Nice Carib cruise shipping colums

Address the points I make yuteman... don't skirt the issues wid yuh red herring dem

1. Don1 stated years ago that putting tax money of US$120 Million+ into the Falmouth boondoggle was a colossal waste of public funds. The value add in terms of employment would be abysmal and the economic returns paltry.

You supported this very poor investment and said I was "against the cruise industry" or words to that effect. I am not necessarily against cruising...I'm against poor investment

2. I stated... if the cruise company wanted a facility...let them build it with their funds... we should not waste ours on that sub-optimal investment

Them there's the facts yuteman

Anedda Don1 prediction come to pass

It's the merchants fault that the town proper is a sh!t hole?
      Why ask me that? Did I state or imply that?

you a gladdis to rhatid. You read one review from one writer. Can you show me the data to support everything he said and do you take into consideration the fact that the port can be more productive and actually can be a big economic turner for Falmouth if the people of Falmouth and their government want it to be????

First thing you can do is see how many people not coming off the boat because of harrassment and bad behavior and just check how much they would have spent and you can see a big difference.

How much did we invest inna JEEP? a dat you fi talk bout. What is the return on the roads that was built in the 90s that you talk so much about?

Sass don't be daft. I didn't read or need to read any report from some guy to state the truth of this matter years ago. I predicted the low value of this investment and... so said...so done

Yuh ah di Gladdis yahsuh.... yuh get excited bout di fat Yankee dem and di whole heap ah trinket whe agguh sell off an di taxi man dem who aggugh get fi burn gas fi drive di cruisers round di place... man ah tell yuh seh ah fooliniss dat an yuh naw lissen

Wen man talk sense di sensible ting fi seh is juss ... yuh right boss

But who didn't see that there would be a slow return. You can't blame it all on the investment of the port. That is infrastructure investment and the town of Falmouth has benefitted from it. The people of Falmouth and Jamaica and the government of Jamaica can do a lot more to benefit from it.

Will they???? You read the comment of the visitors???? That is normal for most cruise ship visitors going to Jamaica.

I am explaining why the in bond merchants & attraction owners benefit more than the average man...you didn't claim or imply that they were the ones benefiting?

Low value of this investment to whom? Speak for yourself...my company has profited handsomely due to the Falmouth pier project ...as have my 40+ employees...

Bully for u

I didn't read or need to read any report from some guy
                    but you come on here making definitive statements...mine dem mix yuh up wit horse's ass enuh...

Ok that's a satisfactory explanation....but to an issue I was not addressing but is significant.

My issue is the wisdom of such an investment of the people's money given the current socio-economic conditions. It was clear to me that given the Jamaican scenario (including the element you describe) the use of borrowed funds to build a facility for fat trinket seekers would have a very sub-optimal return.

Anedda Don1 prediction come to pass.

can you quantify the return on the investment?

Cant bee good if it does not alleviate a lot of unemployment. that is a burning issue all over Jamaica. There is a social dimension to return missing here that will eventually be financially punitive.

How it will turn employment when we have an environment where people not coming off the boat. Taxi drivers a fight and harass tourist. Falmouth and the government promised they would upgrade a lot of stuff in the town, did they do it???? The tourist them come off at other ports though.

Fact is "we nuh ready". The people of Falmouth need to organize and work as one, set up themselves and then seek their piece of the pie. Falmouth is a nice location and if the town is clean and secure, I can see many people walking through the town off the cruise, having a beer, listening to some music and taking a taxi or two, plus other things. That is how it will grow and provide employment.

Did you read the comment of the visitors? You need to go no further to see why people not coming off the ship.

I see it benefit local businesses that play a support role for the pier...these businesses employ Jamaicans...

Think you would ever see this in Jamaica? Taxis in Cozumel have to line up and wait their turn for the next costumer + fares to every location on the island are posted fro everyone to see...