When does "not big enough" not mean "spatial limitations"??

• When does "not big enough" not mean "spatial limitations"??

....ongly when yuh ah Midget... wooooiiieee mi esophagus

CHEC turns down Fort Augusta development

BY ALICIA DUNKLEY-WILLIS Senior staff reporter dunkleya@jamaicaobserver.com
    Wednesday, May 01, 2013

PRIME Minister Portia Simpson Miller said yesterday that the decision by China Harbour Engineering Company (CHEC) not to proceed with plans to establish a new trans-shipment port at Fort Augusta -- now serving as the island's sole female prison -- is not an abandonment of the project.

"A few weeks ago, the principals of CHEC came back to the Port Authority of Jamaica indicating that after assessing the Fort Augusta location they no longer had interest in the project. The reason, Mr Speaker is not that they have lost interest in Jamaica; rather they have radically expanded the scope of their projected investment interest in Jamaica," the Prime Minister told Parliament during her contribution to the 2013/14 Budget Debate at Gordon House in Kingston.

"Based on their own plans, as well as the increased interests from other potential users of the port and logistics facilities, Fort Augusta was simply not big enough to provide the space they need," she said.

Nearly a year ago the Government announced that the Port Authority had signed a Memorandum Of Understanding (MOU) with CHEC for that company to explore the feasibility of establishing a new trans-shipment port at Fort Augusta.

Simpson Miller said yesterday that the final location for the project, which is still to be determined, will be a direct investment of CHEC and its parent company, China Construction and Communications Company (CCCC), a Fortune 500 company.

The preliminary estimates of the mega investment are between US$1,200 million and US$1,500 million.

The hub is expected to consist of transshipment facilities, a logistic centre, industrial plants, a cement plant and perhaps a power plant.

Simpson Miller told the House that the extension to the MOU signed by CHEC and the Port Authority would run for another year to allow for all the relevant studies to be conducted, including environmental assessments.

"Let me assure the country that no special concessions will be given in that regard," she said.

The prime minister said the logistics hub is a central plank of the country's overall growth strategy and potentially represents US$9 billion of Foreign Direct Investment. "It has the prospect of generating tens of thousands of jobs in a wide variety of fields for the construction and operational phases," the prime minister said.

In the meantime, she said work continued apace on the roll-out of the enabling systems to realise the successful implementation of the initiative. "So far, we have issued request for proposals and have received positive responses," she added, noting that further details would be provided in the short term.
    Last edited by Don1; August 28, 2013, 03:30 PM.

Suh what happen to the Kingston Port ?

Ow tall yuh be?? yuh ah Midget?? wooooiiieee

Chiney leave KCT fi Goat Island out of choice.. ??

lol ! woiee !

Don1 the Claffy King !

Can we have a name change for that place, please? It nah go sound good if di whole world hear say wi a offer Goat Islant to di Chinese!

It seems the English language confuses you.

What part of "it's not big enough" don't you understand?
            Also... what psychological condition disables you from admitting you're wrong on any matter?

Maybe it's just your Midget status

You are thoroughly confused.. or disingenuous.. the argument is not whether or not the Prison site is too small.. the argument is what location is a better investment opportunity for a Container Port and Logistics Hub

Kingston Harbour and KMR or Goat Island and Iguana Land..

Nope

My argument from jump was that the KMR has severe spatial limitations...so the best location for a world level logistics center with optimal multipliers for the country would be in the coastal HWY2K zone...I even mentioned the Old Harbor area for its excellent sea, rail, highway, Portmore human resource & power access. It is not for me to select any particular plot of land... That's for the investors and our Midget Leaders.....I'm merely interested in the best region

Case closed... No contest
                Last edited by Don1; August 29, 2013, 11:56 AM.

So Old Harbour is the logical location to deploy Portmore human resource ?!

Wheh dem haffi drive pass fi get to Old Harbour.. 20 miles away ?

lol ! woiee !!! Mi tripe !

All dah cane land a wha ? nuh space dat ?! last time mi check is bout 11,000 acres ah cane land...

Mi math indicates that is greater than 3,000..

Look like mi haffi find a new word.. Claffy not strong enough !

The country multipliers from leveraging development in the spatially optimal HWY2K zone are superior to any limited KMR location.

The country has already gone into massive debt to build that modern but underutilized highway

This Chinese investment is the perfect vehicle to leverage the sunk costs of the highway and unlock the vast potential of that region. The multipliers in modern townships anchored by light industries linked to the logistics support would be transformative on a national scale.

No other location offers the quality & scale of the multipliers possible in this uniquely positioned zone.

Either persons get this... or they don't

What di investor care bout 'Country Multipliers'.. yuh get yuhself all twisted up..

Take some time to gather your thoughts and start over cause yuh twiss and turn till yuh dizzy..

I care about country multipliers...and so should any sensible Midget Politicians and their sycophants

In this case the interests of the country in maximizing multipliers deriving from the optimal location and the investor's interest in maximizing a location for their own reasons...are possibly in alignment once any enviro issues can be mitigated

That is how the decision matrix looks to any insightful analyst.

Possibly in alignment ?

lol !

Yuh trying too hard... the 'I told you so game' is fraught with peril when yuh not on firm footing..

Is this the same project?

Portia Simpson does not impress me as being very bright.

This was my comment:
                            not throwing cold water on the initiative--but sen come call mi when this happens...... Quote:
                            Originally Posted by world fan
                            http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...ad.php?t=59533
                            Ja is a major investment target, says Chinese firm
                            Published: Friday | August 23, 2013 0 Comments

BEIJING, China:China Communications Construction Company (CCCC), the parent company for China Harbour Engineering Company, says it will be establishing its business hub in Jamaica.

CCCC President Liu Qitao told a Jamaican delegation headed by Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller on Wednesday that the establishment of the hub is critical to its plans.

Liu also said his company intends to pursue other projects in Jamaica, namely the Kingston Harbour Channel upgrading project, a long-term concession for the Kingston Container Terminal, as well as works at the Portland Bight Industry Park. He did not say when those projects would get under way or the levels of investments that would be made.

"Jamaica is a major investment target market for CCCC in consideration of the other Caribbean countries, and we hope that Jamaica can provide us with such a platform that we will further develop our collaborations, and to expand our operations on a larger scale and a higher level," Liu said.

The CCCC president told the Jamaican delegation that such strategic partnership would redound to the benefit of both entities.

"We will be focusing on the win-win situation of such collaboration, by localisation and regionalisation, the set-up of our offices in Jamaica and the Caribbean countries to maximise the local interest and show interest to social responsibility," Liu added.

NEW THRUST

He said CCCC was expanding its operations and was moving from being a contractor to being an investor. He said the new thrust would see the company focusing on building a business chain of operations that range from designing, manufacturing and operation.

In reply, Simpson Miller said she was pleased to hear of plans to operate offices in Jamaica as a hub for China's operations in the region.

"We would be more than happy to give all the support we can to CCCC for establishing your hub in Jamaica and we look forward to working with you for the implementation of your hub," the prime minister said.

Simpson Miller also expressed the hope that CCCC would give favourable considerations to other investments in Jamaica.

daraine.luton@gleanerjm.com

So far my prognostication as to preferred location as validated by investor choice is on the money...while yours is...well to be charitable.... sub-optimal

Now you may carry on wid yuh yappin but fi mi point is now sufficiently self evident... except to sycophants or Intellectual Midgets.. It look like yuh is a two-fer...Wooooiiiieee
                              Last edited by Don1; August 29, 2013, 03:15 PM.