Don 1? - Unholy fear of loss of privacy

• Don 1? - Unholy fear of loss of privacy

Just as an exercise that we could run for a week - Let us list ways in which we have willingly given up our privacy. I think we will each end up believing that the NSA 'boo-boo' is not worth even worrying about...it is in the scheme of things a mere storm in a tea cup.

We could as we each add to the post copy the preceding post and although prone to difficult collection of number of ways in which we are willingly giving up privacy as posts can be made simultaneously it should still give us an idea of/on the enormity of our willingly giving up of our privacy...the vast amounts of information we give up...and the vast resources 'out there' through which others can access that information.

-----

I shall list just 3 off-beat ways we give away a 'little piece of ourselves'.

Visiting the mall - go shopping ( we know that increasingly more and more stores/shops use video surveillance equipment but we still go to the store/shop).

Home security systems - where is the information stored (We willingly visit places with these systems)

Google - (We could say 'being on the internet'...but I chose to narrow it down to 1 entity. Hey...how many are there on the internet that gathers our info?)

Have fun!
    ...or let's have fun?

Good points Karl

What this helps demonstrate is the extent to which we already live in a Surveillance/Police State....and like boiling frogs as the assault on our basic freedoms advance... we think "what's the big deal??"

One day we'll wake up and the Government or some private enterprise will be observing us thru a camera embedded in our TVs or drones hovering overhead with synthetic aperture or Infrared radar able to see thru walls and we'll think...

.... What's the big deal? I have nothing to hide.

BTW....both those technologies are being planned for routine deployment. You know about the drones being deployed by the Govt in the USA domestically but get ready for MUST SEE TV....woooiiieee
    Last edited by Don1; August 26, 2013, 07:30 PM.

Well I have my electronic devices connected on Bluetooth....one by one...only to see my daughter setting up the TV for a movie and my YouTube history comes up...which was from my phone....a good thing it was work stuff..will have to disconnect....too wired..

Google dun di place, everything is transferable, just got a mini droid, now they have this share technology ....laws cant keep up with this technology.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I think I'm coming off Google+....too much information...too much tracking...tek off the gps..

One day we'll wake up and the Government or some private enterprise will be observing us thru a camera embedded in our TVs or drones hovering overhead with synthetic aperture or Infrared radar able to see thru walls and we'll think...

.... What's the big deal? I have nothing to hide.

BTW....both those technologies are being planned for routine deployment. You know about the drones being deployed by the Govt in the USA domestically but get ready for MUST SEE TV....woooiiieee
            Not "BTW", Don1...it has been here for significant number of years!!!

...if we can make the 'jump' the advances fall in the same category as The Bible and Karl Marx's philosophy(ies)...can be and have been used to buttress good or evil. ...will be as is in the hands of the user.

No need to run from the future!
            Embrace it! ...and think and do 'tings nuh run wi, wi run tings'!
            Again, it shall be as good as or as awful as man makes it!!!

Consider this - You *AND your friends *AND your acquaintances *AND there are so many 'electronic devices' that you interact with on a daily basis...have been given so much of your info and it is in many databases and on so many servers being added to, updated and cross-referenced with that you could head for the hills, under the sea, underground or outer space and still more of you will be known. ...and that is a fact as you shall see if The Massive joins in the thread.

*Not shouting...just emphasizing!

Nope

Mi nuh embrace Babylon Werks juss suh

Agreed.

Yuh deh pon Face Book...or before that MySpace?
                    Well you would have to remove all your friends and all your acquaintances for any of those entities and other like entities which you willingly 'joined'...and even so the info already there remains...and new info culled from other sources keep building 'your file'!!!

Suh...are you going to just give up 'the ghost' or live a life of continuous fear about your continued diminishing privacy...or just embrace this new world...live...to the fullest?
                    Just saying...