• X, your work is only just beginning

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ews/news1.html

MP Warns Of Ill Effects Of GanjaPublished: Thursday | September 19, 20135 CommentsDr Dayton Campbell

Edmond Campbell,*Senior Staff Reporter

MEMBER OF Parliament for North West St Ann, Dr Dayton Campbell, who is a medical practitioner, on Tuesday warned against the ill and wide-ranging negative effects of decriminalising marijuana, a proposal moved in a motion by his colleague Raymond Pryce.

Contributing to debate on the motion in Gordon House, Dr Campbell made it clear that as a member of the medical profession, he had a duty to put public health first.

Despite strong arguments from Pryce about acquisition of criminal records by young men for the smoking of a ganja spliff (a small portion), Dr Campbell cautioned that studies made a direct link between the smoking of cannabis and mental illness.
    Last edited by Mosiah; September 19, 2013, 01:41 PM.

Ooh yeah the colonial mindset is enshrined, ganja linked to crime and sexually transmitted disease,what next homosexuality, then he throws in the alternative rehab or jail so it must be addictive then he calls for further studies, I guess this bredda has never seen or heard of the previous ones that pass the bias test.... Kissteeth more rehash of the same colonial propaganda as for the MP that cry about treaties to me its just a coward way to do nothing and beg for economic aid.I guess Dr Gupta was lying when he said the people have been misled.

Is this reggaedoc?..

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

X...you must accept the cons with the pros of weed smoking [and use].

The Jamaican society is not one with discipline and (adherence to) rule of laws.

I stated before that the local society would go to the dawgs if weed becomes legal.

The effects of weed on young brains well documented.....

Historian misunderstood my position in legalizing weed inthe Jamaican society. I would not support it primarily for the reasons stated above.

Once again there are clear disadvantages to weed consumption.

well, are there any serious illnesses klinked to alcohol consumption or tobacco inhalation?

how is that counteracted? warning labels? hmmmmm ... if that is enough in those instances?

Doctors are the strangest beings on Earth,in them,there is false sense of all knowing yet in the end,it is a pharmaceutical company they all take their cue from(dis good fi dat).
          The good doctor himself probably never conducted any scientific studies..hence he is likely guilty of rumour spreading.
          In any event,the generation of 'Rasta nasty cause dem nuh comb dem hair, and anything too...nuh good'- never left,and often they are the loudest amongst us.

From a clinician perspective you and others , need to practice what you preach , examine the cons and stop vomiting NIDA propoganda!

You need to ask valid questions about the illegality of ganja in Jamaica , what was the basis for its inception and its wide use now .

Why criminalise individuals who have a cultural acceptance of it , be it culinary,medicinal ,herbal or spiritual ,what gain is it to society when studies done on Jamaicans in Jamaica and C. Rica -70s Schaffer report ,Panama in the 30s,these studies were no doubt done on the Jamaican diaspora at the time who took their cultural herb to Central america and the conclusion was , harmless!

If any bias was to be seen at that time , it would have to be seen in those westindian negroes that fit all the racial stereotypes , of lazie,ignorant criminals who are sexually promisicuis and schizophrenia.3 studies of the diaspora came back negative by Babylons government.

Their is no clinical evidence that ganja consumption if legal would increase the rates of mental health rates if it were legal , studies in nations where its decriminalised have proven this , there are also studies which indicate a drop in crime rates with the decriminalization of ganja.See western europe the netherlands.

As a clinicain what is it in our genes that make us the exception , do we have a ganja schizophrenic gene thats inbred in us , that makes use different than individuals in Amersterdam or Colarado ?

You cant offer an individual , rehab or jail because they get caught with ganja and say you have an addiction problem or you are a criminal, its akin to outlawing BBQ chicken and taken said action .

If your fear is that individulas will be blowing ganja smoke in public and it might be odious to you , then you need to question your moral ethos on criminalising the individual.

The constant hiding behind schizophrenia as a clinician is hypocritical , when you have documented proof that legal substances are doing more damage to ones brain than ganja and all studies exempt from the NIDA are inconclusive at best in regards to its mental health affects.

Whatever disadvantages that you fear and I agree there are , does not equate to criminalising or branding one an addict,disadvantages that cigarettes and a alochol make a mockery of.

What/who is really the con artist ?

Dr KC Royes Senior Medical Officer during Don Drummonds stay at Bellevue in the 60s , son says his father use to plant ganja in Bellvue , he says his father was a progressive and told the government " you cannot lock up Rastas for smoking herb " Bellevue was a place where they tried to control the social disease(Augustyn, H.A, (2013). Don Drummond The Genius and Tragedy of the Worlds Greatest Trombonist . USA: McFarland. ) , which was young Rasta youth bursting out in Kingston.

Again as a clinician what has changed ?
            Last edited by Sir X; September 19, 2013, 09:28 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I read all you said with an open mind. You made some good points.

Boss I try to present a balance point ,I dont believe in the overzealous approach,accepting that it does have mental illness affects , the way we are dealing with it , doesnt make sense.

From a mental health and social aspect, wi can do better.

Never thought about it quite like that!

Big respect to you, HL. Not many of us are able to do that. Wi too tribal, lazie, our both.