• Education Ministry Requests JUTC Buses For Manchester Studen

Education Ministry Requests JUTC Buses For Manchester Students

Published: Wednesday September 25, 2013 | 5:18 pm3 Comments

The Education Minister Ronald Thwaites has asked the Ministry of Transport and Works to provide Jamaica Urban Transit Company (JUTC) buses to transport students in north-eastern Manchester, following a terrible traffic accident this morning resulting in the deaths of three Holmwood Technical High students.*

Several other students were injured in the three-vehicle crash along the Chudleigh Main Road in Manchester.

It’s reported that two minibuses were racing when the crash, which also involved a truck, happened.

The Education Ministry has offered condolences to the relatives of those who died as well as to the Holmwood school family.

Today, a team from the Ministry’s regional office visited the school and, along with the guidance personnel, offered grief counseling.

Meanwhile, Thwaites has repeated calls for the Transport Authority to introduce measures to govern the conduct of operators of public passenger vehicles who transport students.

Noting that there was “too much indiscipline” among bus crews, the Education Minister said tinted windows and loud music should be prohibited on public passenger vehicles.

Earlier today, Audley Shaw, the Member of Parliament for North East Manchester, repeated his call for the introduction of a regulated rural school bus system to facilitate the safe transportation of students.

He noted that while he was the Finance Minister in the previous administration, there were plans in place for such a system to be established.

Mr Shaw said at that time several buses were ordered and were scheduled to be part of a pilot project.

However, these plans were shelved by the present administration when it came into power, and the resources re-directed to help save the loss-making JUTC.

Meanwhile, Shaw has appealed for the police to take a zero tolerance approach to reckless bus and taxi drivers and to move decisively to remove them from the roads.

"Meanwhile, Shaw has appealed for the police to take a zero tolerance approach to reckless bus and taxi drivers and to move decisively to remove them from the roads."

The first thing that needs to happen is to prohibit police officers from owning and operating taxis and minibuses. That would solve 80% of the problem.

So Holmwood was trying to do something about it

Holmwood Principal Appeals To Children To Use School's Chartered Bus System

Published: Wednesday September 25, 2013 | 8:37 pm2 Comments

Principal of Holmwood Technical High School Paul Bailey is appealing to parents and students to utilise the school's chartered bus system.*

Bailey said the school has implemented the charter bus system to deal with the repeated injuries and fatalities suffered by students of the school in their daily commute.

But he said more parents needed to sign up so more buses could be secured.

"We just want to appeal to drivers to value the lives that they take into their vehicles and to be much, much more careful and to cut out the business of taking chances with people's lives and try as best as possible to play it safe," said Bailey.

The incident in which the four children were killed took place along the Chudleigh Main Road sometime before 8:00 a.m. this morning.

The names of the victims have not yet been released.

It’s understood that the driver of one a bus overtook several vehicles and was trying to get back in line when the bus collided with an oncoming truck and another bus.

More than 20 other students have since been hospitalised.

don't know if you can prohibit them especially if they are not traffic cop but this is a big problem in Jamaica. The corruption department needs to investigate this and a nuff corrupted cops would go down.

Many of these police taxis running without license, bad drivers and don't get stop in roadblocks or get let off.

Don't see why it would be a problem to prohibit them from operating PPVs. It's a serious conflict of interest! I'm sure there is precedence for this and if there isn't, let's kick it off!

Then you would have to stop cops from working as private security too. If they are doing it within the law it is no problem. The problem is most are not.

But that even easier to stop. Many police jurisdictions prohibit cops from other security work. I'm not saying they should not have another business. But if barbershops suddenly become places where drugs are traded freely and it does not appear that anyone can do anything about it, then cops should be banned from owning barbershops.

No personally I don't think so. You can't punished the ones who are running a good barbershop, they will just put it in their kids or wife's name. You simple need strong enough legislation and investigation. Cops are not banned from security work but they have to get approvals from higher authorities, I can support that with taxis.

Sass, look like yuh posting for posting sake.

Before yuh respond to this one, see if it necessary. Do you think if there is a law or rule banning cops from owning a business there might be a rule that also prohibits their immediate relatives from owning such a business?

The next thing, if cops need permission to own taxis, as you say, then isn't that even easier than having legislation? Just don't grant them the permission!

We don't have a problem!

Mosiah currently there no legislation to stop them from owning business or getting approval. There is for security work.

The problem is you can't discriminate against a good cop running a good successful business, but for bad cops running a bad business they should be punished.

You can't just say cops can do a barber shop because drugs is been sold out of a barbershop. What is next? cops can't own funeral homes because too many murders are been committed? I understand your frustration but you just can't stop people from make a living within the law especially when the police salary is not very much.

I'm saying you can! And you are saying the same thing! If they need permission, then what does that imply!?

There are a million examples of situations where the good suffer for the bad!

It just make sure the I are dotted and t are cross and it is police in good standing, reporting his income, good record, and is not a rogue cop in any form and he is engaging in legitimate business.

No personally I don't think so. You can't punished the ones who are running a good barbershop, they will just put it in their kids or wife's name. You simple need strong enough legislation and investigation. Cops are not banned from security work but they have to get approvals from higher authorities, I can support that with taxis.
                          'ssas..... mi an yuh a fren.

Mosiah is ABSOLUTELY correct:

Just put some thought into what Mosiah just said as it relates to the original subject.

You believe this?

"But that even easier to stop. Many police jurisdictions prohibit cops from other security work. I'm not saying they should not have another business. But if barbershops suddenly become places where drugs are traded freely and it does not appear that anyone can do anything about it, then cops should be banned from owning barbershops."

Did I type that?