• Italian high court upholds Berlusconi's sentence

Italian high court upholds Berlusconi's sentence in tax fraud case

Rome (CNN) -- Italy's high court has upheld a prison sentence for former Prime Minister Silvio Berlusconi in a tax fraud case.
    The court Thursday said it supported a lower court's four-year prison sentence for Berlusconi.
    Three years of that sentence are covered in an amnesty aimed at cutting down on prison overcrowding, effectively reducing Berlusconi's sentence to one year.
    The high court also ordered a lower court to reconsider whether Berlusconi, 76, should be banned from public office -- a controversial issue that could play a key role in the country's political future.
    A lower court convicted Berlusconi of tax evasion last October, sentencing him to four years in prison and barring him from public office for five years. In May, an Italian appeals court in Milan upheld that decision.
    The former prime minister can't appeal the high court's decision in the case.

Italian court upholds Berlusconi verdict
    But it's unlikely he'll spend time behind bars, because of his age and the shortness of the sentence.
    Berlusconi is a member of Italy's Senate and therefore enjoys immunity from any type of arrest.
    The Senate would have to vote to have his immunity lifted in order to serve any sentence.
    Berlusconi, who served on and off as prime minister between 1994 and 2011, is one of the most colorful and controversial figures in the lively history of Italian politics.
    For years, he has been entangled in fraud, corruption and sex scandals that have often reached Italian courts.
    In June, a panel of judges sentenced Berlusconi to seven years in prison for abusing power and having sex with an underage prostitute. Berlusconi's attorney told reporters he plans to appeal that conviction.
    Undaunted by the court battles, Berlusconi has not only launched appeals, but in December made two significant announcements: his engagement to 27-year-old Francesca Pascale, and then, his political comeback.
    In Italy's February elections, the three-time prime minister appealed to Italian voters by denouncing the unpopular austerity policies of technocrat Mario Monti.
    For all his critics, Berlusconi won almost 30% of the vote in February and remains an influential figure in Prime Minister Enrico Letta's fragile coalition government.

Which reminds me - when can the trial for Bruce Golding get underway? Before or after the enquiry?

You can give it up now. Y'all achieved the goal of driving out Bruce to get a Portia. Now unuh get what unuh want ... low the man nuh?

People died, Lazie!!!

Do all of you suffer from convenient amnesia?

We may have amnesia but I doubt Mr. Clarke's wife and daughter will ever be so afflicted.

Bruce deserves life in prison plus 76 years for each person who was unnecessarily killed because of his defence of Jamaica's most wanted.

We may have amnesia but I doubt Mr. Clarke's wife and daughter will ever be so afflicted.

Bruce deserves life in prison plus 76 years for each person who was unnecessarily killed because of his defence of Jamaica's most wanted.

What did Bruce have to do with Keith Clarke's death? You keep trying to rewrite history Mosiah, have you any idea how dumb you sound? The man walked away and low unuh fi duh what unuh want wid the country. Hop off a di man case bredren.

Lazie, Bruce had everything to do with Keith Clarke's death! If you can't see that...

If that had happened in the USA, the president would have resigned and charges laid against him for his role in such a death. But is Jamaica wi taking bout.

Lazie, Bruce had everything to do with Keith Clarke's death! If you can't see that...

If that had happened in the USA, the president would have resigned and charges laid against him for his role in such a death. But is Jamaica wi taking bout.
                  Mosiah, continue making up stories. As usual you people walk far from the facts no wonder y'all keep telling lies.

No concern whatsoever for the many innocent who died unnecessarily? Have you no compassion or shame?!

I will wait for the facts to come out via the enquiry. I recall Cedric Murray writing in his diary about being in Tivoli to protect his friend Dudus. He spoke about the other soldiers being there.

I recall NNN reporting about an inquest that was done and bodies identified were of men from the western end of the island. But of course, it happened when Bruce is PM so you will claim everyone was innocent.