• Dis Sick... Mi nuh tink ReggaeDoc agguh like dis

Health system gone to the Monkeys

Sixty eight medical doctors complete training in Cuba

12:34 pm, Fri July 19, 2013

Health facilities island-wide will soon benefit from the expertise of 68 new Jamaican doctors who just completed a seven-year medical degree programme in Cuba.

Of that number, 38 students from this batch – said to be the largest under the long running Jamaica/Cuba Bilateral Scholarship Programme, graduated with honours on July 16.

The doctors admitted that in the beginning they experienced difficulties adjusting to the Cuban lifestyle, but over the years they adjusted well and leaving Cuba is now bitter sweet.

“If you should come here and studying medicine it is more practical , in Cuba we started touching patients from third year. It was an interesting experience. I formed a bond with a lot of Cubans here,” said Dr. Camalee Armstrong who is from the northern parish of St. Ann .

Her fellow graduate, Dr. Jodi-Ann McKenzie, 25 said she was glad to pursue her dream of becoming a doctor.

“This programme specifically has allowed a lot of people who probably wouldn’t be able to study it other places. I am really excited to be in the Jamaica system…. .learning medicine all over again in English is something I’m looking forward to.”

The graduates are bonded in Jamaica for five years. The remaining graduates are expected to return to Jamaica next month.

Four Jamaican students will be leaving for Cuba in September to pursue medical degrees under the Scholarship Programme.

Meanwhile, Dr. Linton Francis, a General Practitioner who was among the third batch of medical students to graduate under the Cuba/Jamaica bilateral scholarship programme in 1985, had high praises for the opportunity it gave medical students.

He wants government to ensure the viability of the programme for years to come.

“When you come to Cuba and you experience life here, the little that they have materially and what they have donated to the Jamaican Government in terms of training their professionals, then you really understand the sacrifice that they have offered to the Jamaican Government and to the Jamaican people. When you are trained here , if you practice what they teach you then you will always remain humble and your first obligation is to the patient and not necessarily to enrich yourself,” he said.

Health system gone to the Monkeys

Sixty eight medical doctors complete training in Cuba

12:34 pm, Fri July 19, 2013

Health facilities island-wide will soon benefit from the expertise of 68 new Jamaican doctors who just completed a seven-year medical degree programme in Cuba.

Of that number, 38 students from this batch – said to be the largest under the long running Jamaica/Cuba Bilateral Scholarship Programme, graduated with honours on July 16.

The doctors admitted that in the beginning they experienced difficulties adjusting to the Cuban lifestyle, but over the years they adjusted well and leaving Cuba is now bitter sweet.

“If you should come here and studying medicine it is more practical , in Cuba we started touching patients from third year. It was an interesting experience. I formed a bond with a lot of Cubans here,” said Dr. Camalee Armstrong who is from the northern parish of St. Ann .

Her fellow graduate, Dr. Jodi-Ann McKenzie, 25 said she was glad to pursue her dream of becoming a doctor.

“This programme specifically has allowed a lot of people who probably wouldn’t be able to study it other places. I am really excited to be in the Jamaica system…. .learning medicine all over again in English is something I’m looking forward to.”

The graduates are bonded in Jamaica for five years. The remaining graduates are expected to return to Jamaica next month.

Four Jamaican students will be leaving for Cuba in September to pursue medical degrees under the Scholarship Programme.

Meanwhile, Dr. Linton Francis, a General Practitioner who was among the third batch of medical students to graduate under the Cuba/Jamaica bilateral scholarship programme in 1985, had high praises for the opportunity it gave medical students.

He wants government to ensure the viability of the programme for years to come.

“When you come to Cuba and you experience life here, the little that they have materially and what they have donated to the Jamaican Government in terms of training their professionals, then you really understand the sacrifice that they have offered to the Jamaican Government and to the Jamaican people. When you are trained here , if you practice what they teach you then you will always remain humble and your first obligation is to the patient and not necessarily to enrich yourself,” he said.
    That is good, because we need doctors in Jamaica, but what is the quality of their education/training. Don't be fooled into thinking all the med schools in Cuba are of the standard of the University of Havana. Most of the schools are mediocre, in fact all are mediocre excep the University of Havana, which has been in decline since the revolution. To this day U of H medical school is reserved for the white Cuban elite, so forget the socialist, equality crap. Cuba is as racist today as it was before the revolution, probably even more so. Black, foreign nationals from a poor country like Ja will never get into U. of H medical school. One man's observation, and opinion. Been to Cuba, U of H, and many Cuban medical schools and hospitals on a number of occasions, and have observed.

Ok understood

But would pre-revolution Cuba have trained ~70 JA doctors for likkle or nutten at one shot? If not Jamaica's position in the matter re Cuba should be influenced by such acts of selfless solidarity...no?
      Last edited by Don1; July 21, 2013, 02:17 AM.

Would pre racist communist cuba send man fi dead in the war against south Africa and all over Africa on humanitarian missions ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

good question

Would pre racist communist cuba send man fi dead in the war against south Africa and all over Africa on humanitarian missions ?
            If human beings are your only export product, you want to curry favor with developing countries, and you were a Soviet pawn, what else could Cuba have done?. Am I happy that those set of circumstances helped black Africans?. Of course. What?. You think Cuba did it because Castro loves black people?.

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
              If human beings are your only export product, you want to curry favor with developing countries, and you were a Soviet pawn, what else could Cuba have done?. Am I happy that those set of circumstances helped black Africans?. Of course. What?. You think Cuba did it because Castro loves black people?.
              Those are good points. Whether Castro loves or hates Black people is debatable. We have to judge people and nations by their actions

Castro most probably did not support the anti-Apartheid struggle because he hated Black people. Or put another way...If Castro harbored hatred for Blacks it certainly did not stop him or Cuba from shedding blood to aid our relief from oppression

A question: Was the decades long US support for racist Apartheid regimes...i.e. political as well as military support to arm those regimes so they could better oppress and kill Blacks...was that an expression of love or hatred for us...or maybe neither?