Re: Golding's lack of credibility
When you even have people like John Maxwell talking much sense then you know there is no excuse for Jamaica Not to be laying the foundation for robust, sustainable growth. I would encourage everyone to read his latest column.
Jamaica needs a green revolution in Agriculture. Our fruit locally grown and ripened is incomparable. Our tourism product is NOT maximized and aimed too much at the low end of the market. Crime can be solved and that would lay the synergistic groundwork for economic explosion. Why the hell was McMillan fired when EVERYONE acknowledged that he did a good job???
There are many things unique to Jam. and we fail to capitalize on them, just as we fail to capitalize on the goodwill that the world offers up to us. Do we realize how popular and LOVED Jamaica is by many many many nations and individuals? Even now? Do Jam. people know how our Govt does nothing with this goodwill, even rebuffing offers of kindness?
Do we realize how strategically located Jamaica is or how influential we are in geo-political matters. How do we use these things to our material advantage?
The PnP is clueless about this stuff and I am unsure that the JLP is much better. Too many of the old dinosaurs there. Jamaica too America focussed, especially now that America bruk! Are we playing off the historical ties with the UK to get a foothold in the EU??? Do we know that the Azores trying to get EU membership??? Their econ. is EXPLODING!!!
What about our relationship with Japan and China. What we getting? A soft loan for a stadium is a JOKE!!! Hell back when China was bruk, we got a textile Mill for free and now we not even getting a free stadium. What come out of the visit in Feb 2005 of the Deputy Premier of China? Imagine the 2nd most powerful man in China tek time out of his demanding schedule to mek a 2 day visit to Jam. The man pldge US $10b to tek over and expand Kgn Harbour, mekking light manufacturing freezone, amusement park and China's entire logistical Western hemisperic hub!!!
We playing the azzzz. How come we nuh jump pon dat and sew it up already??? And we deh yah a debate less than 10% growth???
Mi seh gimme di country fi 5 years and we will again become the jewel of the Caribbean. I have not once stitch of doubt in my mind.
Last point, Jamaica needs to fully utilize the diaspora. Not so much about qualifications...a sociology professor in Chicago is not the one to deliver the econ benefits. I mean the Jakan people in business abroad. They can be our agents in the geographies all around the world. We have influential Jakans in India, chinese Jakans with ties to billionaires in South Asia, Jakans in business or with business skills in Europe and other places. How unno think Singapore of Cayman did it. One has to LEVERAGE every access or advantage. We have lost the plot...big time!
When you even have people like John Maxwell talking much sense then you know there is no excuse for Jamaica Not to be laying the foundation for robust, sustainable growth. I would encourage everyone to read his latest column.
Jamaica needs a green revolution in Agriculture. Our fruit locally grown and ripened is incomparable. Our tourism product is NOT maximized and aimed too much at the low end of the market. Crime can be solved and that would lay the synergistic groundwork for economic explosion. Why the hell was McMillan fired when EVERYONE acknowledged that he did a good job???
There are many things unique to Jam. and we fail to capitalize on them, just as we fail to capitalize on the goodwill that the world offers up to us. Do we realize how popular and LOVED Jamaica is by many many many nations and individuals? Even now? Do Jam. people know how our Govt does nothing with this goodwill, even rebuffing offers of kindness?
Do we realize how strategically located Jamaica is or how influential we are in geo-political matters. How do we use these things to our material advantage?
The PnP is clueless about this stuff and I am unsure that the JLP is much better. Too many of the old dinosaurs there. Jamaica too America focussed, especially now that America bruk! Are we playing off the historical ties with the UK to get a foothold in the EU??? Do we know that the Azores trying to get EU membership??? Their econ. is EXPLODING!!!
What about our relationship with Japan and China. What we getting? A soft loan for a stadium is a JOKE!!! Hell back when China was bruk, we got a textile Mill for free and now we not even getting a free stadium. What come out of the visit in Feb 2005 of the Deputy Premier of China? Imagine the 2nd most powerful man in China tek time out of his demanding schedule to mek a 2 day visit to Jam. The man pldge US $10b to tek over and expand Kgn Harbour, mekking light manufacturing freezone, amusement park and China's entire logistical Western hemisperic hub!!!
We playing the azzzz. How come we nuh jump pon dat and sew it up already??? And we deh yah a debate less than 10% growth???
Mi seh gimme di country fi 5 years and we will again become the jewel of the Caribbean. I have not once stitch of doubt in my mind.
Last point, Jamaica needs to fully utilize the diaspora. Not so much about qualifications...a sociology professor in Chicago is not the one to deliver the econ benefits. I mean the Jakan people in business abroad. They can be our agents in the geographies all around the world. We have influential Jakans in India, chinese Jakans with ties to billionaires in South Asia, Jakans in business or with business skills in Europe and other places. How unno think Singapore of Cayman did it. One has to LEVERAGE every access or advantage. We have lost the plot...big time!