The TOP 30 highest paid politicians in the world

Good post Islandman.
    The TG story is one of a family latching on to power.That is what happened when Jim Brown became the don,all subsequent dons were his offsprings.
    Has the Yew family done the same in Singapore,and where is the evidence of the sweat shop approach regarding their salaries?

Yu mad?..mi watch it pon TV..plus laptop backup...2 stream...coconut water and ac..no grapes...

I-man I think it is mostly greed and because our people don't hold politicians responsible why and not merely because they are overpaid. The politicians steal not just money but everything they can get their hands on including land, and any assets.

Look how many crooked lawyers(sorry Gamma) we have but many are well paid and high profile yet them robbing people. The EOJ is planning to raise pay politician more for campaign, do you think that will stop them getting the Olint and Trafigura money under the table?? My uncle was on campaign for a politican who rented his house and for two years didn't pay any rent, he had to throw him out. When you look at the current commerce minister who owe an exec in the JMA(Seaga) for 4 years and don't pay him, now tell me how compromise are we?

If they want money we could give them an incentive by saying if they have 3 percent growth over a year then they would get 6 percent raise but when we having no growth, how can we give them six percent? If we hold them accountable then the thieves will go as they won't make that cut and allow better people whose goal is not to stick up the people of Jamaica but the create better policies.

We can't imitate any one country but there is enough examples out there that we could research and use some of the good examples and policies to chart our own path but some degree of originality.