Dem run har out of the store? Dem refuse to serve har?
Oprah is an idiot, i swear.
No I am not, but neither am I OK for her to lay her compulsion where it dont belong either.
Different circumstances not to be conflated. Frankly, she igle if she tek people attention from real problems cause them slight her over an overpriced lizard skin. This aint no cause celebre.
To them she is...dem nuh know her.
Yuh know who Bastion Baker is? What about Imagine Dragon even 2 years ago?
I am only defending them for her knee jerk racism charge when dem do it to dem own people all the time. The accusation must fit the crime.
If it was your airport case, i would not have commented, as dat sound more plausible, though even that would be rare. Still Zurich airport MUCH stricter than Geneva. I have a black american friend who lived both sides and used to quiver when she comes back from the US and had to face customs there. In Geneva she just walk thru nutten to declare line with impunity. I came back from Thailand once in Zurich and the customs man dem inna the gangway walk off the plane ah ask people if dem have nutten to declare at 5am in the morning. It cause a really annoying bottleneck!
Originally posted by Willi View PostYes and they do that for white, black chiney, whatever!
Mi nah ask unno, a regualr thing that.
Mek oprah guh weh. Not everybody know who she is, so if she goes slumming to buy $35K bag, dat can happen. can happen to Queen elizabeth tuh.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Willi,what if the clerk in seeing Oprah thought she most certainly can't afford the bag because she is black(know pretty much all the rich black..),would that be racism,and can you say that was not the case.
I do not know Oprah but have seen her personally numerous times.She is much shorter than she appears on Tv,and ALWAYS attired in high end clothes.A clerk selling high priced products that is ignorant to high end fashion?
You seem confused..
Either she knew Oprah could afford it and just does not like Black People or money (commission)
OR
She did not think Oprah could afford it (which is about 99.99% of the population, pretty good odds), it being the most expensive bag in the establishment and choose to show her more 'reasonably' priced items..
What interests me is what attracted Oprah to that bag..
I think we need far more information on this incident before a reasonable claim of racism can be made..
Ben stop talk crap. The clerk sold "out of her pocket". This means she used her pocket to judge whether the client could afford the product and at the same time stereotyping the customer. I did straight commission sales for an electronics and household appliance company. These people train their sales force on a regular basis. They keep telling you do not "sell out of your pocket". The way I caught my first big sale was because a guy was standing in shorts and t shirt and he was totally ignored by the "sharks". I went up and said may I help you. Another situation where the manager assigned me to maintain the high end section (he really for me to learn the products) I saw this Hispanic lady came in and told me that she needed that fridge, that stove that cooktop (we are talking Thermador). Due to my training I said no problem (did notice the height of her husband) Turns out she was the wife of a baseball player of one of the NY teams. They were there shopping with their lawyer. The GM took over that sale because it was some serious money that night.
The blame should go on the business as the clerk should be trained. Humans carry a lot of filters (one is stereotyping) in order to make "snap judgements". Training is the key. I now see why most corp. pick their CEOs from sales. One develops the ability to read people (especially if you are selling on commission)
Can't help but get the feeling
that, had Mrs.Oparah had asked to see the least expensive bag, she would have been directed towards the most expensive.
To get ahead in this sales girl line of work, you have to know money when you see it.
Money makes the horse gallop.