Historian, mek wi talk some music

• Historian, mek wi talk some music

I did not know this group was Native American.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dj0drevGOgA

Great song!

In fact, I did not know that Native Americans have made a significant contribution to American music history.

Are there any Native Americans performing today?

I Am Very Surprised!

Mo, I am just as surprised as you! “Come And Get Your Love” was a big hit, but I automatically thought that Redbone was a black group. I never once imagined Native American! Now I see the significance of the word “Redbone” (red bone).

The only singers I am aware of that have Native American roots are Rita Coolidge (singer of the hit “We’re All Alone” and former wife of Kris Kristofferson) and rock guitar legend Jimi Hendrix. Both were mixed, however (I believe part Cherokee in both cases).

By the way, the most classic example of racial mistake in music, in my opinion, has to be the Righteous Brothers! These two white guys (Bill Medley and the late Bobby Hatfield) were as white as you’ll find them, but when their first hit record came out (“You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feeling”) in the 1960s, many white stations refused to play it, while black stations played it enthusiastically. This was because the Righteous Brothers sounded so black that everyone automatically assumed that they were just another of the many black groups at the time.

When the group eventually made their first appearance on television, America was shocked! And I mean totally shocked! Once the group’s race was realized, there was an immediate and startling turnaround, with white stations giving it constant rotation, making “You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feeling” one of the most played song in history! Surprisingly, not many black stations abandoned the group’s song (because they really sounded black).

Well, I dare any other Forumite to school Historian on any aspect of music!

Anyway, Historian, mi nah go allow yuh fi hijack mi post. Wi talking Native Americans in this thread. Sit and my feet and learn, my son!

Let me give you some more names you may know, you just may not have realized they were Native Americans. If you're not familiar with them I'd encourage you to do YouTube search on them.

Illinois Jacquet, saxophonist - Jammin' the Blues
      Russell "Big Chief" Moore, trombonist who played alongside some Louis Armstrong fella - Back Home Again in Indiana
      Jesse Ed Davis, lead guitarist with George Harrison and Taj Mahal - While My Guitar Gently Weeps and Ain't That a Lot of Love
      Stevie Salas, guitarist for Mick Jagger - God Gave Me Everything and Let Your Story Do the Talkin'
      Randy Castillo, amazing drummer! Check out a drum solo on YouTube.
      Link Wray - Rawhide
      Robbie Robertson & the Red Road Ensemble - It's a Good Day To Die Young and Up on Cripple Creek
      And my new favorite, Buffy Sainte-Marie, musician and vocalist who may have had a little bit to do with the styles of people like Alanis Morrisette and other contemporary singers. Check her out on a not-too-recent rendition of Starwalker.

If I weren't using my phone I would have just given you the links.

Hope y'all enjoy!

Well, I dare any other Forumite to school Historian on any aspect of music!

Anyway, Historian, mi nah go allow yuh fi hijack mi post. Wi talking Native Americans in this thread. Sit and my feet and learn, my son!

Let me give you some more names you may know, you just may not have realized they were Native Americans. If you're not familiar with them I'd encourage you to do YouTube search on them.

Illinois Jacquet, saxophonist - Jammin' the Blues
        Russell "Big Chief" Moore, trombonist who played alongside some Louis Armstrong fella - Back Home Again in Indiana
        Jesse Ed Davis, lead guitarist with George Harrison and Taj Mahal - While My Guitar Gently Weeps and Ain't That a Lot of Love
        Stevie Salas, guitarist for Mick Jagger - God Gave Me Everything and Let Your Story Do the Talkin'
        Randy Castillo, amazing drummer! Check out a drum solo on YouTube.
        Link Wray - Rawhide
        Robbie Robertson & the Red Road Ensemble - It's a Good Day To Die Young and Up on Cripple Creek
        And my new favorite, Buffy Sainte-Marie, musician and vocalist who may have had a little bit to do with the styles of people like Alanis Morrisette and other contemporary singers. Check her out on a not-too-recent rendition of Starwalker.

If I weren't using my phone I would have just given you the links.

Hope y'all enjoy!

Buffy Saint Marie is a legend in Canada for those who love folk music or just music in general. Up here they prefer to be called First Nations. How did you hear about her Mo?

I visited the Native American Museum down by Bowling Green in Manhattan.

I learnt from there that they were not fussy with the use of the term Native American. They would prefer if they were referred to by their tribe (Cherokee, Inuit) but if you don't know that, some other terms were acceptable. We know the derogatory ones they would mind.

Awesome museum! The music section was a big eye opener (and ear opener as well). Took me 1 hour just to listen to it all.
            Last edited by Mosiah; June 14, 2013, 09:57 AM.

Wicked.

I Am Learning

Thanks for the nice words, Mo.

Looking at your list, the only people whose music I’m familiar with are the great jazz saxophonist Illinois Jacquet, the late rock drummer Randy Castillo and The Band’s outstanding lead guitarist Robbie Robertson.

And yes, I am surprised, as I had absolutely no idea that any of those three gentlemen had Indian roots!

By the way, Robbie is Canadian. As a young man, I used to spend hours copying his guitar lines and phrases.

yeah, Rich history in Smokey Mountain Tennessee and North Coralina. When I visit I usually get some info on the cultural history. The state parks have info, hold free history lessons, and have a display for the whole family.

Isn't it sad that these greats are identified as "American" in Wikipedia? Yes, they are American, more so than most, but given our history and the penchant of white America to deny others their culture, it would serve us all to know that these were not your All-Americans. It should not matter but it does!

I believe it was Jimi Hendrix' sister who said they would melaninise (my copyright) photos of her brother to make him appear more African-American. Wow! How low can you be on the totem pole as a people for anyone to do that!

Re your Righteous Brothers story, it's interesting how black radio stations will play almost anyone's music if it sounds black while the white ones are quite reluctant to play the music of others, no matter how white it may sound. There was nothing black about Beat It but it did not get much time on many white stations. I guess Michael was not yet white enough!

It is hard to believe now that MTV thought long and hard about playing MJ's videos because, according to them, the songs did not fit the format of the music that MTV played. They were basically pressured into doing it.

You are right

It is hard to believe now that MTV thought long and hard about playing MJ's videos because, according to them, the songs did not fit the format of the music that MTV played. They were basically pressured into doing it.
                        Yep, and look at MTV today and what it has descended to -- pure, unadulterated garbage and so-called reality sh!t.

MTV in 1980 was also a fraud. Quincy Jones tried his best to make Michael Jackson’s music as “crossover-friendly” as possible with his production work on “Off the Wall” and “Thriller.” Mo mentioned the hard time that “Beat It” got from some white stations when it came out in the early 1980s. This I have always found truly ironic as “Beat It” was pure rock, thanks to its rhythm and also Eddie Van Halen’s blazing lead guitar riff and fantastic solo.

Sorry about the thread hijacking, Mo, but what much is there to say about Native American music? It’s not as if Native American musicians and singers have made any sort of impact whatsoever on the musical landscape.

I guess the format was ordinary music.

Big man, it was Sony that threaten them, that if they do not play MJ, they would with hold any other there artist to be used on MTV.

So did you visit the American sports museum around the corner?