• Histy this one's for you

Japan’s Attack Dem wins dance contest

Michael Chambers
    Thursday, August 08, 2013

WITH a blend of high-flying acrobatics and popular Jamaican dance moves, Japan's Attack Dem took top honours in the World Reggae Dance Competition held on the lawns of the Ranny Williams Entertainment Centre in St Andrew on Monday.
    Their opening set saw one of the Osaka-based dancers being thrown high through the air and landing like an aeroplane with accompanying music to match. They were an instant crowd favourite.

Japanese-based group Attack Dem in action.

1/1

"Everybody danced well. It was a dream of ours to be number one in the world," said Ryosuke Zushi, leader of the six-member outfit.
    "We have big plans. We are taking this title as a symbol of cultural exchange; to learn reggae dance and explore good food in Jamaica," he continued.
    Their choreography was sharp and effortless. Females screamed as they enjoyed the waist-line movements of the group.
    The other members are Ryo Takaoka, Shaketown Yamamoto, Saigou Byakuno, Yusaku Hayachi, and Tatsuya Hashimoto.
    A total of 14 groups entered the annual competition organised by the Jamaica Cultural Development Commission. In addition to Japan's Attack Dem, there were other international entrants. These included Japan's Yallow Yellow, Gaza Girls from Finland, and Unik Dancers from Guadeloupe.
    Rounding out the top three were Japanese group Yallow Yellow in second place while third place went to local group Endevarous Dancers.
    Attack Dem dancers walked away with two sectional prizes as Best Costumed Group and Best International Group; others were Gaza Girls Most Disciplined and Endevarous Dancers copped Best Rural Group.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/enter...#ixzz2bO8cjqLH

Watch

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YTFIxEUqx00
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Histy Proxy.

Even better would be: "Japan used Jamaican developed Engineering Science Techniques to Win Contest".

You mean that instead of Attack Dem we were welcoming some Japanese visitors from Canon, Casio, Citizen, Fujifilm, Fujitsu, Hitachi, JVC Kenwood, Mitsubishi Electric, NEC, Nikon, Nintendo, Olympus, Panasonic, Pioneer,Seiko , Sharp, Sony, TDK or Toshiba?

Yeah that would really be nice.

Welcome Japanese visitors to come teach we wha? "We" dun know dem tings dey areddi....

SIDEBAR:

This forum is a great place to relieve stress.....

Why try to reinvent the wheel? Just embrace the good thing that we have and try to maximize its potential. As Tony Rebel said, "a reggae music put Jamaica pon top".......along with our culture.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Re: Histy this one's for you

Jangle, this is a nice post, boss. I saw it earlier today, but just got a chance to read it. I honestly enjoyed the article and its implications for the further globalization of our culture.

The truth is that the Japanese have expressed an amazing fascination with reggae for the past several decades. In fact, you will no doubt recall that in 2002 Junko Kudo came to Jamaica and wiped out the competition in that year’s Dancehall Queen competition. Other Japanese ladies, for example Boom Boom, followed in her wake.

There is even a massive Japanese-owned reggae sound system, Mighty Crown, and they have impressed in Jamaica (Sound Clash and maybe others) and elsewhere (London, etc.). Mighty Crown is a giant of reggae.

Remember Japan Splash, the Japanese reggae concert of a few decades ago which was modeled off our Reggae Sunsplash? Japan Splash was so popular that, unlike our Reggae Sunsplash which was an annual affair, Japan Splash was so popular that it was held several times each year!

By the way, I pointed out a day or two ago that that Gaza and Gully copycats were springing up in various places.

Again, an enjoyable post.

Forgot to Mention This

I forgot to mention that there is even at least one Japanese Reggae Dancehall Competition that is held in Tokyo.

I believe that there are few nations on earth where the Jamaican culture is as widely and enthusiastically embraced as it is in Japan. For another example, we only have to look at Blue Mountain coffee, where some 86 percent of Jamaica’s exports is to the Japanese market.