• Maersk Bids Jamaica Adieu

Maersk switches Caribbean hub, drops Jamaica for Panama

MAERSK Line is changing feeder loops that serve US Gulf ports the north coast South America after dropping Kingston, Jamaica for Manizanillo, Panama, as its Caribbean hub, reports AXS-Alphaliner News.

Kingston now becomes a feeder destination on a loop from Manzanillo to the Cuban ports of Progreso and Puerto Cortes using a 400-TEU ship.

Maersk's north coast of South America and east coast of South America (NCX) service will drop Port of Spain, Trinidad and Santa Marta, Colombia while a call has been added at Puerto Cabello, Venezuela. Point Lisas, Trinidad, and Santa Marta will reportedly be connected to Manzanillo with a newly revised north coast of South America feeder service.

The north coast of South America and Puerto Rico feeder service will in future connect the hub port of Manzanillo to Puerto Cabello, Port of Spain; Oranjestad in the Netherlands Antilles island of Aruba, and Santa Marta. This service will deploy two 1,700-TEU ships, instead of three as before.

The report noted that the Europe-Central America and Caribbeanservice (CRX) and the transpacific service AC-1 have already stopped calling at Kingston.

It said Maersk Line is still using Kingston as a secondary hub on the service it provides to the Guyanas through slot buying container space on a Seafreight service, which calls at Kingston and Port of Spain en route to Paramaribo, Suriname and Georgetown, Guyana.

Did they say why?

What's your guess?

Thanks

Chiney Man Time !

Mek mi get mi papahs in ordah !!

Ja is a major investment target, says Chinese firm

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...ad.php?t=59533
        Published: Friday | August 23, 2013 0 Comments

BEIJING, China:China Communications Construction Company (CCCC), the parent company for China Harbour Engineering Company, says it will be establishing its business hub in Jamaica.

CCCC President Liu Qitao told a Jamaican delegation headed by Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller on Wednesday that the establishment of the hub is critical to its plans.

Liu also said his company intends to pursue other projects in Jamaica, namely the Kingston Harbour Channel upgrading project, a long-term concession for the Kingston Container Terminal, as well as works at the Portland Bight Industry Park. He did not say when those projects would get under way or the levels of investments that would be made.

"Jamaica is a major investment target market for CCCC in consideration of the other Caribbean countries, and we hope that Jamaica can provide us with such a platform that we will further develop our collaborations, and to expand our operations on a larger scale and a higher level," Liu said.

The CCCC president told the Jamaican delegation that such strategic partnership would redound to the benefit of both entities.

"We will be focusing on the win-win situation of such collaboration, by localisation and regionalisation, the set-up of our offices in Jamaica and the Caribbean countries to maximise the local interest and show interest to social responsibility," Liu added.

NEW THRUST

He said CCCC was expanding its operations and was moving from being a contractor to being an investor. He said the new thrust would see the company focusing on building a business chain of operations that range from designing, manufacturing and operation.

In reply, Simpson Miller said she was pleased to hear of plans to operate offices in Jamaica as a hub for China's operations in the region.

"We would be more than happy to give all the support we can to CCCC for establishing your hub in Jamaica and we look forward to working with you for the implementation of your hub," the prime minister said.

Simpson Miller also expressed the hope that CCCC would give favourable considerations to other investments in Jamaica.

daraine.luton@gleanerjm.com

Look like we going to have to teach our children how to speak Mandarin.....right after we teach dem how to speak English!

not throwing cold water on the initiative--but sen come call mi when this happens......
            Originally posted by world fan View Post
            http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...ad.php?t=59533
            Published: Friday | August 23, 2013 0 Comments

BEIJING, China:China Communications Construction Company (CCCC), the parent company for China Harbour Engineering Company, says it will be establishing its business hub in Jamaica.

CCCC President Liu Qitao told a Jamaican delegation headed by Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller on Wednesday that the establishment of the hub is critical to its plans.

Liu also said his company intends to pursue other projects in Jamaica, namely the Kingston Harbour Channel upgrading project, a long-term concession for the Kingston Container Terminal, as well as works at the Portland Bight Industry Park. He did not say when those projects would get under way or the levels of investments that would be made.

"Jamaica is a major investment target market for CCCC in consideration of the other Caribbean countries, and we hope that Jamaica can provide us with such a platform that we will further develop our collaborations, and to expand our operations on a larger scale and a higher level," Liu said.

The CCCC president told the Jamaican delegation that such strategic partnership would redound to the benefit of both entities.

"We will be focusing on the win-win situation of such collaboration, by localisation and regionalisation, the set-up of our offices in Jamaica and the Caribbean countries to maximise the local interest and show interest to social responsibility," Liu added.

NEW THRUST

He said CCCC was expanding its operations and was moving from being a contractor to being an investor. He said the new thrust would see the company focusing on building a business chain of operations that range from designing, manufacturing and operation.

In reply, Simpson Miller said she was pleased to hear of plans to operate offices in Jamaica as a hub for China's operations in the region.

"We would be more than happy to give all the support we can to CCCC for establishing your hub in Jamaica and we look forward to working with you for the implementation of your hub," the prime minister said.

Simpson Miller also expressed the hope that CCCC would give favourable considerations to other investments in Jamaica.

daraine.luton@gleanerjm.com

Why any one must "sen come call" you? Who is you?

Is not Calredon College Cricket Club this, you know!?

Sta'P said 'your hub' twice in that 2nd to last paragraph.

------------------------
                _

http://www.4-traders.com/CHINA-COMMU...stor-15219441/

China Communications Construction Co Ltd : CCCC wins awards from Institutional Investor
                09/21/2012 | 04:35am US/Eastern

Recently, US Institutional Investor has unveiled annual awards. As a result, CCCC claimed the award for "Best Investor Relation" in Asian engineering and building industry in 2012 after winning the award for "Asia's Best Industrial Listed Company" in 2011. Executive Director and Financial Controller Fu Junyuan claimed the title of "Best CFO". Yu Jingjing of the Board Office ranked second among "Best Investor Relation Professionals".

Institutional Investoris the most influential and authoritative magazine in the global capital market, and various awards presented by it every year have drawn close attention from the financial world. This year, 935 investor experts from 500 investment institutions evaluated Asian listed companies, executive levels and investor relation teams in various industries through rigorous voting, scientific computing and repeated examination. The criterion for "Best CFO" covered such aspects as strategic thinking, professional skills, risk control and PR; and the criterion for "Best Investor Relation" and "Best Investor Relation Professional" cover such aspects as professional competence, communicative skills and service attitude of investor relation managers.

Winning awards presented by Institutional Investor for two consecutive years has fully shown CCCC's unremitting efforts in corporate governance, operation management and investor relation management as a public listed company, earned recognition from investors and further enhanced CCCC's favorable image in the capital market.