• Jawge.. educate yuhself on the Singapore

Confucius...

I first came across Lee Kuan Yew’s name in 1968 while reading Kwame Nkrumah’s book, Dark Days in Ghana. In the immediate wake of the 24 February 1966 coup that overthrew him, Nkrumah received many messages of support from all over the world. Only a representative sample of these letters was published in the book.

Lee began his statement by saying that it had taken him two weeks to compose his thoughts. He had visited Nkrumah’s Ghana on two occasions and did not “believe that [the] political changeover has written finis to the chapter of what has gone before”. He went on: “The Ghanaians are a vigorous and lively people and they deserve all the vision and leadership which you strove to give them, to make Ghana into a strong modern part of an Africa whose unity you have always espoused… May what you stand for, a united Africa and a great Ghana, triumph and flourish”.

No other statement of solidarity in the book could match Lee’s in grandeur, genuineness and beauty of simplicity. Who was this Far Eastern leader, I began to wonder, who could write so well-meaningly about our country and its future? At the time and given where I was, I could find no material to hand which might have enlightened me about Lee himself or his country, Singapore, until I came to England.

One of your better posts.but you should tell Jawge who wrote it.

One Ghanian breddah...

No he should tell that Ghana has replicated Singapore. Seeing that's the premise I started with.

The sad truth is all of Africa was raped by those avaricious vultures,some of which are safely perching in Singapore.Mere freaking words.

Yuh mean like Mugabe ? Careful how yuh a fling stone.. one hand cyaan clap..

Rocky one thing I won't do is wallow in self pity. I always say Ja should have a college dedicated to real history and political science.

Let's first look at history: Ja should study civilizations that didn't make the transition from stone age to bronze/iron and beyond. How did these civilizations fare over time. We then should draw conclusions about ourselves and the present info age.

We should look at Europe's history and its descent after Rome fell (being split in east and west). Europe was raided and being economically embargoed by Africa and Asia at one point. Did you know that the Europeans were called dogs to their face on entering the court of the Ottoman empire? They way Europe got from under the sword was via the crusades. The Europeans fought their way to the trading routes in the Levant and as a result some prosperity started there. You then finding Charlemagne (Grandson of Martel who first repelled Africa and changed the course of Europe history) introducing literacy and opening the first University in Europe.

Now given some of the above history; you cannot even blame what came to Africa. The big question is this can Africa devise plan to restore herself and be economically prosperous? The same can be said of Ja a nation that has zero economic embargo.

If Africa is serious they need to get advice from Genius...

Lee Kuan Yew should offer consultancy services ....

Well I believe things should be seen for what they are.The needed retention is always missing.Some 40 years after we are still blaming our farmers when economic policies policies dictate their demise.Recently,a poster called socialism chupidness when really it has nothing to do with the sad state the World is in.Hidden behind the success of Europe is a tale of plundering(Africa,and brilliant scientists that were snatched away by the victor..),slave trade(Africans) and drug dealing(the reason noce nice England sent war ships to China when China decided to end the heroin trade)..

We learn from history,sadly the misconceptions and outright lies are being propagated by the authors of history.

Rocky that's my point. This is now a time for solutions. Europe experience slavery and plundering (it's just that you have to dig to find it It's time we use our minds to solve the ills that plague us.

Socialism is just another European invention foisted upon the world...