Three arrested for smoking at Sumfest

There is a lot of things in this law that needed addressing. A lot. A little debating would have showed it up. The fact is they didn't debate it before so now they have to be debating it and changing it one week after implementation. It is as simple as that.

It is a poor law because they didn't consider what anyone else had to say about it. A little debating and tweaking here and there would have made the law better.

Can't buy that. It must have been debated before passing. Maybe some people started having other ideas but it must have been debated. Don't mek KD Knight mislead unnu.

It wasn't Mo. It was passed under a law that said the health minister can make decision. I am not talking about KD. I am more concern with hotels don't know what to do and JHTA having to set up committee to recommend to the health minister as they don't even know if smoking is allow anywhere on their properties. I am more concern about Bar owners saying business is down drastically in one week because they are afraid as they don't really know the law and what is considered public space. I am more concerned about the information on this law wasn't available until the day it was in place.

KD never frighten me at all.

you got to start somewhere.. can you smoke at yankee stadium? the issue is not the law rather lack of grace time and education.... But its jamaica people are not reasonable so sometime you cant be either.. if you want smoke and kill yourself why must i take it in...

Yeah but in the US they make provisions for smokers...the airports and other establishments are allowed to have small open air areas where people can smoke...

I am not sure bout that. I know where i live you cannot smoke anywhere in pub places . I think they just need time to educate and implement it.

Where do you live?

no state bans smoking in all public outdoor areas

Toronto. You cant smoke in stadium ect... Public parks holding a concert would have no smoking signs..

So what do you suggest the All-inclusive do? the ones that give their guest cigarettes?

I notice most before the law most guests smoke at outdoor bars but if I am reading the law right it could be a criminal offense to smoke anywhere on the property. These are the kind of problem I am having with the law.

I agree, my problem is not with the law but the implementation. You need to give people and businesses time to adjust.

I still feel they should start with designated smoking areas. Then you can make it more and more restrictive over time.

Perhaps but if the police seh .... Maybe it was an act of civil disobedience. Anyone knows the whereabouts of KD Knight?

have a designated smoking area. The issue is not that you cant smoke but rather you need to provide me the non smoker the right not to be contaminated. How do we do that today... Its funny when the smoking bylwas came in here they all said the pubs will close and so on. It did not happen people found a way to cope.

dem nah deal with Jamaican police LOL. Again it was good intent but there are some things in the legislation that needs correcting NOW. In my opinion a little bit of consultation would have taken care of this.

Maybe we need to start with the"ordinary" things?
                              yes ... the broken window theory ... but I'm not sure that public smoking is the correct issue to start

A start with road code infractions might be better...OOPS!! No go.... wi see how that works out when one Tapanaris gets involved

Not everywhere. Some places don't even allow workplaces to have smoking rooms any more.

Amazing how we hug up these things abroad without a whimper and then bawl bloody blue murder when it's applied to Jamaica, land we love