• Oh, the Suffering Superstars Endure

Mavado fails to show in Guyana

Tuesday, August 20, 2013

DANCEHALL singjay Mavado was a no-show at a Guyana gig on Sunday.

According to Stabroek News, Mavado — whose given named is David Brooks — was booked to perform at Slingerz Summer Jam held at the country's national stadium in Providence.

Mavado

The 31-year-old artiste, however, opted to stay in at the Princess Hotel in disgust of his bumbled transportation arrangements.

According to the article, the Weh Dem a Do singer — who is no stranger to Guyana stages — said the promoter had promised to send a jet. Instead, he and his 16-man team were crammed in a tiny plane which was forced to make several refuelling stops. The flight departed at 7:00 am.

On reaching Guyana's Ogle International Airport, the plane was diverted to Trinidad as a permission for landing was never secured. The plane was eventually cleared to land around 10:00 pm on Sunday.

Mavado rose to prominence in 2005 with Real McKoy. His other hit recordings include Dying, So Special, On the Rock, and Star Boy.

Efforts made to contact Mavado's manager, Julian Jones-Griffiths, for comment were unsuccessful.

They fail to mention that the reason a private jet had to be chartered, is because Mavado missed his scheduled Caribbean Airlines flight...he told the promoter that if they want "di god" to perform they need to send a private jet for him...shoulda sue him ****...

LOL!!! That is the syndrome that hurt our music.

I can remember even when Berres was big in 1995/1996 we had to go and meet him at airport and he came off alone with a KnapSack. Upon learning that he knew some of my family he opted to say at my house rather than to go to a 4 star hotel.

What is wrong with these entertainers because of the their posses, and lavish lifestyles and demands promoters find it hard to work with them.

So True

I can remember even when Berres was big in 1995/1996 we had to go and meet him at airport and he came off alone with a KnapSack. Upon learning that he knew some of my family he opted to say at my house rather than to go to a 4 star hotel.

What is wrong with these entertainers because of the their posses, and lavish lifestyles and demands promoters find it hard to work with them.
        Exactly! And I love the example you gave. That humility is one of the many qualities that have made Beres Hammond such a genuinely beloved recording artist and human being.

He just put on two wicked shows in Toronto this past weekend. One with Taurrus Riley and the other with Morgan Heritage. Consummate professional. These hurry come up wanna be DJ Superstars are a joke and a half.

Most will end up broke within a few years as well.

In the 90's when i dabbled in the promotion business...I recalled driving Phyllis Dillon to the studio for parctice before a concert. On another occasion I took Larry McDonald from another concert (we held) to the train station late one night to go back to Brooklyn.

Those folks were very humble and approachable...

If the contract was executed correctly--the promoters could seek some form of remedy.

Sixteen (16) man entourage huh....

H.L Promota ?.....Boss man set up di ska show a kgn .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Our Promotion group brought The Skatalites to yours and Karls' town at The Brentwood Theatre, Long Island in 1993 (I think). We also promoted (one leg) of Burning Spear 25th anniversary tour at the same venue.

Not likely I would attempt that kind of business again--especially NOT in Kingston, Jamaica.

Little Lenny reminisces

BY SIMONE MORGAN Observer staff reporter morgans@jamaicaobserver.com
                    Sunday, August 18, 2013

TIMES seemed good for teenaged deejay Little Lenny in the late 1980s. He had a handful of hit songs which helped to put a fledgling Shocking Vibes Productions on the map.

Healthy Body, Bum Flick, and All Fruits Ripe were some of his popular songs.
                    Little Lenny

#slideshowtoggler, #slideshowtoggler a, #slideshowtoggler img {filter:none !important;zoom:normal !important}
                    1/1

But his biggest hit was Gun Inna Baggy, a suggestive song that got him expelled from Kingston College at age 17.
                    In his heyday, Little Lenny recorded four albums, three for Shocking Vibes and the other for Washington DC's RAS Records.
                    Now 41, the father of seven children operates a publishing business in Kingston. In addition to producing business cards and billboards, his company rents vehicles for funeral.
                    Although not as involved in the music business, Little Lenny (real name Nigel Grandison) says he still records.
                    Early this year, he released a four-track EP titled Little Lenny Reminiscing.
                    It was produced by Sylvester Gordon and includes covers of The Paragons' On The Beach (with U Roy) and Alton Ellis' Live and Learn.
                    "It is more of a hobby for me as I am more focused on the day-to-day running of my business," Little Lenny told the Sunday Observer.
                    Things were not so bright for him in the mid-1990s. His once promising career nose-dived and according to the deejay, so did his personal life.
                    "I was one of the fallen entertainers. My songs were chart-toppers but I made nothing from music as I was robbed by producers," he said. "I was a fool to what I didn't know. I lost my home and family because I couldn't afford to take care of them...I was on my face but I tried my best not to show it."
                    Little Lenny remembers things getting so bad for him that at one stage, he began stealing electricity and water.
                    "There were times that I just sat at home and cried. Whoever said that poverty isn't a crime was lying because poverty leads you to think all type of things... some of them negative," he said.
                    Little Lenny says he was motivated to start his own business after hearing a moving sermon by a pastor. He launched it in the late 1990s and has been back on his feet since.
                    "I am not rich but I am living way better than when I had a career in music," he stated.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/enter...#ixzz2cXcSc4X0

Good to see that he has made a recovery.

I believe him when he says he was robbed, he probably had very few people around him that really were looking out for his interests and he was very young.

Met a few good ones. Met Tonto Metro last year and was reminding him of a show we had with him and Little John back in Ja. The thing about Little John is that he didn't smoke and wouldn't drink anything but water from any promoter. He would inspect any food he got and he only eat certain things. In that sense he behaved like an athlete. He was giving Tonto some guidance back then in about 87.

Some have been progressive but others have fell by the waste side. Many have been robbed as they are either careless or have people who care nothing about them.

Good to see that he has made a recovery.

I believe him when he says he was robbed, he probably had very few people around him that really were looking out for his interests and he was very young.
                          It's case-studies like this that make me proud. Lots of folks fall down and stay down. They blame everyone but themselves.

Most entertainers fail to see and learn the business aspects of their 'trade'.

It's called Entertainment Business: