Video Education: Coming soon to a HS near you
D1 - Xposing Dummies since 2007Tags: None
Just finished reading his book "The One World Schoolhouse" on the topic.
Very interesting person with big ideas and dreams. He is particularly interested in helping the poorest of the poor in India and Bangladesh get an education and so is developing low-tech solutions for that demographic as well."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
The guy is onto something greatTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
As an educator myself I agree with a whole lot he says, including the "inverting" the classroom idea.
The big challenge is getting students to even watch the videos for homework and then to apply what they've watched in the classroom. Motivated learners regardless the system IMO is the key. He BTW does say this at around 6:00, he mentions "motivated learners". If the student isn't motivated learning will not occur.
And yes, we do have to move away from the one size fits all model, those educators who are still doing this are really lazy, as you really need to plan your lessons to cater to a variety of learning styles and abilities.
BTW, this was posted here some time back, but it is STILL relevant and worth a re-post for those who missed it. I "subscribe" (it's free) to his site and use it for myself and have my fourteen yr old use it... he is one of those "unmotivated" with respect to some subjects; has delusions of being a professional sportsman... I have now actually got him focused on Kinesiology and Exercise Science as an outlet but he still needs to do the work.Last edited by Peter R; September 24, 2013, 12:29 PM.Peter R
Originally posted by Peter R View PostAs an educator myself I agree with a whole lot he says, including the "inverting" the classroom idea.
The big challenge is getting students to even watch the videos for homework and then to apply what they've watched in the classroom. Motivated learners regardless the system IMO is the key. He BTW does say this at around 6:00, he mentions "motivated learners". If the student isn't motivated learning will not occur.
And yes, we do have to move away from the one size fits all model, those educators who are still doing this are really lazy, as you really need to plan your lessons to cater to a variety of learning styles and abilities.
BTW, this was posted here some time back, but it is STILL relevant and worth a re-post for those who missed it. I "subscribe" (it's free) to his site and use it for myself and have my fourteen yr old use it... he is one of those "unmotivated" with respect to some subjects; has delusions of being a professional sportsman... I have now actually got him focused on Kinesiology and Exercise Science as an outlet but he still needs to do the work.
getting boys especially to be motivated is a challenge.... there's no single magic bullet but innovative, multi-pronged tactics must be usedTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
You know the funny thing, this is not exactly a new problem but we are still struggling with it.
Do not train a child to learn by force or harshness; but direct them to it by what amuses their minds, so that you may be better able to discover with accuracy the peculiar bent of the genius of each - Plato (428-348 BC)"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Islandman View PostYou know the funny thing, this is not exactly a new problem but we are still struggling with it.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Dem ancient Athenians was some serious bredda me a tell you. Dem did know say the earth round from long before Bible did done write. But true to form certain people try rewrite history fe mek it look like is dem figure it out more than a millennium later."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
yuhseeitTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE