• Mr Spock...Raise Internet Shields to Maximum

Massive online protest of NSA spying activities planned
    by Staff Writers
    Washington (UPI) Jul 2, 2013

Reddit, Mozilla and other websites say they'll launch an online protest July 4 against U.S. surveillance of telephone records and Internet traffic.

The participating sites will display anti-National Security Agency spying messages on their home pages and will direct visitors to the site CallForFreedom.org, The Hill reported Tuesday.

At CallForFreedom.org, donations can be made to help fund TV ads against the intelligence programs and press for action from U.S. lawmakers.

The protest is being organized by the Internet Defense League, a coalition of online activists and websites that came together during the protests against the Stop Online Piracy Act in January 2012.

"The NSA programs that have been exposed are blatantly unconstitutional, and have a detrimental effect on free speech and freedom of press worldwide," Tiffiniy Cheng, a spokeswoman for the Internet Defense League, said in a statement.

The group said it estimates thousands of websites will take part in the online protests.

"This is going to be our biggest protest since SOPA, and it should be no surprise.

"You can't disregard people's privacy, invade their personal lives on a daily basis, and not expect them to fight back."

Will they do the same for selves i.e. their spying on users of their products?

Such a protest?
    (It is...) a great feel good activity for the naïve!

Will they do the same for selves i.e. their spying on users of their products?

Such a protest?
      (It is...) a great feel good activity for the naïve!
      That's what some said about the Nixon Watergate protesters as well

That those who organized the protest were 'breaking and entering'?
        I missed that claim...

I don't understand your point.

You have evidence that Reddit and Mozilla are "breaking and entering"?? Or is it the Watergate protesters who did that?

Whatever it may be please substantiate suh mi cyan bun dem out

I don't understand your point.

You have evidence that Reddit and Mozilla are "breaking and entering"?? Or is it the Watergate protesters who did that?

Whatever it may be please substantiate suh mi cyan bun dem out
            Of course they do!
            ...unless you think that the USA, China...and yes, Jamaica...etc., etc. ...and on another level say, Mozilla via its associations and products...and all the other actors are...they are all keeping tabs on you only when you invite them in? ...unless incredibly you really believe that they do no 'breaking and entering'?

I really don't know what you mean by breaking and entering here.

If you're attempting to equate Mozilla, a not-for-profit organization promoting free, open source software solutions... with Big Brother NSA spying indiscriminately on innocents ...you're wildly off base on a misguided fishing expedition

I really don't know what you mean by breaking and entering here.

If you're attempting to equate Mozilla, a not-for-profit organization promoting free, open source software solutions... with Big Brother NSA spying indiscriminately on innocents ...you're wildly off base on a misguided fishing expedition
                I think, no disrespect...you just have not made the connections. It is simple really. If the tools are available, Man, being Man...just cannot ignore using same for his own self-interest. We are 'hotwired' to seek 'perfection'. If there is a tool for 'good' or 'bad' we have to...cannot help ourselves...seek to perfect same. Have it best serve us...period!

It has been said that what makes us human is our innate curiosity...deep seated subconscious drive to know the 'nth point'/we seek the infinite point. In each of us there is nothing 'can't'! ...OK! ...some persons turn-off the 'hotwire'...but that does not mean it is not there.

...another tact - think on how we make super-computers?
                The infinite super-computer is as infinite goes always 'out there'...we improve year over year on best models...and year after year we connect more and more of the current best to create the super computing tool(s)...and on and on it goes...in every sphere we venture (including gathering of and use of information)...

...so again to return to the simple - it is the sum of parts that create the whole. Right?

So for Mozilla it is for...(You fill in. If you think it is 'open source=free...then you are not yet at 1962 - Year JA gained independence )

Where is information once gained kept?
                Who or what can best access same?
                ...why would we think for one moment it would not be in self-interest to just 'know' if we are wired to be curious on and about everything? ...and once we 'know' to use/to test the efficacy?

'Breaking and entering' just refers to gathering ('gathering' sounds sanitized when compared to the jarring 'steals') information without the owner of the information willingly transferring same to the person or entity who gathers the info. ..'gatherer'=the robber or worse than robber? ...or does the use to which the 'gathered' info is put 'burnishes' the gatherer or 'dutty' di 'gatherer'?
                Last edited by Karl; July 4, 2013, 02:47 AM.

Yes Karl it is simple.

One can choose to enable corruption to flourish by believing "ah juss suh di ting set" "man being man whe yuh expect" .....or one can stand for a principle

We all have free will to choose

Yes Karl it is simple.

One can choose to enable corruption to flourish by believing "ah juss suh di ting set" "man being man whe yuh expect" .....or one can stand for a principle

We all have free will to choose
                    What you say is true...absolutely true!

You know what I think about where this 'breaking and entering', gathering and use of info shall go...but tell me where I stand on the matter?

Since you're present it might be better if you interpret this on behalf of yourself...no??

Nah man is Scotty who raises the shileds. him control the warp core that powers the defletor array!

Failing that its Sulu or Chechoff that would have backup control on the bridge...

Nah man is Scotty who raises the shileds. him control the warp core that powers the defletor array!

Failing that its Sulu or Chechoff that would have backup control on the bridge...
                          Sulu a Fish nuh true? Ideal man dat fi di backup role

True, but as he is Japanese, the correct term would be Sushi no?

LOL