Nice Carib cruise shipping colums

Ok Jamaica should be ecstatic that 'your company' and a few others have profited handsomely from the GOJ borrowing US$150 million to enable this bonanza

Good going

Cant bee good if it does not alleviate a lot of unemployment. that is a burning issue all over Jamaica. There is a social dimension to return missing here that will eventually be financially punitive.
      They don't understand the concept of opportunity cost.
      Big problem fi dem attempt at econmic analysis

show me the analysis...

Nuh really but common sense and experience allows me to spot a front when I see it. Pay attention to the name that you keep harping on. They know why they can afford to be rude to some customer and not rude to others.
          Last edited by Jawge; August 16, 2013, 11:42 AM.

So yuh prove the point wid dis yuteman

Clearly the expenditure to entice the trinket seekers is wasted as your description indicates

Better to have borrowed the funds to improve that region's education, housing & community development... then with the positive social capital the cruise line may have spent their own funds to build the facility

As usual unnu Jamaicans have tings backward

The role of government must be limited.
              LOL!!!!!!!

Why then did you support GOVERNMENT borrowing US$150 Million to build the facility??????

Yuh konfused????

Yes willi you are right Ja can't make money because the locals are rude and harassing the tourist. Your side of the pond a wealthy tourist is harassed and being insulted it's her (the tourist) fault.

Thanks for the education.
                what's the matter? this Oprah fooliniss is a complete non-issue

yuh ah interfere wid a useful thread here by interjecting this Oprah trivia

show me the analysis...
                  Easy... the telling analysis is the number of disembarked passengers & visitor spend...both abysmal

The real analysis lies in the many other alternative opportunities that could benefit from a US$150 Million injection.... and what Jamaica has foregone by the stupid decision to borrow funds to host rotund trinket seekers

But oh..sarry... "your company" get set up...suh wi noice
                  Last edited by Don1; August 16, 2013, 11:53 AM.

I support it if proper analysis was done and it benefits the economy.

LOL... funny how yuh twiss an tun.

So were you satisfied when you proclaimed your support... that the "proper analysis was done" ...and that our US$150 million from our bruk pakit, debt-besieged country was a great investment ???

I am not privy to the analyst but what I know is that it can be profitable if done right.

And the way to increase visitor spend + encourage passengers to disembark is to build more attractions...attractions that employ Jamaicans...the same attractions you have a problem with...yuh yap yuhself into a corner

I am not privy to the analyst but what I know is that it can be profitable if done right.
                            Perhaps you don't realize that you're contradicting yourself. You stated that if you were satisfied with the analysis ...yuh good wid massive Govt involvement...no?

So you were NOT privy to the analysis...but supported the borrowing of US$150 Million anyway????
                            Since it's not the "analysis"....What caused this vote of confidence Sass...faith in Jamaica's politicians at the time? Faith in your Driva?? Your warm feelings about tourism & fat visitors???

These companies employing foreigners? Nuh you was just yapping bout Jamaica and unemployment?

Nope...wrong & limited view typical of myopic Jamaicans... but sufficient so that "their company" can benefit from any returns

The way to attract visitors is FIRST & FOREMOST to create an environment that is safe, clean & interesting for people to walk around & immerse themselves in... building artificial attractions is entirely secondary

As usual Jamaicans have things a$$ backwards... inevitably producing a backward country