Cops: We Won't Be Carfooled

• Cops: We Won't Be Carfooled

"We understand when carpooling is being done, because it is being done by persons who are working legitimately," said Lewis, who added that drivers suspected of "running taxi" would have to provide evidence of where they work.
    So employment is a prerequisite to carpooling?

Yuh nuh see these people mek dem own laws.

Agreed!

So, the authorities are impotent to do anything about it?

About robot taxis? According to them yes...I already told you that a robot taxi bounce my friend car right in front of a police officer and speed away...the officer seh dem stop run dem down cause they will mash up everything on the road to get away...yet dem going to now stop full cars and request proof of employment from the driver...

How dem so idle? Dem caan find time fi go after wanted men?

So Unemployed people can't carpool?

wouldn't that be a better case for carpooling?

A group of unemployed people carpooling? whe dem a guh? bettin shop? beach?

luuk wuk

him a gwaan like man can't "bomb{ drive nu more. LOL

Does it matter, as long as its legal???

This sounds unconstitutional.

That's the point... the law addresses the illegal operator, does it address the person who takes an unlicenced taxi? Is it against the law to stop a vehicle and ask the passengers if they are related? or know the driver? his name? That in itself is no proof of anything but likely an indication what you're dealing with...

If that is harassment then the police will have to work a little smarter and gather evidence against the illegal operator and then hit him hard. Others might think twice about operating an illegal taxi. Seems simple enough to me.

How about simple video surveillance or some other simple technology? I mean an illegal taxi cannot operate where there are no people around, it has to be in a fairly public place.

Stopping people and asking them where they work and how they are related to the driver in order to catch illegal taxis is the heights of folly and stupidity.

and if the same taxi making the same trip during the day you know more than likely it ain't carpooling.