Histy here's a nice Reggae remix for you
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015Tags: None
A Beautiful Recording!
Reggae has not died, and will not easily die, despite the apparent determined efforts of so many in the Jamaican music industry and Jamaican media to bury our musical gold! Like ska, reggae will never die because there are foreigners from many other countries in North America, Europe, Africa and Asia who are intent on turning out wonderful stuff. We Jamaicans are increasingly becoming irrelevant in the big picture as far as reggae (and also ska) is concerned. Hawaii-born and raised Bruno Mars is an example of someone who is keeping the music relevant and alive!
Think about the supreme irony of this situation, but then again when I consider that so many Jamaicans seem to have a death wish in so many other areas of life, maybe I should not be surprised at the distant backseat in which mainstream reggae has been shoved in Jamaica!
By the way, Bruno Mars is an artist I admired from the first time I heard him (remember “Billionaire,” etc?), and my respect for him soared even more when I learnt that it was he who convinced the 2013 Grammy Awards producers to dedicate his segment to Bob Marley.
Last edited by Historian; July 10, 2013, 12:19 PM.
here are some good ones:
John Legend
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qj5a6tzASHE
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sK0oMSQPee8
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qm7pQ8RrH8A
Estelle:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uESW6eoUIX4
Reggae is alive and well......Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
there is a very vibrant Hawaii reggae scene so it doesn't surprise me at all.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Enjoyed These Gems!
I really appreciate these music link posts, Jangle!
I enjoyed the John Legend with Buju Banton remix, as well as Legend’s “Number One” and “Use To Love Her.” Estelle’s “Come Over” is also a pleasant product.
I have long had a problem with R&B, etc. artists and producers who do a reggae re-mix after the original recording has hit the market. Why not do a straight reggae recording from the outset? After all, it is not like it has never been done. Individuals and groups like Lionel Richie, Stevie Wonder, Willie Nelson, No Doubt, Deborah Harry & Blondie, Boney-M, Blue Mountain, jazz guitarist Eric Gale, and many others have released recordings that were from the outset (originally) mixed as straight reggae or quasi-reggae.
For example, instead of all these remixes, why doesn’t John Legend consider going straight into reggae in some cases? His voice fits in perfectly with the genre, and I am sure he would turn out some wonderful originals. Too many of these artists, Alicia Keys, R. Kelly, etc. seem to put out reggae remixes belatedly (it seems) after releasing their original recording in R&B.
Reggae badly needs a massive hit in America from a major American recording star!
Last edited by Historian; July 10, 2013, 01:16 PM.
Jawaiian
Jawaiian is a Hawaiian style of reggae music. Reggae music is a genre that evolved in the late 1960s and early in Jamaica. has become popular across the world, especially among ethnic groups and races that have been historically oppressed, such as Native Americans, Pacific Islanders, and Australian Aborigines. In Hawaii, ethnic Hawaiians and others in the state began playing a mixture of reggae and local music in the early 1980s, although it was not until the late 1980s that it became recognized as a new genre in local music. The band Simplisity has been credited by Quiet Storm Records as originators of the Jawaiian style. By the end of the 1980s, Jawaiian came to dominate the local music scene, as well as spawning a backlash that the Honolulu Star-Bulletin compared to the "disco sucks" movement of the late 1970s.[19]
Reggae culture as a whole began to dominate Hawaii, as many locals can be seen sporting Bob Marley memorabilia, and lots of local merchandise and souvenirs have been emblazoned with the red, yellow, and green colors of the Hawaiian sovereignty as well as the Ethiopian flag, a known symbol of the Rastafari movement. The Rasta colors have also become a symbol of local pride.
Check dis ..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p_GkE...E7F9BB37673667THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Originally posted by Historian View PostI really appreciate these music link posts, Jangle!
I enjoyed the John Legend with Buju Banton remix, as well as Legend’s “Number One” and “Use To Love Her.” Estelle’s “Come Over” is also a pleasant product.
I have long had a problem with R&B, etc. artists and producers who do a reggae re-mix after the original recording has hit the market. Why not do a straight reggae recording from the outset? After all, it is not like it has never been done. Individuals and groups like Lionel Richie, Stevie Wonder, Willie Nelson, No Doubt, Deborah Harry & Blondie, Boney-M, Blue Mountain, jazz guitarist Eric Gayle, and many others have released recordings that were originally mixed as straight reggae or quasi-reggae.
For example, instead of all these remixes, why doesn’t John Legend consider going straight into reggae in some cases? His voice fits in perfectly with the genre, and I am sure he would turn out some wonderful originals. Too many of these artists, Alicia Keys, R. Kelly, etc. seem to put out reggae remixes belatedly (it seems) after releasing their original recording in R&B.
Reggae badly needs a massive hit in America from a major American recording star!
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
NiceHey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Thanks For Posting This!
Damn, I love it!
X, the recording and video for J Boog’s “Let’s Do It Again” is straight Jamaican! When it started I could almost swear that this guy was lip syncing to a new record by Beres Hammond (lol). Talk about utilizing “Brand Jamaica” to the fullest (including similarity of setting).
These Hawaiian reggae singers and musicians are not joking!! On the contrary, I’m realizing more and more that the ONLY jokers are those clowns in Jamaica! First, they lost ska, a really creative and dynamic music form, and now they have given reggae a backseat in their anxiety to promote dancehall nonsense.
Thanks and much respect for posting this, boss. Without exception, I have played and listened to EVERY video you have posted over the years, and I must say that, as in the past, I have learnt much from today’s post. Thanks also for the info on Jawaiian, a style I am learning about for the first time.
Originally posted by X View PostJawaiian
Jawaiian is a Hawaiian style of reggae music. Reggae music is a genre that evolved in the late 1960s and early in Jamaica. has become popular across the world, especially among ethnic groups and races that have been historically oppressed, such as Native Americans, Pacific Islanders, and Australian Aborigines. In Hawaii, ethnic Hawaiians and others in the state began playing a mixture of reggae and local music in the early 1980s, although it was not until the late 1980s that it became recognized as a new genre in local music. The band Simplisity has been credited by Quiet Storm Records as originators of the Jawaiian style. By the end of the 1980s, Jawaiian came to dominate the local music scene, as well as spawning a backlash that the Honolulu Star-Bulletin compared to the "disco sucks" movement of the late 1970s.[19]
Reggae culture as a whole began to dominate Hawaii, as many locals can be seen sporting Bob Marley memorabilia, and lots of local merchandise and souvenirs have been emblazoned with the red, yellow, and green colors of the Hawaiian sovereignty as well as the Ethiopian flag, a known symbol of the Rastafari movement. The Rasta colors have also become a symbol of local pride.
Check dis ..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p_GkE...E7F9BB37673667
Histy, Reggae and Dancehall is alive and well...and spreading across the world.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Ce2SZ1FAJ0
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X1vOGa9EHlI
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dSkNYlVYByc
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dGVtChaNdxQ
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TUDBngC2JbY
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k8BvT5gSFTE
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BZ6LvjQ0jDM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EJUZs0X5qbc
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mx--SccRKlU
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=48nwR2JcH2oHey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
I see you are dumping on SKA still...how is your Spanish?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zu7R1U-b6v0
"Spreading"? Maybe....
Jangle, I understand what you are saying. The fact is that Jamaican culture is a “world phenomenon,” to quote a prominent Caribbean journalist. We can see this in various aspects of our culture, for example, jerk chicken, the rasta influence, and the music.
However, while there is no question that reggae is still “spreading across the world” as we can see by the formation of a significant number of national reggae groups in countries in Europe, Africa, Asia, North America and Latin America, can the same be said of dancehall?
Yes, I watched the videos that you posted of small groups of bored young adults in certain areas (Italy, etc.) moving to the music of popular Jamaican dancehall artists (I don’t count places like NY and Toronto, where there is a large Caribbean population). Remember that Junko Kudo, a Japanese woman, came to Jamaica in 2002 and won our Dancehall Competition?
Here is a tip: Compare what you have posted with the many ska videos that X has posted over the past year or two. If you notice, in the case of the ska videos, without exception, it is serious, seemingly respected musicians (even orchestras) in the various countries who are playing the ska compositions of Don Drummond, etc.
Here is another tip: Watch the various charts worldwide, and when you see any of these new dancehall guys doing what Shaggy did with “It Wasn’t Me,” then we can continue this conversation. Also, when foreign dancehall groups and bands start to come forward, then we can continue this conversation.
Trust me, we may debate back and forth as we like, but there is a vast difference between the acceptance of reggae and that of dancehall.