A moment in Time - Manley at the UN - 1978

• A moment in Time - Manley at the UN - 1978

Address at a special meeting of the General Assembly in observance of the International Anti-Apartheid Year, UN by Michael Manley, Prime Minister of Jamaica

11 October 1978, New York

It was with deep humility and a profound sense of history and its obligations that I accepted the invitation to address this Assembly, at this particular moment in the struggle against apartheid and for the final liberation of southern Africa. Even as we meet here, we feel the presence of the spirit of the martyrs who died at Sharpeville and Soweto. We feel that Steve Biko is a witness to these proceedings. Even as I speak, millions of young lives are being warped and crushed in South Africa, Namibia and Zimbabwe, and their blighted hopes stand as a monumental reproach to all mankind.

I dare to speak, not in my own right, but as a part and product of a process of the struggle in Jamaica and the entire Caribbean. We look at our tormented brothers in southern Africa from a unique historical perspective; ourselves the victims of every outrage still perpetrated in South Africa, we are the products of a slave system which was the foundation for a unique colonial experience. We have known genocide, racism, oppression and exploitation as colonialism and later neo-colonialism have dominated our lives. Equally, we have struggled for our own liberation and have always recognized that our labours were a part of a world experience and very particularly linked to Africa`s struggle.

http://www.anc.org.za/show.php?id=4924

Karl BIG thanks.

Address at a special meeting of the General Assembly in observance of the International Anti-Apartheid Year, UN by Michael Manley, Prime Minister of Jamaica

11 October 1978, New York

It was with deep humility and a profound sense of history and its obligations that I accepted the invitation to address this Assembly, at this particular moment in the struggle against apartheid and for the final liberation of southern Africa. Even as we meet here, we feel the presence of the spirit of the martyrs who died at Sharpeville and Soweto. We feel that Steve Biko is a witness to these proceedings. Even as I speak, millions of young lives are being warped and crushed in South Africa, Namibia and Zimbabwe, and their blighted hopes stand as a monumental reproach to all mankind.

I dare to speak, not in my own right, but as a part and product of a process of the struggle in Jamaica and the entire Caribbean. We look at our tormented brothers in southern Africa from a unique historical perspective; ourselves the victims of every outrage still perpetrated in South Africa, we are the products of a slave system which was the foundation for a unique colonial experience. We have known genocide, racism, oppression and exploitation as colonialism and later neo-colonialism have dominated our lives. Equally, we have struggled for our own liberation and have always recognized that our labours were a part of a world experience and very particularly linked to Africa`s struggle.

http://www.anc.org.za/show.php?id=4924
      More Quixotic Miggle Passage Studies

Funny thing, I can actually hear him speaking by reading the words, the man tryly had a gift of passion and expression. If he really understood bottom line impact of his action who knows where jamaica would be today, funny how once the puss get out the bag it gone.

Him did yap bout 'redistribution of wealth' in dat speech.. ??

nuh wondah Lee Kuan Yew did ah shake him head...

More popular outside of Jamaica than within the country.

For some people.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                Funny thing, I can actually hear him speaking by reading the words, the man tryly had a gift of passion and expression. If he really understood bottom line impact of his action who knows where jamaica would be today, funny how once the puss get out the bag it gone.
                Could be he put too much faith in the 'goodness' of man?

I have over the years poured through many of his speeches and read his books (inclusive of his on WI cricket) and I am yet to find where 'his heart was in the wrong place' or his thoughts on the way forward could be construed by reasonable persons to be evil or bad ideas or bad for Jamaica?

Yes, I know the results were not as he wished or we wished. Indeed some of the results were terrible...but can we (for example), blame a man for telling us to go down a road that leads to growth and prosperity and our ignoring same? ...must we not blame ourselves for ignoring the advice?

Read up on Lee Kuan Yew treatise on what leadership is about..

The road to hell is paved with good intentions..

Muss a popularity contest him was innah...

Beauty Queens have limited value..

Mitsy Seaga found that out first-hand!

Bev Manley discovered the fraud too late... used when convenient then put aside..

She nuh fi feel too bad.. she is not the ongly 'black' person him screw den leave hanging..