Re: Just my ramblings

Well my eyes have given me a look from the days when "Tiger transport" and "Royal Mail" roamed the countryside. When the vast majority could not afford to be in schools on Fridays...'bare-foot' was the footware of choice...a vast many areas no public transport...the majority of the island no electricity...no 'water closets' in 90+% of homes, rather the 'out-houses'...no TV station...Radio Jamaica and Redifusion did not yet make it...Telefunken was a top of the line radio...no 'running water' in most places...if an aeroplane passed overhead it was 'an event'...Busta, Norman were the political leaders...most basic school, infant and elementary school classes were held, at least for some of the time, unda-tree...'pop-seed gun', wood toy cart, bamboo cricket bats, football was a secondary school novelty to most (no primary and or prep school football)...

...yuh coudda walk any weh, hat henni time a day or night an ebryone a yuh fren...

...any adult cudda bus yuh tail effen yuh a mis-behave! ...
    So yuh claiming senility ?

Good response. Maudib and Lazie full a question and no solutions!

But yuh not right in the head... is how long now mi ah talk about di solution ?

Don't blame me if yuh nuh like it.. is nuff medicine taste bad..

Yuh enumerate yet ?

Mosiah tell your friend and former educator your impression of the current educational system.

Barbados, Bahamas, Botwsawna - maybe it has something to do with the letter "B"?

I dunno!

Bermuda, Bahrain..

Yuh might be on to something...

What is required to change us to Bamaica ?

A referendum?

But Soloman Islands nah do so bad

A referendum?
                    Yuh cyan FAHGET IT !

The UDC has a portfolio of over 50 projects spanning different sectors. Projects are basically of two types - Investment projects and Agency projects. Investment projects are those done by the UDC as part of its development thrust for its designated areas and to generate income. Agency projects are those done on behalf of the Government (Ministries and other agencies) for which a project management fee is charged.

Investment Projects include:
                      Caymanas Estate Development, Davis Town Housing Development Catherine Hall Industrial Estate, The Hellshire Hills Development, Booby Cay Development, Dunn’s River Falls and Park Development, Green Grotto Caves and Attractions and the Southwest Coast Development including Sandals Whitehouse Hotel and Red Ground Housing Development at Mt. Edgecombe in Westmoreland.

Agency Projects include:
                      San Jose Accord Projects, Soapberry Wastewater Treatment Project,Northwestern Schools Programme, Port Maria Civic Centre, Montego Bay Convention Center.

Failures? How so?

Successes? How so?

mmmm???

Thought you would say that!

We can learn from sports...our sporting culture. One of our greatest success stories is the creation and our nurturing of a track and field 'industry'/organisational entity.

Firstly there was the foresight of school teachers to ape and organise along lines of the 'house system' found in British school 'sports'.

But, let's put to one side boxing - that died, shooting, lawn tennis, table tennis and hockey - still minor sports, cricket which like those previously mentioned, now seems to be involving smaller and smaller numbers of pupils, and concentrate on track and field. There are reasons why track and field has grown faster and on more solid footing than the other sports, not least of which is the relative low cost involved in 'just making the children run'.

I will not go into the importance of the school track and field academies and the dedicated work by teacher-administrators and our teaching population in general...but, would any here dispute that from humble beginings to its present status 'the track and field industry' - (Call it what you will) - is not one of our greatest successes.

Just think about it: From humble beginnings through to involvement of massive input by the schools, including the teachers, pupils - participants, those 'school friends' who provide encouragement for the athletes, 'school fans' - many now adult fans...the general population - Yup! Parents, relatives, friends of athletes and others who just love the sport and the rewards - Including: Yes, even the national feeling of well-being - it brings and the government (mmmm? Schools, a Ministry that supports, the GC Foster College, donations for national teams, etc., etc.) - private sector and the vast host of volunteer administrators who come together...the nation comes together to do this good work?

Just think of it? Why then the lessons learned here cannot be transfered to each and every other area of our country? A great coming together on 'no crime', building on and improving as has 'the track adn field entity',
                          health care, improving school environment, environment in public transport - no lap dances and other uncouth behaviour - water supply system, sewage disposal systems, expansion of those our villages that are expanding into planned, organised, townships...and, the towns into cities as opposed to the unregulated, ugly, disorganised mess as for example, I observed the beautiful quaint Little London, Westmoreland, of my youth has now become?

...and, why...in a general sense...the same good work that has our track and field where it now is on the path to further growth and greater strength, constantly improving professional management - administrators, coaches, trainers, sports medicine practioners, etc. - and greater glory...
                          the disciplined behaviour of the pupils has been allowed...yes! ...allowed!...to deteriorate? As one of our singer-songwriter's alluded to, "Why is
                          Jah Kingdom going to waste"?

I guess the apologists will all gather, look in the mirror...turn around and say...with a straight face...'a gova-ment fault'? Right?

Yup! A gova-ment mek dem pickney dis-repek dem!
                          A gova-ment mek dem neva tek teacha encouragement to become responsible fi demself an dem 'environment' - 'environment' = all facets that lead to self-mobilisation and self-improvement - financial standing, civil society, etc., etc.

How 'nice' it is to take no individual responsibility?! How 'nice' it is to point a finger in every other direction than to oneself?! How 'nice' it is to sit and wait on Bruce and his merry men to solve all our problems?! There is just one little problem of that looking in the mirror and turning a blind eye to that image of self...no Bruce or Portia or whomever...shall ever arrive to clear up the corrupted 'file-mind' of self and be our collective saviour. Our salvation, as has the salvation and success of our track and field, reside in ourselves!

FORWARD!

NB: Hey!!!! The Penn Relays are on us! ...and, we shall...as always, follwing on solid created foundation...foundation created by us...and continuous work being done by us...reap successes!!!

Mi seh - FORWARD!!!

The issue is not Government SOLVING problems.. the issue is Government CREATING PROBLEMS..

Your clowns are like a bull in a china shop.. retarding development.

North Coast Highway was started in 1996...

Can we get back to my original questions. I would love to hear the opinions of my fellow posters, especially you Benjamin.

"The real question is why is Africa still in the same position it's in as in 1984-1985 when the light of the world was focussed on it. Why is there no single country on the continent of Africa that can be held as a beacon, as an example of good governance? Why is it that a continent of such riches cannot have not one country emerging as a leader? Why is it that a continent of millions of inhabitants cannot find leaders with vision and INTEGRITY? Is there a genetic flaw that makes blacks unable to effectively govern ourselves? Why is AIDS and diseases so rampant in Africa? Who is controlling the strings that is keeping Africa in a constant state of depression and poverty? Who is causing this genocide of negroes in Africa?"
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Botswana is in Africa...

So is South Africa...

Eastern Europe suffers from many of the issues you raise.. several new countries were formed as a result... proximity to Western Europe creates much larger urgency..

Aids is a whole nedda drama. need an entire new forum for exploring that.. Roman Catholic Church is big in Africa though.. and you know their stance regarding condoms.. Also Africa was/is a heavy blood donor recepient..

Capitalism needs consumers.. I believe powers that be would not be happier if Africa was able to develop like a China or India..