=Assasin;440572]Again, Whose fault they don't pay the head tax?
I guess you have no idea about the spin off to transportation, and local business if done correctly. Beat any spanish all inclusive any day.
You are being ridiculous with this asinine comparison. Firstly GOJ doesn't borrow money to build Spanish All Inclusives...investors do.
Secondly the average cruiser spends $100 in Jamaica. The average spend of a stop over guest is over $1000
Take the scales off your eyes and do the math
The government have part ownership and it is possible for them to make profit on the port if run properly. The return for Trelawny can can be huge if done properly.
Again you just a talk from one side without looking at the true picture so I will low you. An example is Disney cruise was interested in coming to Falmouth. Everybody in the industry know that Disney cruise is a demaned cruise liner, now where is it? What happen. If we continue to run it with your kind of negitivity it will always prove negitive and you will be proven right but if Jamaia like other places decide to double up and do it right like other places you will have to go in the background.
Mi deal wid reality...not yuh tourism nirvana
Again I grew in Portland and knew most business and people in that economy made a much better living when we had 2 or 3 ships coming in in a week. The spin off is what a lot of people used to educate their children and raise their standard of living. Today you can see the effect. Now imagine a port with more ships and bigger ones coming in and see how people can capitialize on it. Selah.
At the macro or policy level one has to focus on the efficacy & ROI of the overall investment of vast amounts of borrowed funds in a debt-ridden economy.
It is clear that this project you supported is not worth the debt burden it imposes... and that projects with a better ROI for the people would be preferable