Reparations NOW!! Unnu cyan sort out who owe more...

• Reparations NOW!! Unnu cyan sort out who owe more...

...as long as di tribe and dem tribalist dem pay sitten

JLP, PNP owe us reparations
    Published: Friday | August 9, 2013 5 Comments

This week, we closed the yearlong celebration of our 51st anniversary of political Independence, and except for our two political tribes and their sycophants (a significant and powerful minority), the national consensus is that the last half-century has been a litany of wasted opportunities.

This year, both the PNP and the JLP celebrate milestones - 75 and 70 years, respectively, since their founding, and we must determine whether they have served us well. If we allow them to evaluate themselves, we will get nothing but undeserved self-praise.

Formed at a time when our colonial masters were distracted and weak fighting an extensive war in Europe and Asia, they 'won' for us first self-government and then independence. Britain was shedding colonies in the 1960s, and was happy to be rid of the financial burden of Jamaica, and didn't mind if Jamaican politicians wanted to claim a 'victory'.

The real battle was on the labour front, not so much between the colonial power and the colonists, but between workers and capitalists. The creation of trade unions in the 1930s, and the struggles for higher wages and better working conditions in Jamaica, paralleled similar struggles in Britain 50 years before. Both the PNP and the JLP rode on the backs of the effectiveness of their trade unions (and not the other way around).

Anti-colonial and nationalistic rhetoric was eventually adopted by both parties. The thrust was to foster a Jamaican identity among Jamaicans, so Jamaican nationalists explored Jamaican history, archaeology and culture to celebrate our separateness from things British. This was the period that saw the emergence of Jamaican art, sculpture, music and dance.

The movement to 'Build a New Jamaica' saw JLP branches and PNP groups forming right across Jamaica, along with branches of the JAS and the JTA. Not to join in the movement was to support colonialism and backwardness. And so almost everyone registered to vote, and turned out on election day.

Founded for the sole purpose to 'fight' for political Independence, after August 6, 1962, neither party had a clear agenda for the way forward. Impressed with our struggle for Independence, Lee Kuan Yew of Singapore came to learn, but left disillusioned; there was no Jamaican model of independent nationhood to emulate! After getting rid of the colonial Englishman who was milking the country dry, our Jamaican politicians - little more than mimic men - having no other role models they admired, stepped into the shoes of the Englishmen and continued to do the same thing.

Fifty years later, we still blame Jamaica's present ills on slavery and our colonial past, and demand reparations. Personally, I believe reparations are due. It is a scandal of epic proportions that the perpetrators of slavery in Jamaica received £6,161,927.5s.10d compensation for the loss of their property (309,331 slaves) - rather more than £19 per head - while the victims, the former slaves, received no compensation whatsoever for the loss of their freedom, their homeland and their heritage.

Inequality and 'downpression'

It is a fact that much of what today causes Afro-Jamaicans to be underdeveloped and in misery has its origin in the inequality and 'downpression' of slavery; and, therefore, compensation - reparations - are due. I have been writing about this for the last 20 years in this column. But the failure to provide education for all Jamaicans, the failure to redress the imbalance of land and social status, the creation of garrisons and armed political gangs, the widespread corruption and extortion, are not to blamed on the system of slavery operated by the British. The PNP and JLP right here in Jamaica are directly to blame.

The British should be called on to pay reparations; but so should the JLP and the PNP for how they have wasted the last 50 years, and made us much less than we could be.

I think that the PNP and JLP politicians calling for reparations from the British look forward to receiving some huge sum of money to do with what they will. God forbid! The British must pay reparations; but not a farthing must be paid to the JLP or PNP, or come under their control. In fact, the PNP and the JLP - and their backers - must pay compensation to us Jamaicans for the decades of mental slavery and underdevelopment they have forced us to endure.

Independence has come, and both the PNP and the JLP claim credit for the British handing it to us on a platter. They have been poor managers of independent Jamaica, and most of us have abandoned them both. Don't you agree that with their present mindset, they have outlived their usefulness?

Peter Espeut is a rural development sociologist. Email feedback to columns@gleanerjm.com.

Agreed one of the better writers.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Whenever you hear PNP AND JLP being poor managers since Independence and get no specifics.. ask for some crackers with that red herring...

A simple graph of economic growth of Jamaica VS the Rest of the World against Administration in power will lay waste to that simplistic tyad propaganda..

Well di 2 ah unnu equally rotten, corrupt & violence inducing tribalists cyan fight out di percentages.... Big Man nuh bizniz wid dat tribal trivia

Yes.. dat is why our Growth numbers are record setting in their ineptitude.. because of your bankrupt philosophy that they are both equal in their capacity to run a country and implement economic development policy...

I would posit that of all the misguided philosophies that persist in Jamaica.. yours is THE MOST dangerous and the single main reason Jamaica is in the backward state it is in..

Do you really believe that your party would want to transform Ja; where 80% of the population is highly educated and doing research in robotics,mathematics,computer science, AI, nanotechnology, quantum physics et al? (a la Singapore)

If yes, I have a bridge that connects Brooklyn to Manhattan to sell you. AT A SPECIAL PRICE

The writer seem to forget the 70s that one leader attempted to change Ja's trajectory from that of poverty. The truth hurts and many can't handle the truth. The author here touched on a small area of the truth. The British did not give Ja to anyone. Ja is still bounded to Britian. Ja's constitution is not the supreme law of the land; it's being superseded by the English courts. The British knew ahead what would happen to Ja's political landscape. The fact that majority of the politicians were too poor on entering govt.was seed for corruption (this has grown on the island by orders of magnitude).

Ja is now ripe for the con game which was picked from marketing. Social scientists call it social comparison with the "myth of perfection". This is where men hate themselves after seeing certain males (who were hand picked from an elite) on tv. Women on the other hand get sick just to be thin as who is shown on TV. For Ja the trick is Singapore. Singapore is trumpeted in ja's media to the detriment of the people's ignorance.

How yuh reach deh suh ?

How about just not setting World Records in Economic Malpractice.. wi not asking fi much..

Attempted to ??

What made him unique at the time ?

What are you saying ? Other leadership such as Seaga would have attempted the opposite, to make an effort to lead us further into poverty ?

Lol ! woiee !

The difference with Manley is his approach led to dismal failure..

In the words of the great Lee Kuan Yew.. he was Quixotic...

Okay do you think the aim of Ja present private sector is to have 90% of ja's population highly educated? Engaging in research in Nano technology,math, computer science, quantum physics et al? (a la Singapore). Also having many technology firms across the island? Yes?

BTW where's the papers for my bridge?

Aim of the Ja Private Sector ??

How did Lee Kuan Yew go about it ??

"...return to their natural homelands"

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/...ck?INTCMP=SRCH

Jacob Rees-Mogg 'shocked' by rightwing group's attack on Lawrence

Tory MP distances himself from Traditional Britain Group over offensive comments about Doreen Lawrence on Facebook page

Rowena Mason Jacob Rees-Mogg, pictured in 2011, said he was shocked by the comments about Doreen Lawrence. Photograph: Ben Pruchnie/Getty Images

A Tory MP has "dissociated" himself from the rightwing Traditional Britain Group after it suggested Doreen Lawrence and other black people should be "requested to return to their natural homelands".
                        Jacob Rees-Mogg, who was guest of honour at the group's annual dinner, expressed shock at the comments, which were posted on its Facebook site when the mother of murdered teenager Stephen Lawrence was made a peer.
                        The site said it was a "monstrous disgrace that this Lawrence woman, who is no friend of Great Britain, and who is totally without merit, should be recognised like this or in any other way".
                        It added: "In fact she, along with millions of others, should be requested to return to their natural homelands. Of course the biggest disgrace is that any party calling itself 'conservative' could have been part of this."
                        In other comments, first reported by the LiberalConspiracy.org blog, the group praised Marine Le Pen, the leader of the far-right French Front National, describing her by-election win as "excellent".
                        After the comments were made public, Rees-Mogg said he had "never been a member or supporter" of the Traditional Britain Group. The MP for North-East Somerset said he had been told some of its views were extreme, but had been reassured that this was an unfounded smear.
                        "I addressed the annual dinner of the Traditional Britain Group in May," he said. "This was one of dozens of engagements for a variety of Conservative groups I have carried out this year. About a day before I addressed them I received a message warning me of their rightwing connections.
                        "I made, in the limited time available, some investigation into these and put them to the organiser of the dinner. He denied that the Traditional Britain Group held such views and told me that it was a smear. My assistant also contacted Central Office, who had no knowledge of the group which they could give me.
                        "I am shocked by the comments made by members of the Traditional Britain Group which I note from the Liberal Conspiracy website seem to have been made after I had addressed the dinner. I can entirely disassociate myself with the Traditional Britain Group as I have never been a member or supporter."
                        Sheila Gilmore, the Labour MP for Edinburgh East, said Rees-Mogg had made a serious error of judgment. "He should make clear that he does not support the deportation of black Britons, or celebrate the French far-right National Front, or regard ethnic minority MPs as foreign," she said.
                        The Traditional Britain Group said today it had no links with any far-right organisations and its members were "perfectly normal conservatives", adding: "We are aware that the BBC and other media outlets describe some overseas political parties which we take an interest in (and that is all) who are opposed to alien (to cite Enoch Powell) immigration into their countries as 'far-right' although it is difficult to see the context, as those parties have whole rafts of policies on all matters."
                        It said "Previous speakers at these dinners have included Gerard Batten [a Ukip MEP], whose wife is Asian," the group added. "If we were the 'far-right' organisation which these blogs and communist outfits like Searchlight magazine insist, would we have invited Mr and Mrs Batten to be our guests?"

--------

Yuh cyan gwaan flap yuh JLP green arm dem if yuh choose but the judgment is in.

The more evolved post tribal persons dun mek di judgment lang time.

To wit: The PNP & JLP are spiritually corrupt and incompetent tribes... both responsible for the disastrous state of Jamaica... all Babylon Whirl Bank know seh the corruption and criminality they have conspired to unleash on Jamaica is the key cause of our condition.

But yuh cyan gwaan wid yuh foolfool JLP hero worship said speed

You confuse hero worship with Critical Analysis of data..

Any objective analysis using Critical Thinking methods brings one to only one conclusion..

If you are interested any semblance of Economic Development of the country..Vote JLP.

That does not make one a hero worshiper.. just intelligent.

This does not preclude one from engaging in fanciful efforts.. such as 'Social Partnerships' or Robot competitions..

The two are not mutually exclusive...

Gwaan worship yuh JLP God dem my yute