...but nuh blame wi...is Munro mi ear im come fram
Be Agents Of Change, Reid Urges Graduates
Published: Wednesday | June 26, 2013 0 Comments
Reid
On Sunday, Principal of Jamaica College, Ruel Reid, charged members of the 2013 graduating class to equip themselves to become the agents of change that Jamaica needs to achieve First World status.
Addressing the more than 190 graduates gathered at the Karl Hendrickson Auditorium on the campus in St Andrew, Reid told them that "as Jamaica College graduates, much is expected of you".
"There is no question that Jamaica is not yet a developed society. We do not yet have the choices of jobs and opportunities for social advancement for all our citizens to achieve a reasonable standard of living."
Reid added: "Development in the context of globalisation continues to be a challenge for countries like Jamaica, but your mission is to change this as you change the world. I, therefore, charge you as College men to leave a positive legacy in this transformation effort."
The JC principal added that it was the graduates' duty to lead the way in restoring values and attitudes in the country, to provide "light where there is darkness, hope where there is despair and peace where there is war".
Reid added that as the institution strived to regain its place as the number one secondary education institution in the island, the school had much to be thankful for.
"It was the case in the not-so-distant past [where] when you could not get into Jamaica College, you would end up in Calabar (High School), Wolmer's, Kingston College, and even St George's College."
He pointed out that so far, the institution has exceeded most of its targets in its 2016 transformation plan.
In his address to the graduates, Professor Errol Miller, former chairman of the Electoral Commission of Jamaica, pointed to the significant contribution of the institution's alumni over the years in helping to make the school what it is. Against this background, he told them that there was no excuse for them "not to work towards the common good".
Be Agents Of Change, Reid Urges Graduates
Published: Wednesday | June 26, 2013 0 Comments
Reid
On Sunday, Principal of Jamaica College, Ruel Reid, charged members of the 2013 graduating class to equip themselves to become the agents of change that Jamaica needs to achieve First World status.
Addressing the more than 190 graduates gathered at the Karl Hendrickson Auditorium on the campus in St Andrew, Reid told them that "as Jamaica College graduates, much is expected of you".
"There is no question that Jamaica is not yet a developed society. We do not yet have the choices of jobs and opportunities for social advancement for all our citizens to achieve a reasonable standard of living."
Reid added: "Development in the context of globalisation continues to be a challenge for countries like Jamaica, but your mission is to change this as you change the world. I, therefore, charge you as College men to leave a positive legacy in this transformation effort."
The JC principal added that it was the graduates' duty to lead the way in restoring values and attitudes in the country, to provide "light where there is darkness, hope where there is despair and peace where there is war".
Reid added that as the institution strived to regain its place as the number one secondary education institution in the island, the school had much to be thankful for.
"It was the case in the not-so-distant past [where] when you could not get into Jamaica College, you would end up in Calabar (High School), Wolmer's, Kingston College, and even St George's College."
He pointed out that so far, the institution has exceeded most of its targets in its 2016 transformation plan.
In his address to the graduates, Professor Errol Miller, former chairman of the Electoral Commission of Jamaica, pointed to the significant contribution of the institution's alumni over the years in helping to make the school what it is. Against this background, he told them that there was no excuse for them "not to work towards the common good".