Spreading the science of robotics over hills and valleys

• Spreading the science of robotics over hills and valleys

Eighty-seven children ages eight to 18 were introduced to the science of robotics, courtesy of Access Financial Services and the Digital Yard Foundation. The workshops took place between August 13 and 30 islandwide.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ews/news5.html

I take it they have already been introduced to English and mathematics.

I wonder the same thing myself. To really get into robotics, it is about a lot of mathematics.

I would advise anyone who wants to get into the field to focus on their A Level math classes as they are going to need it.

I guess though the field can create a lot of opportunities for different people. I might be looking at it from an engineering perspective, but there are programmers, software engineers, electronic engineers and technicians, technical support, marketing and sales people and a whole host of occupations that can be derived from robotics.

But yes Mo, they need to make sure they sell it right to these kids and let them know the possibilities so they can focus according to their abilities.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

LOL. Well yes knowing how to read English was a prerequisite.

I was considering asking Lego if they could produce a version of the kit with instructions in patwa but decided it probably wasn't going to happen.

Yes robotics is a very wide field that touches many areas of mathematics, science and technology.

A summer program like this is just a vehicle for exposing them to that because the activities are interesting, fun and introduces them to something most of them have not seen before.

So all you missed the point if my patois advocacy? Sigh!

Really? I beg to differ. Everything around us on this planet is about math;robotics isn't the only castle that is restricted to math. I don't think they need "A level" math to tinker with robot toys. Matter of fact they have more than A level math in them, but leave it to schools to beat it out of them.

My kids were three years old when they went to the Sony tech lab. They programed a toy robot and played around with it. Why do we like to invoke class on everything in Ja? Robot kits are sold here in the states and there is no marking saying that you need AP math or differential calculus to play and tinker. It's possible that the tinkering may cause these kids to be interested in math.

I now see why Tufffy had to sit on the outside looking in. Ja has to change its whole outlook on life to move forward. These isms had to be invented by the British to act as control mechanisms for the colonies.The colonial period is long over. The time is nigh for one to free one's mind. In short; "leggo yuh mind" .

Note: If I really had the time I would show why toddlers and kids have more math in them than we think. I actually presented this to a group. I'm busy now but later on I may present it piece by piece.
              Last edited by Jawge; September 19, 2013, 09:36 AM.

King Jawge I believe Tilla was referring to someone who wants to do advanced study in robotics when he mentioned the need for advanced maths.

But you have right idea, it is the tinkering and the experimentation that we need to encourage from a young age. That is where the creativity and new ideas comes from as well as an interest in further study in those subject areas.

Okay Iman, I get your point.

BTW there is this science fiction novel By Orson Scott Card called Ender's game. I really enjoyed this book (read it about eleven years ago). The movie is now coming out; I hope you watch it. I'm waiting to see if they did a good job of it.

Wanted to say this to you but this thread gives me the opportunity to do so.

I wonder the same thing myself. To really get into robotics, it is about a lot of mathematics.

I would advise anyone who wants to get into the field to focus on their A Level math classes as they are going to need it.

I guess though the field can create a lot of opportunities for different people. I might be looking at it from an engineering perspective, but there are programmers, software engineers, electronic engineers and technicians, technical support, marketing and sales people and a whole host of occupations that can be derived from robotics.

But yes Mo, they need to make sure they sell it right to these kids and let them know the possibilities so they can focus according to their abilities.
                    This is a misunderstanding of programs of this type. Most people have it backwards... such programs don't START with an excellent math background...they END with it

Also the mission here is not necessarily to get kids interested in a career in robotics specifically...where upon starting the program they're required to have high order math or programming or CAD skills. In our world class school program we encourage the participation of kids who may have poor skills but great interest and aptitude

The mission is to USE the exciting, interactive & tactile discipline of robotics to raise the awareness and interest of children in science, technology, engineering & mathematics.... done by making tech programs "cool" & "appealing"

As their interest is raised kids will be ENCOURAGED to delve into these subjects and Jamaica can begin to create a CULTURE of Appreciation for science, technology, engineering & math among our children as the outcome... This is our PRIME DIRECTIVE

Right now Jamaican kids have a culture of appreciation for lewd dancehall, ball playing or some sport and also violent conflict....this needs to change

This is reason we try our utmost to spread the Gospel of Robotics via all media but TV appearances especially... becuz pikney nuh read Gleana & robotics is VISUALLY exciting
                    Last edited by Don1; September 19, 2013, 10:33 AM.

You should read all the Ender books...

Brilliant...

Juss give dem a CD with the Star Wars Trilogy !

would certainly be cheaper

Thanks! I will look out for it. I just read the Wikipedia page on it, sounds like it would make a good movie. Probably very high budget.

You should read all the Ender books...

Brilliant...
                              Dat nuh ave nutten pon Dune Universe featuring Muadib the Desert Mouse

Wikid comedy show dat..wooiiiee