Oprah is an idiot, i swear.

Comission?

See that is where you wrong desso. Dem salaried. Is not America this.

I am only as protective as warranted. Oprah transp[lanting her American bakkles here and that is ludicrous. Swiss have dem problems, this is not one of them!

Di whole ah unno follow fashion America too much.

My bredrin sitting next door a laugh, cuz though him a white Swiss german, the same thing happen to him nuff time. he saw the report in the Zurich papers. the Zurich reports details the security regime around the ultra high priced bag, that insurance companies mandaate. In the past when stores kept watches n the window front, thieves used to ram the window and drive off with $2m worth of watches! Insurance companies manate the max cost of a watch to be displayed during the day and the fact that they all must be taken out and vaulting for closing OR THEY DONT PAY!

Dress up inna Arab tie head and dem fall over backward fi serve you. Dress up inna suit as a black man and dem check seh you a Nigerian Prince and is same fawning treatment.
      Last edited by Willi; August 9, 2013, 11:35 AM.

Yes and they do that for white, black chiney, whatever!

Mi nah ask unno, a regualr thing that.

Mek oprah guh weh. Not everybody know who she is, so if she goes slumming to buy $35K bag, dat can happen. can happen to Queen elizabeth tuh.

Zurich is not MY territory. Mi hardly go there as mi nuh speak German.

Racists are everywhere but it differs in form from place to place and nothing in this suggest anything more than classism. Is suh dem treat dem ownah white people too.

Ah suh europe stay...yuh lucky dem let you in the store! Closing time and holiday sacred!

You can call it anything you want. It is typical Euro behaviour and Oprah never say a thing wrong.

It cannot have been a security guard. They have no such power. it is immigration/Customs and they have full police powers and are emporeed to check anyone/anytime within 50KM of a border or port.

Under Swiss law, anyone at at airport must have ID on them at all times, even if you go to pick up a passenger.

In any case, even if this was racially motivated, I fail to see how this relates to oprah's snub being racist, when they do it to all races all the time.

[classism]

aw...because of her race they assume dshe was from a lower class...si the link now?

In my judgement it matters not if discrimination is due to is classism or racism.

In fact racism is a form of classism.

So what race dem think seh mi WHIRTE bredrin was when dem refuse him? See the link now...broken.

Even in the comments section of the article you see a white lady complaining that a chiney sales woman did the same to her in a Zurich store.

A tell yuh bout dem racists Chiney deh...

Again stop the kneejerk. Oprah have you like a prekeh. She entitled and get her feeling hurt dem nuh recognize her. Boo hoo. She must go tell Tina fi move back to America cause its paradise. Lol

I don't understand what you are saying, Willi. What is wrong with Oprah, given her American experiences, thinking this was racism? To whom is such a bag shown? Does one have to be in a turban or be wearing a tiara?

For me, you're either selling the damn bag or you're not! Telling me about Swiss customs means nothing to me. Those traditions are probably rooted in racism and classism.
                        Last edited by Mosiah; August 9, 2013, 12:51 PM.

The Swiss customs officer was a separate incident (Jangle) and to me Jangle has more claim to racism that Oprah does...if he were singled out as the only check he saw or a long time. They will ruff check Africans, but based on how Jangle was dressed (i assume) I dont know why he would have been singled out.

The Oprah incident is clearly classism due to the fact that dem shop dem treaat white people the same way if dem appear to nuh have money.

The bag is not to sell....unless yuh a celebrity or Sheik or African despot. The bag is there to class up the joint and give it aspirational cachet. If Bolt/Madonna/Ballotelli/Prince/Adele/Serena walked in, dem woulda tek the time fi pull it down from the pinnacle because dem know dem people will buy and dem recognize dem face. Then dem woulda order another showpiece bag to replace it. Dem dont know Oprah from Eve and dem nuh pull down bag fi every tom dick and harry wheh walk in.

Yuh really asking me what is wrong with Oprah automatically transplanting her US experience in Zurich?? Really? Nuh didfferent history and culcha? Why Tina move deh in the first place? Why Josephine Baker run from America to Paris before she coulda mek it? You have nuff racism here too, but nuh suh! Much more subtle and aimed differently.

I'm saying it is reasonable for Oprah to feel she was a victim of racism.

If it is the case that it is not to sell except in rare situations, the way to deal with it is to say it is not for sale, not to tell someone "You cannot afford it". I cannot see any justification for that kind of disrespect, racism, classism or whatever.

Yes is their store and they can do as them please, so now they will have to deal with the fallout from that kind of attitude.

Racism ?

Dem nuh have African Prince ah come through regulah fi now bettah by now ?

$35,000 dollah bag cyaan be about skin color..