• The TOP 30 highest paid politicians in the world

The TOP 30 highest paid politicians in the world

The TOP 30 highest paid politicians in the world are all from Singapore:
    1. Elected President SR Nathan - S$3.9 million.
    2. Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong - S$3.8 million.
    3. Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew - S$3.5 million.
    4. Senior Minister Goh Chok Thong - S$3.5 million.
    5. S Hean - $2.9 million
    8. Foreign Affairs Minister George Yeo - S$2.8 million.
    9. National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan - S$2.7 million.
    10. PMO Miniser Lim Boon Heng - S$2.7 million.
    11. Trade and Industry Minister Lim Hng Kiang - S$2.7 million.
    12. PMO Minister Lim Swee Say - S$2.6 million.
    13. Environment Minister & Muslim Affairs Minister Dr Yaccob Ibrahim - S$2.6 million.
    14. Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan - S$2.6 million.
    15. Finance Minister S Tharman - S$2.6 million. 16. Education Minister & 2nd Minister for Defence Dr Ng Eng Hen - S$2.6 million. 17. Community Development Youth and Sports Minister - Dr Vivian Balakrishnan - S$2.5 million. 18. Transport Minister & 2nd Minister for Foreign Affairs Raymond Lim Siang Kiat - S$2.5 million. 19. Law Minister & 2nd Minister for Home Affairs K Shanmugam - S$2.4 million. 20. Manpower Minister Gan Kim Yong - S$2.2 million. 21. PMO Minister Lim Hwee Hwa - S$2.2 million 22. Acting ICA Minister - Lui Tuck Yew - S$2.0 million. 23 to 30 = Senior Ministers of State and Ministers of State - each getting between S$1.8 million to S$1.5 million. Note: 1. The above pay does not include MP allowances, pensions and other sources of income such as Directorship, Chairmnship, Advisory, Consultancy, etc to Gov-linked and gov-related organisations or foreign MNCs such as Citigroup, etc. 2. Though it is based on an estimate, the data cannot be far off the official salary scales. The above was posted in redbeanforum by Green Peas.
    Posted by Chua Chin Leng aka redbean at 12:51 pm

Message - We want no tiefin...or currupt politician!

Is that the message? or the fact that most can afford it because the politicians worked for progress and growth???

The no tiefin ting is also a strong "message" or outcome of having your politicians being highly paid.

When you have a man (minister) earning less than $10,000 US a month in charge of allocating a $50M US or more budget, that is a recipe for corruption.

Peter-R, by your argument other countries in the world have very small budgets...or they have no thieves?

Could be both. They consistently rank as one of the least corrupt countries.

Generally though, I think some of us are taking the wrong message from the Singapore story. Clearly you cannot take their system and just drop it into another country and expect miracles. Clearly there are downsides to their approach.

What is without a doubt is that their policies have had much success in improving the life of the majority of their citizens over the last 50 years. Our polices have for the most part made things worse for our citizens. Are there poor people in Singapore? Yes! That is not the issue. The issue is what was life like for them 50 years ago, what were the opportunities for progress 50 years ago and what are they today. Then do the same for our people if we want to compare.

Barbados is also a moderate success story. Given where they are coming from they can show clear progress in many areas. I am sure we can list problems and social issues that they have as well. So what? Are we looking for the perfect country or are we looking for evidence elsewhere that Jamaica could have done a lot better than we have done so maybe we can do something different in the next 50 years?

We are not a people who like to look unemotionally at what the data shows. That is a recipe to fail and not even know why you are failing.

Could be both. They consistently rank as one of the least corrupt countries.

Generally though, I think some of us are taking the wrong message from the Singapore story. Clearly you cannot take their system and just drop it into another country and expect miracles. Clearly there are downsides to their approach.

What is without a doubt is that their policies have had much success in improving the life of the majority of their citizens over the last 50 years. Our polices have for the most part made things worse for our citizens. Are there poor people in Singapore? Yes! That is not the issue. The issue is what was life like for them 50 years ago, what were the opportunities for progress 50 years ago and what are they today. Then do the same for our people if we want to compare.

Barbados is also a moderate success story. Given where they are coming from they can show clear progress in many areas. I am sure we can list problems and social issues that they have as well. So what? Are we looking for the perfect country or are we looking for evidence elsewhere that Jamaica could have done a lot better than we have done so maybe we can do something different in the next 50 years?

We are not a people who like to look unemotionally at what the data shows. That is a recipe to fail and not even know why you are failing.
              Islandman, I agree with you but we have to create our own story...do we have the political will?..I doubt it...do we have the private sector buy in?...I doubt it either...can the Dons do it?...hardly...what about the common-folk and working class?....
              So, as I have ALWAYS said, unless there is a major crisis to drive the change - major upheaval, catastrophe, uprising, revolution, natural disaster, then expect no change or at best incremental improvements...

You have a point, but I think in many jurisdictions there are more checks and balances built-into their system. These checks and balances which West Indian politicians pay lip-service to; Integrity Commission in T&T ever did anything significant to curb politicians' excesses? I also think some politicians are relatively well paid...and many are able to make a more than very comfortable living. I was looking at total compensation for a Canadian MP and it amounts on average to almost $300K p.a., not including pension benefits which are "very generous". That is not in the Singapore ball park at all but still, it's not that bad.

Note, salary and compensation are only a part of what may minimise the temptation of diverting public funds. Strong leadership, effective watchdogs and enforcement of laws are key.

My fear is we get the major crisis and still no change. It can happen, how much more major crisis and upheaval Haiti need?

I will take steady, incremental improvements. It is a hard, unexciting slog but the foundation is more solid than you get with a sudden upheaval like an armed revolution. A revolution of our minds, I will march for that any day though.

I do think that we tend to put all the blame on the political side when there is a lot more buy-in required to make it work.

We have created our own story...

Economic Malpractice at World Record levels for a Democratic Nation with no history of war since independence.

Wi special..

True..but we have also had incremental erosion of standards, respect and public trust...don't want a crisis either..although we have one now bu it's not a felt need...

Need to re-write....

knock yourself out..

I insist..

OK you can go back to your room now....

Big Race ah run soon.. sort out yuhself.. next ting yuh miss it and blame di forum..