Is economic growth all there is to it?

• Is economic growth all there is to it?

Obviously (before Lazie tell unnu say I say it not important), it is a part of the puzzle towards development and a better way of life for the people. But can you have 10% growth and still have a majority living below the poverty line?

Lazie, feel free not to respond.

Re: Is economic growth all there is to it?

OK, I sense some progress...

Now unto phase 2 of the treatment:

Is this a hypothetical question or does it have any bearing on the real issues Jamaica currently faces ?

Obviously (before Lazie tell unnu say I say it not important), it is a part of the puzzle towards development and a better way of life for the people. But can you have 10% growth and still have a majority living below the poverty line?

Lazie, feel free not to respond.
      Mi nuh know bout you, but man nuh keep malice. If the economy is growing more and more people will be able to gain meaningful employment. Not what your current leaders hyping bout. If more people is getting jobs, wouldn't they be moving from below the poverty line?

When thinking people talk, yuh must listen,

"We will never be able to lift our people out of poverty by way of crash
      programmes, PATH programmes or poverty alleviation programmes. We just don’t have the money; it is all gone to service debt. Create jobs for the people and they will get rid of their poverty themselves. " (Bruce Golding during Budget Presentation).

I know it kinda confusing not hearing him claim to Love the poor!
      Last edited by Lazie; May 1, 2007, 11:37 AM.

Malice?!?! What are you talking about? I just don't have any time to waste with discussions that are senseless!

Stay deh quote Bruce. Can you find the one about garrisons?

Treat it any way you want. And please don't come back with another question as a response to my question.

OK, I sense some progress...

Now unto phase 2 of the treatment:

Is this a hypothetical question or does it have any bearing on the real issues Jamaica currently faces ?
            Firstly: Let me thank Mosiah for with one simple question outlining what I tried to put before Lazie and Assasin without success.

Secondly: Maudib - It applies to the real issues currently faced in Jamaica. Again that matter of progress/growth each individual receives...the majority receive...and the %age receiving benefit...on your growth figures being attained is very important.

Well let me spell it out - during the often claimed 'growth years' under the JLP, I am not sure the vast majority of our people benefitted. What I am sure of is during those JLP years it could be seen with the naked eyes that a minority made tremendous progress.

When I make contrast of the JLP years with the PNP years (NW, MM and PJ years), I see a broader cross-section progressing. Am I satisfied with 'where we are now'? Ofcourse not!

In a real sense I would claim both JLP and PNP have underachieved....not made use of past opportunities...still failing to use opportunities currently around.
            Last edited by Karl; May 1, 2007, 01:06 PM.

Malice?!?! What are you talking about? I just don't have any time to waste with discussions that are senseless!

Stay deh quote Bruce. Can you find the one about garrisons?
              Hold on a likkle.. did what Bruce Golding say make sense and more importantly did it address your question ?

The choice is not between Bruce Golding and perfection.. the choice is between Bruce Golding and 18 years of stagnation..

The choice is between someone talking about dismantling of Garrisons and someone strangely silent on the issue (well not so strange)

It is very difficult to make prudent decisions when one is unable to recognize the options..

What is the growth predicated on ?

The reason I ask if it is a generic question is because Bruce Golding addressed what his growth was predicated on and would make your question somewhat moot..

I think what Mosiah may be saying that it is possible to have economic growt and the benefits be skewed to a very few hence not having a significant efffect on poverty. This hapened in the past when countries were forced to adhere to IMF prescriptions. The JLP has stated they will be targeting policies that will not have the 'IMF' effect. We should focus on their policies and debate that I think. Mosiah the flip side question for the PNP is: has their non-growth increase NIR strategy significantly changed the poverty line?

Gentlemen when one examines how the budget is currently allocated, I really do not see how a debate is even warranted on this issue.

I mean we currently have the WORST possible scenario under the PNP.. what is the debate about exactly ?

Borrowed Money in the NIR, low-growth, under employment, few dollars in the budget for social improvements (poor people dem tings).. Is this an environment to be posing a question about 10% growth impacting poor people ?

Time wi stap effing around.. wi soon will be left behind for good.. last year (NO HURRICANES) wi posted growth on par with HAITI !!!

************************ man...

What's Bruce's growth predicated on?

Thanks, Rudi.

Good NIR question, but let's not multitask right about now!

Don't get sidetracked. Just wanted to highlight Lazie's little project.

Before the 80's were the 70's.. the impact is still being felt today.. what happened in the 80's is tied to the disaster in the 70's..

Everywhere yuh tun.. makka juk yuh..

an old adage comes to mind at times like this:

"You can lead a horse to water, but you cannot make it drink"

All a man can duh is tek dem to di spring.. aftah dat if dem waan fi complain seh di water nuh cold or dem only drink bottle watah.. well.. a juss suh.