Oprah is an idiot, i swear.
Originally posted by Willi View PostNo.
If it happened to her in Lagos, Nairobi, Tunis, Cape Town or Nassau, would it still be reasonable in your eyes to assume racism."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
I don't know if I was making an analogy but all I am saying if the white girl told me it was racism why she got bad service (which some feel is the reason why), I'd be hesitant ( in T&T) to accept that off the bat. The white girl could be right though... that's all I'm saying. I suppose to that extent it is an analogy.
BTW This time away I have fallen off the wagon; I'm eating and drinking everything in sight... Imagine I have to go Trinidad fi dry out!!!Peter R
Call for the Manager!
I dont think Oprah really wanted the bag, or she could have escalated the situation right there and then and I am SURE the manager would make it right. People who nuh have the money fi buy it would not normally take it that far.
Willi stop please. The mere fact that you said she didn't want the bag tells the whole story. You are also selling from your pocket. Willi it's the experience that Oprah had that caused her not to take the bag. Ask any top sales person. The electronics chain I was with; always spoke and warned against giving their customers an unpleasant shopping experience.
You cannot use your reality to impose on a woman with wealth such as Oprah. Do you realize that 38k is what Oprah spends on bottle of wine at a restaurant? We are all human and have egos. Oprah's ego was bruised considering the fact that she employs white people who she pays possibly in the millions per year; yet she is now belittled by being told she can't afford a bag for 38k. Oprah was stereotyped and she even has to right to say race was a factor. When Melinda Gates goes to the same store in a baseball cap, jeans and shades (with her noisy kids) and she is ushered to a much cheaper item then you can say no race.
It's not the sales clerk's fault. It's the business's fault. They did not properly train their staff. If I was the owner I would appear on Oprah's show with apologies and offering Oprah the bag for free. I would also tell her she is free to come aboard and help with the new diversity training program I'm about to start.
BTW one of the the soon to be biggest and influential dept. in the corporate world; will be HR. Most corp in America are on a massive diversification drive. Why? Money is being circulated in the hands of diversified ethnic groups and millions can be lost or made based on sensitivity to diversity. It can also be the end of some business.
In short "a matter of life and death" for businesses.
Oprah story sound suspect..
It is more probable a lot got lost in translation...
It requires a non-emotional approach to things to see this however..
It is highly unlikely the Sales person told Oprah she could not afford the bag..
If a salesman tells you something is too expensive.. what is your interpretation ?
I would tell her do not sell from your pocket and walk out of the store. Ben it's high time you keep quiet on the issue because you obviously have no knowledge of sales or how to interact with people doing business transaction.
Why do you think certain people are hand picked to be the corporate face that meet clients from a foreign land. Trust me at the top in America poor manners is frowned upon and is not accepted. Careers are dashed daily due to poor manners here.
Originally posted by Muadib View PostFlash di black cyard..
Last edited by Don1; August 13, 2013, 01:20 AM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE