BlackBerry bought for $4.7bn

• BlackBerry bought for $4.7bn

Blackberry bought out for $4.7bn, which is less than Apple's revenue from iPhones in the last 3 days.

Sad end to the smartphone pioneer but is so the tech industry go, on top today, struggling to catch up tomorrow.

Look like dem eff up the BBM for iOS and Android launch too. Oh well.

Blackberry bought out for $4.7bn, which is less than Apple's revenue from iPhones in the last 3 days.

That's not real

It would mean iPhone revenue is > $1.5 billion/day....or well over $500 billion/year ...it's actually less than $200 billion for the entire revenue line (including iPhone revenue)

You do the math!

I guess they did not want to do anything while they were still talking to this company. But again, another launch that never happened!

Then there is the story of BlackBerry execs purchasing jets before laying off 40% of workforce.

Could it be a Canadian thing? Industry leader, Nortel, went under as well! Jim Carrey also!

What are iPhone revenues the last 3 days ?

<Apple sold a combined 9 million iPhone 5S and 5C smartphones over the handsets' first full weekend of sales — the most it's ever done>

oh dem juss launch one new toy nuh? dat wudda duh di trick

why do you think this is the end of BB. Fairfax owned a majority of the shares anyway. They are taking it private. Well i say wait on see.

I didn't say it was the end. In fact, I hope it's not the end. Still want my Z30!

It is the end from a consumer phone perspective. They are leaving that business.

$1 billion write-off due to unsold Z10 phones? That is as bad as the tablet disaster a few years ago.

Maybe they will survive as a small niche player. Or maybe they will become a software company. But Blackberry as we know it is done.

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                      why do you think this is the end of BB. Fairfax owned a majority of the shares anyway. They are taking it private. Well i say wait on see.
                      You were told some time ago that Blackberry was done

Stick a fork inna dat

not sure this might be a good move. By taking it private they dont have to worry about the balance sheet and reports to the market and will be able to concentrate on the device. I think Dell is going through the same thing.