Willi, Ben, Iman, Pr and others on the

• Willi, Ben, Iman, Pr and others on the

forum; I would like your input. I saw where Watson would have direct application to medicine but I will extend it to education. At present you have software that can teach kids but they are scattered and not unified. Watson is the one to do this with it's algorithms (or analytics). The movie Prometheus brings out the point; where the robot was taught all languages, math and other stuff within a two year period by the space ship's main computer. Watson with its algorithms can assess a child's ability then teach them language, math, science, reading,
    et al. This is real ; teachers watch out!

Okay let's hear the boss first: http://nysebigstage.com/leaders/vent...?cid=p_taboola

How it was done:
    http://blog.ted.com/2013/04/05/how-d...perts-discuss/

Tech people:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=vwDdyxj6S0U

Seems like a reasonable tool, but mek sure you define the problem well!

Watson would test for Cholesterol and prescribe Lipitor, for example. cant even bother explain how many ways that is wrong.

Wrong willi. Watson will draw on the best minds around the world, it will then use its algorithms to make a decision (all in seconds) this will then be given to the doctor who is asking. Watson is dubbed as "after google". I know the pace is rapid but it's here.

I always said this is an area Ja can tap into (analytics/algorithms) . Ja's math education would have to be revamped though. That rote memory schema would have to be dumped. Serious foundation would have to be made for strong theoretical work (as this is the driving force these days) in math.

Certainly a lot that can be done with computers such as Watson, but some researchers don't think it would take that much computing power to do a lot that needs to be done.

Check out this guy who says we are still approaching education using processes that were designed for a totally different era.

The man say schools are "obsolete" , LOL.

http://www.ted.com/talks/sugata_mitr...the_cloud.html

Brilliant and 100% on point.

The education system in Jamaica and other places set up by Babylon's British branch is OUTDATED & OUTMODED.... it needs fundamental reform away from merely focusing on the classical 3 Rs

The world has changed and educators don't realize it. We need to focus on 21st Century APPLICATIONS ... isn't that obvious?

Di Key Takeaway fi mi:

Broadband + Collaboration + Encouragement = Learning

Exactly what wi (hopefully) soon coming Star Trek Project ah deal wid.....woooooiiieee
          Last edited by Don1; June 19, 2013, 03:59 PM.

Why is it an obvious area for Jamaica if we have so much remedial work?

Where exactly am I wrong? Best minds...hahahahahahaha, is like yuh dont realize yuh live in a political world. Brits praise Newton, Germans tell yuh Keppler...I think the Germas are right.

The most dangerous thing in the world is POLICY which has outlived it time and usefulness. My contention is that the slavish adherence to 1962 policies is what is doing us in. Even the best policy must be constantly refreshed.

yuhzimi.... dat an JLPNP corruption

Chengdu High School in China uses this self teaching method one thrid of the time. The school is 2500 years Old!

One criticism about not going to school...what about the socialization dimension?

There's an App for that

One criticism about not going to school...what about the socialization dimension?
                    http://video.foxnews.com/v/234430261...ound-students/

Yes that is a very important element that cannot be ignored.

I have noticed that many parents who home school get their children together to participate in many group events on a regularly scheduled basis. I suppose that does compensate somewhat but its not quite the same as going to school. Maybe if done correctly it is enough, who knows.

The approach that is being promoted in that TED talk does involve a lot of student interaction though. He seems to be all for group learning, but also for much less teacher-led instruction.

I can drink to dat!

Advanced Montessori method