaboration with Ne-Yo, titled You Girl, charted at number one on iTunes and the Billboard Reggae Singles charts just days after its release.
    "When you look at chart success right now in reggae music, there are very few Jamaicans on it. Most of the chart success is coming from foreigners. There is a total disconnect because although you are seeing all of this success on the charts by a lot of these foreign artistes, none of them are being played in the dancehall, or streets or in the club. I wanted to be a force to be reckoned with."
    The album will also be launched in Jamaica on September 29 in Rae Town.
    "Mi a carry it back to the origins of where it start from, which is Rae Town and sound system business. To celebrate sound system business, I think Rae Town is the most fitting place. It's just coincidental that I'm actually from Rae Town, so I'm really looking forward to that."

Him lucky him get Tessanne pon dis album because her stock just gone up since weh deh!

I hear there are so many artistes on this album, I wonder if Shaggy didn't leave himself out!

A wonder how that work with the voice. Someone having a hit tune and a a look a break on the voice.

Hope the can work it out if she and Shaggy song become a hit.

well listen to a few of it and its ok. Its not til shiloh or black woman and child but its decent work. I give it a 6 out of 10.

I Share Your Hope

A wonder how that work with the voice. Someone having a hit tune and a a look a break on the voice.

Hope the can work it out if she and Shaggy song become a hit.
          Shaggy has collaborated with quite a number of people over the years. As I type, I’m recalling his “Christmas in Jamaica,” in which he teamed up with Toni Braxton.

I’m still wondering what happened to the successful Shaggy and Ricardo “Rik Rok” Ducent promising collaboration. That initial joint venture gave Shaggy his biggest hit to date, “It Wasn’t Me.” British singer Rik Rock has a smooth, decent voice, but I notice that Shaggy worked more often with the Barbadian singer Rayvon.

Of course, the collaborations “It Wasn’t Me” (with Rik Rok) and “Angel” (with Rayvon) both went to the number one position on the Billboard pop charts. These two hits are among the tiny handful of Jamaican recordings to reach the prestigious position of number one on Billboard.

(I recall being angry at the Beatles’ management and the release of their greatest hits recording in 2001, which delayed “It Wasn’t Me” from moving up from the number two slot quicker.)

Speaking of "It wasn't me"...Shaggy's producer used an unauthorized sample and they were sued...song went to #1 but unfortunately Shaggy didn't get any money out of it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AKAhkaycqKY

I mistakenly thought It was dropped

Speaking of "It wasn't me"...Shaggy's producer used an unauthorized sample and they were sued...song went to #1 but unfortunately Shaggy didn't get any money out of it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AKAhkaycqKY
              I recall the lawsuit, but I thought the management of the group War (I could be wrong, but my memory suggests that it was War who originally recorded the rhythm?) had dropped the lawsuit.

It seems I was wrong. Thanks for this info, Brickie.

Shaggy is very faithful to his fellow entertainers and maybe that is why he gets so much support.

I remember after he was signed to and "Hotshot" sold big, he bought the singers and others around him for a while cars or a nice present. When he started his label after splitting with Robert Livingston, he signed Red Fox and Rayvon as his first artistes.

Red Fox have nothing but love for Shaggy and call him his brother as they go a long way back. Rick Rock Ducent maybe born in England but like a few Ducent I grew up with they move back to JA as kids.

Rick Rock still work with Shaggy on stage sometimes but I don't know if he is recording. Does Brian or Tony Gold still perform with Shaggy?

Why would one refer to Rik Rok simply as British?!?!