The Most Surprising Things About America...

• The Most Surprising Things About America...

The Most Surprising Things About America, According To An Indian International Student

Gus Lubin Aug. 29, 2013, 9:18 PM

Read more: http://www.businessinsider.com/the-w...#ixzz2eXORAipY

Aniruddh Chaturvedi came from Mumbai to Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, Penn., where he is majoring in computer science. This past summer he interned at a tech company in Silicon Valley.

During two years in the U.S., Chaturvedi has been surprised by various aspects of society, as he explained last year in a post on Quora.

Chaturvedi offered his latest thoughts on America in an email to Business Insider.
    The most surprising things about America:
    • Nobody talks about grades here.
    • Everyone is highly private about their accomplishments and failures. Someone's performance in any field is their performance alone. This is different compared to India where people flaunt their riches and share their accomplishments with everybody else.
    • The retail experience is nowhere near as fun/nice as it is in India. Because labor is cheap in India, there is always someone who will act as a "personal shopper" to assist you with holding your clothes, giving suggestions, etc. In America, on the other hand, even if you go to a Nordstrom or Bloomingdales, there is almost nobody to help you out while you're shopping. Shopping in America is more of a commodity / chore than it is a pleasurable activity
    • This may be biased/wrong because I was an intern, but at least in the tech world, nobody wants to put you under the bus for something that you didn't do correctly or didn't understand how to do. People will sit with you patiently till you get it. If you aren't able to finish something within the stipulated deadline, a person on your team would graciously offer to take it off your plate.
    • The same applies to school. Before I came to the United States, I heard stories about how students at Johns Hopkins were so competitive with each other that they used to tear important pages from books in the library just so other students didn't have access to it. In reality, I experienced the complete opposite. Students were highly collaborative, formed study groups, and studied / did assignments till everyone in the group "got it". I think the reason for this is that the classes are / material is so hard that it makes sense to work collaboratively to the point that students learn from each other.
    • Strong ethics — everyone has a lot of integrity. If someone cannot submit their completed assignment in time, they will turn in the assignment incomplete rather than asking for answers at the last minute. People take pride in their hard work and usually do not cheat. This is different from students from India and China as well as back home in India, where everyone collaborates to the extent that it can be categorized as cheating.
    • Rich people are thin/ well maintained, poor people are fat. This stems from the fact that cheap food is fatty, rich people don't eat cheap food — they tend to eat either home-cooked food which is expensive or eat at expensive / healthy places. Unfortunately, it is expensive to be healthy in America.
    • Fat people are not respected much in society. Being fat often has the same connotations as being irresponsible towards your body. If you're thin (and tall, but not as much), people will respect you a lot more and treat you better. You will also receive better customer service if you're well maintained. This extends my previous point which mentioned that if you're thin, you're statistically likely to be rich. Reason why I know this is that I went down from being 210lbs to 148-150lbs. The way people started treating me when I was thin was generally way better than the way I was treated when I was fat. As a small example, the Starbucks baristas were much nicer to me and made me drinks with more care / love.
    • Girls are not very promiscuous, contrary to most Hollywood films
    • Almost every single person in America has access to basic food, clothing, water and sanitation. I haven't been to states like Louisiana and cities like Detroit, but from what I can tell, nobody is scrambling for the basic necessities required for sustenance.
    • Dearth of African Americans in technical fields. This probably stems from the fact that they aren't given enough opportunity, broken families, etc. I'm pretty sure you can extend upon this if you'd like.
    • It's expensive to have brick houses in America, contrary to India where brick houses are the norm
    • Emphasis on physical fitness / being outdoorsy — this is more of a California thing but I noticed families going on biking trips, boat trips, hiking, camping, barbecuing, etc. Americans take pride in the natural beauty of their surroundings and tend to make the most of it
    • Americans waste a lot of food. It is very easy to buy in bulk because it's so much cheaper and as a result a lot of wastage occurs.
    • Obsession with coffee — Starbucks, Dunkin' etc is crowded with office-goers and students every morning. I don't understand why they can't drink or make coffee before leaving for work. Such a waste of money! ($5/day * 5days / week * 52weeks/year)!
    • Split families, not having married parents, etc is not seen differently than the contrary.
    • Support towards the LGBT community — it's fairly normal to be part of the LGBT community; it's not considered a mortal sin if you like someone in your own gender or if you aren't comfortable being male/female/etc. Proof of this is the LGBT Pride Day held in every city etc.
    • Smoking weed is seen the same as smoking cigarettes.
    And here are some more things he found surprising about America, excerpted from his post last summer on Quora :
    The way that stores price their products makes no apparent economic sense, and is not linear at all.
    For example, at a typical store:
    - 1 can of coke : $1.00
    - 12 cans of coke : $3.00
    - 1 Häagen-Dazs ice cream bar : $3.00
    - 12 Häagen-Dazs ice cream bars : $7.00

The return policy on almost everything: None of my friends back in India believed me when I told them that you can literally buy anything, including food, and return it within ninety days for a full refund even if you don't have a specific reason for doing so (most stores actually have a "Buyer's Remorse" category under Reason for Return options while returning the product).

The pervasiveness of fast food and the sheer variety of products available: The typical supermarket has at least a hundred varieties of frozen pizza, 50 brands of trail mix, etc. I was just astounded by the different kinds of products available even at small gas station convenience stores.

Soda being cheaper than bottled water: It makes no sense that carbonated and flavored water with HFCS are cheaper than regular water, but hey, that's just how it is.

The fact that there are full service rest stops with decent chain restaurants and big supermarkets every couple of miles on interstate highways

Fruit and vegetable prices, as compared to fast food prices:
    - Bag of grapes : $6.00
    - Box of strawberries : $5.00
    - 1 lb tomatoes : $3.00

- McChicken : $1.00
    - [McDouble] : $1.00
    Unlimited soda refills:
    The first time (and one of the last times...) I visited McDonalds in 2007, the cashier gave me an empty cup when I ordered soda. The concept of virtually unlimited soda refills was alien to me, and I thought there was a catch to it, but apparently not.

Slightly digressing, I've noticed that the typical fountain machine has a huge selection, including Pepsi, Pepsi Max, Sprite, Sprite Zero, Hi-C, Powerade, Lemonade, Raspberry Lemonade (and/or their coca-cola counterparts)... The list goes on. This may not seem like much, but it is actually a lot more compared to the 3-4 options (coca-cola, sprite, fanta, limca) that most Indian soda fountain machines have.

Serving Sizes: American serving sizes are HUGE! I've noticed that entree sizes are huge as well. I am by no means a small eater, but it usually takes me at least 1.5 meals to finish the entree.
    US Flag displayed everywhere: I was surprised to see that the US flag is displayed in schools, on rooftops of houses, etc. India has very strict rules governing the display and use of the national flag. Also, something that struck out to me was how it was completely normal to wear the US flag or a US flag-like pattern as a bikini.

Over-commercialization of festivals: I'm not denying that festivals like Diwali and Eid aren't extremely commercialized in India, but America takes it to a whole new level. Black Friday, Cyber Monday, etc., and an almost year-round sale of Christmas, Halloween, Easter, etc. items.

An almost-classless society: I've noticed that most Americans roughly have the same standard of living. Everybody has access to ample food, everybody shops at the same supermarkets, malls, stores, etc. I've seen plumbers, construction workers and janitors driving their own sedans, which was quite difficult for me to digest at first since I came from a country where construction workers and plumbers lived hand to mouth.

Also, (almost) all sections of society are roughly equal. You'll see service professionals owning iPhones, etc. as well. This may be wrong but part of it has to do with the fact that obtaining credit in this country is extremely easy. Anybody can buy anything, for the most part, except for something like a Maserati, obviously. As a result, most monetary possessions aren't really status symbols. I believe that the only status symbol in America is your job, and possibly your educational qualifications.

Chaturvedi ended his post with a link to a video of "America F--- Yeah" from the movie "Team America."

Read more: http://www.businessinsider.com/the-w...#ixzz2eXNzzJgY

http://www.businessinsider.com/the-w...america-2013-8
    Last edited by Karl; September 12, 2013, 08:44 AM.

Rich people are thin, poor people are fat... American culture for you although people in this part of the world are addicted to KFC with all the batter and chicken skin...

Girls are not as promiscuous as Hollywood would have you believe... my boy still waiting "all night to get lucky"... haha

Dearth of African Americans in tech fields...

Some good observations.

Fool fool study.

I know plenty rich people, who FAT as a whale! What dem talking bout

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
        Fool fool study.

I know plenty rich people, who FAT as a whale! What dem talking bout
        What surprised you most about "The USA"? - You could answer 2 ways or combine both - The most telling surprise could have been in or from the area you first visited or in which you settled - lived, worked, etc. or an impression gained of the country as one whole.

Of course everything seen was in the main viewed relative to Jamaica (my world):
        My first visits were in the 1970s - Miami (downtown in an around Flager St, part of Biscayne Blvd), Florida (vacation, walk-a-bout) and San Juan (inclusive of the charming Old San Juan), Puerto Rico (marketing course).

Because the visits were always short and the areas visited were very small parts of those cities...the impression was sleepy laid back area. Tranquil and 'nice'.

In the 80's I traveled to the New York area - Long Island (more like my country-side but vastly more 'built-up, Brooklyn (for the most part was seen as, what an old broken down 'city'...yet with nice 'country' patches), Manhattan - looked like those 'pictures' of old buildings seen in old movies, loud, busy day and night) Cleveland, Ohio (marketing and production learning experience with American Greetings - country village...cold as can be...dumpy looking)

Gained love for the NY Yankees and the game of baseball - mainly through the infectious spirit and love of the game by a brother-in-law who lived in Brooklyn. His favorite of player was "The Goose", closer Richard Michael "Goose" Gossage. The excitement was palpable when the game was close and "Goose" came to the mound. just about everytime he came through.

The '90s moved around a lot but in the main the New York area.
        In Queens - South Jamaica, Rochdale & Rochdale Village, Ozone Park, Springfield Gardens, Cambria Heights, Elmont, Laurenton, Rockaways & Far Rockaways and surrounding areas - The shock was the amount of guns in kids hands...amount of guns on the streets...and amount of shootings and murders...I think it was during that time that "Boo" who myself and my boys had a lot of interaction with and who we now know as "50 cents" was shot... Never in my life both then and since had known interaction with so many who were shot or shot to death...and spoken with or otherwise interacted with so many dangerous men and their women.

The impression was of a volatile, unstable area. Where literally looking at someone could have you shot to death. That has been and is still greatest of culture shock in my life. Changed my perception of the USA forever.
        Talk about "University of the Streets"...? Damn that was some education!

The 2000s - Traveled far and wide...have more balanced view of the country and what it has to offer. Really got to appreciate the tremendous potential...possibilities and just 'view'/appreciation of the great country the USA is. ...before even for all the wonderful things heard and seen I was still not sold.

The 2010s - The kids are scattered far and wide...and the USA has been kind to them.

Currently have a home in Florida... Gotta say - Sure everything has not been roses...but in the main, roses - America the beautiful!

*Today the greatest of difference with JA - quality infrastructure, job opportunities, feeling of being safe from physical harm.

In the 70s - early 1988 I lived in Hughenden...then a fairly nice place... I never once save for 'storms' had to close our front door (there was a porch, a grilled enclosure with a pad-locked entry-way). ...but we were as safe as in a vault.

In 1988 we retreated to Meadowbrook...and the retreat continued. ...now when in JA I am in the hills fenced in a gated community with guard(s) at the entrance to the compound...or back at the family home in deep rural Hanover. There in Hanover, I can still leave the windows and doors wide open all day. Before they were left open often when we turned in for the night. Not so any more. ...on or around 10.00pm windows and doors are locked.
        ...there is, in JA, not the feeling of complete relaxation, no thoughts of being totally safe, as it was previous to even the 1990s.
        Last edited by Karl; September 12, 2013, 12:38 PM.

do they have gated communities with security guards in fl? i actually saw them there before i saw them in JA.

Re: gated communities
            Yes...
            ...and in New York previous to my first visit.

...and Jamaica before I left!
            The earliest I can recall at this moment...is the Tryall gated community in Hanover.

Sorry if I misled you or if I even caused you to wonder if that was what I was inferring. That was not my intention.

no worries there ... trident villas too i think but that is a different level altogether.

Some are good observations but others are naive at best. Could be because he lived in a bubble as an intern.

Everyone has integrity? That one is bordering on ridiculous. US corporate corruption just sent the world into a financial meltdown a few years ago. It would be more accurate to say that it costs more to bribe someone in the US, $20 and a beer won't get it done.
                Last edited by Islandman; September 14, 2013, 07:03 AM.

Nice list Karl, Hughenden was a nice little place in the mid 70's to early 80's I had a lot of good friends there, things have changed since then for sure. I remember when Red Hills Mall opened and we thought Miami had moved on Red Hills Road, funny thinking back at what we seemed to think back in those days.

My top five things that surprised me about US, first as a ten year old on a visit and then at about 21 when I moved here on a permanent basis.

5. How Americans treated their dogs especially the ladies kissing their dogs on the mouth, that really surprised me.
                  4. Eating food on the street, hot dog stands, subways, tramping Canal street and every other shopping areas looking for deals all day with my grandmother leading the way. That was totally alien to my Kingston way of life.
                  3. Looking for work and quickly realizing my Uwi degree was almost meaningless to most interviewers.
                  2. African American males would instinctively nod or show some sense of acknowledgement to me just based on the color of my skin, coming from a Ja where it was nonstop screw face for anybody you didn't know.
                  1. Life was no bed of roses in the USA, worked every temp job I could get everywhere from stocking clerk at Duane Read on John street; stuffing envelopes on a graveyard shift, very short time! To working temp on 101st floor of Wtc2 at Shearson Lehman, a million in between jobs before getting a permanent job after close to a year of hustling everything that had some potential. It has worked out great, all that tough time bouncing around in the snow pays off!!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                    Nice list Karl, Hughenden was a nice little place in the mid 70's to early 80's I had a lot of good friends there, things have changed since then for sure. I remember when Red Hills Mall opened and we thought Miami had moved on Red Hills Road, funny thinking back at what we seemed to think back in those days.

My top five things that surprised me about US, first as a ten year old on a visit and then at about 21 when I moved here on a permanent basis.

5. How Americans treated their dogs especially the ladies kissing their dogs on the mouth, that really surprised me.
                    4. Eating food on the street, hot dog stands, subways, tramping Canal street and every other shopping areas looking for deals all day with my grandmother leading the way. That was totally alien to my Kingston way of life.
                    3. Looking for work and quickly realizing my Uwi degree was almost meaningless to most interviewers.
                    2. African American males would instinctively nod or show some sense of acknowledgement to me just based on the color of my skin, coming from a Ja where it was nonstop screw face for anybody you didn't know.
                    1. Life was no bed of roses in the USA, worked every temp job I could get everywhere from stocking clerk at Duane Read on John street; stuffing envelopes on a graveyard shift, very short time! To working temp on 101st floor of Wtc2 at Shearson Lehman, a million in between jobs before getting a permanent job after close to a year of hustling everything that had some potential. It has worked out great, all that tough time bouncing around in the snow pays off!!
                    Funny! I have had my days of walking in horizontal snow in Buffalo on my way to work, so I guess I am bound to succeed!

But, I didn't know you were black, Stoni! Yuh sound...well, maybe I should leave it at that.

Nice!
                      ...forgot about that 'dog kissing business'.
                      That was an eye-opener for me.

...and much later (years later) the news that a lady left millions 'to her pets'. ...never dreamt that someone would consider leaving money to/for a pet...but actually doing that? Kiss-mi-neck????

BDL, between Munro and Buffalo snow you are automatically leader of the pack.

Hey I am not sure about Munro but back in my neck of the woods it was screwface 24-7, no smile up, hail up business to the unknown. Maybe Munro was different wid all the plantocracy remnants in tow.

Yes, very different!

Well, where is your neck of the woods?

All of Kingston and st Andrew into st catherine from dpark in the west to bull bay in the east, from Hellshire in the south to Lawrence tavern and golden spring in the north.