Just because...
Good Post, Willi! Tune in 'Sass!
Thanks for posting it, Willi.
‘Sass , remember that discussion we had on the role of the keyboard in reggae music, in which I was criticizing the typical reggae keyboard contribution for being unimaginative? My argument was that most reggae keyboard players simply lock in with the rhythm guitar.
The keyboard’s role in Jacob Miller’s “A Chapter a Day” would have supported YOUR rebuttal point. The Revolutionaries example that you posted on that occasion did very little to advance your position. In contrast, the keyboard here plays a lead role throughout the song, completely independent of the general rhythm, and like I said would have supported your argument.
The keyboardist in Inner Circle at the time of this recording was Bernard “Touter” Harvey, but I have no idea if he was the one who played these memorable melodious keyboard lines in the studio recording of “A Chapter a Day.”
Thank You
Originally posted by Karl View PostJoin you, Sir. Historian.
'Nice'! Nice-nice music!
Good going, Willi!
Inner Circle was never the same after Jacob’s tragic death in 1980 (a real freak accident). I know they had around two hits, “Sweat” and the famous “Bad Boys” after they migrated to Florida and reformed.
Jakes is a simply a master. Jacob Killer Miller didn't even realized his real talent. The man coulda sings anything.
I will never forget the day he died. His timing is amongst the best and his range is something else, His voice and his bubbly character. He was just on the verge of breaking out.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I will never forget the day he died. His timing is amongst the best and his range is something else, His voice and his bubbly character. He was just on the verge of breaking out.
Yuh kno di man was an entertainer...and for an entertainer timing is everything
kno u were not on about the timing of his death...jus a pull yuh legLast edited by Karl; September 9, 2013, 06:16 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
So True!
Originally posted by Assasin View PostJakes is a simply a master. Jacob Killer Miller didn't even realized his real talent. The man coulda sings anything.
I will never forget the day he died. His timing is amongst the best and his range is something else, His voice and his bubbly character. He was just on the verge of breaking out.
By the way, the one Jacob Miller recording I have never been able to find anywhere is his version of Tom Jones’ “Delilah,” which appeared close to the time of his death. That was an awesome version!
Reggae has produced so many world-class talents, and in the process lost so many/much!
Yes....
I just bought the Songbook, 2 album version for current top 20 price, I may add and it ends with discipline child, but also has Im so lonely, Please Mr Officer, Tenement yard, Suzy Wong, all night and a host of others. If one wants, one can make and entire CD with pure boom shots even without Delilah and Music for everyone, which I dont have.
I posted it as I am in a Miller mood and realise just how good his legacy is.