• Car sales plummet as Gov't continues with onerous duties

Car sales plummet as Gov't continues with onerous duties

Friday, June 07, 2013

It was to be expected. With the government imposing ever increasing duties on new motor vehicles, there has been a significant reduction in car sales in Jamaica over the last year. A cursory glance at April's sales figures paints a bleak picture for ...more

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/business/#ixzz2Vrc11MBP

A country that has a high number of new vehicles on the road is a sign of an energised, robust economy whose citizens can realise their aspirations.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busin...#ixzz2Vs2Vy7i0

German May New Car Sales Decline 9.9% on European Economy ...

www.bloomberg.com/.../german-may-new-car-sales-decline-9-9-on-euro...‎
      7 days ago – New car sales in Germany, Europe's largest economy, resumed declining in May as buyers shied away from big-ticket purchases and fleet ...

French car sales plunge, Renault worst hit - Economic Times

articles.economictimes.indiatimes.com › CollectionsCar Market
      Jun 3, 2013 – PARIS: New car registrations in France, a key indicator of economic health, dropped sharply in May according to new data published on ...

Auto sales remain depressed in May amid a slowing economy ... - Mint

www.livemint.com/.../Auto-sales-remain-depressed-in-May-amid-a-slowi...‎
      Jun 3, 2013 – Some auto makers, analysts see revival on the cards despite car sales retreating for the seventh month in a row.

China Car Sales Rise More Slowly as Trade Data Seen Slowing ...

www.bloomberg.com/.../chinese-may-car-sales-rise-more-slowly-as-coun...‎
      2 days ago – China's passenger-vehicle sales rose at a slower pace in May as consumer confidence waned amid signs that momentum for economic growth ...

not nessecarily

Just quoting the article...but I seem to get in trouble for that.
          The report is an obvious lobby by the new car dealers - the need to make money and they need to sell cars and justify sales. The reasons advanced may not necessarily account for the drop in sales but maybe just reflecting the wider economic situation.
          I never thought motor vehicle purchasing was an economic stimulus - it may reflect an positive outlook etc....but I'm no economics expert nor will I espouse myself to be.....

how you get inna trouble? So only expert can talk now?

Nuff places have good transportation system. In our cases buying car may show some confidence but it maybe a sign that we sending the few dollars we have as we like everything shinny from foreign.

Not in this post...an earlier post I made where Historian jumped a bit hasty...
              Well we have quite a few experts on the forum...on wide ranging subjects...we are a gifted group indeed....

The rampant consumerism in Jamaica has never been flagged as a problem or a major issue. Another is the keeping up with the Jones' syndrome....put a lot of people under stress, least of all the Jones'.

"More man have cyar, gyal, cellphone..."

Otherwise know as Black Man Time..

Played y'all like a drum...

Of course those have been repeatedly flagged here!

Yeah..but this 'the rum bar'.

ok, but you know experts needs the opinions of common people to form their expert opinion, right??? That is why nobody can shut me up. I will learn from the expert but I will stick to my opinion until they can show me facts and not "run mouth".

I for one believe have always express alarm at the consumerism in Jamaica especially for goods that are not made in Ja. I for one believe we have too much cars in Jamaica.

memba seh super store open enuh