• Cloud computing is a trap

http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology...chard.stallman
    Cloud computing is a trap, warns GNU founder Richard Stallman

Web-based programs like Google's Gmail will force people to buy into locked, proprietary systems that will cost more and more over time, according to the free software campaigner

Bobbie Johnson, technology correspondent
    guardian.co.uk, Monday 29 September 2008 09.11 EDT

Richard Stallman, creator of the GNU computer operating system
    Richard Stallman on cloud computing: "It's stupidity. It's worse than stupidity: it's a marketing hype campaign." Photograph: www.stallman.org

The concept of using web-based programs like Google's Gmail is "worse than stupidity", according to a leading advocate of free software.

Cloud computing – where IT power is delivered over the internet as you need it, rather than drawn from a desktop computer – has gained currency in recent years. Large internet and technology companies including Google, Microsoft and Amazon are pushing forward their plans to deliver information and software over the net.

But Richard Stallman, founder of the Free Software Foundation and creator of the computer operating system GNU, said that cloud computing was simply a trap aimed at forcing more people to buy into locked, proprietary systems that would cost them more and more over time.

"It's stupidity. It's worse than stupidity: it's a marketing hype campaign," he told The Guardian.

"Somebody is saying this is inevitable – and whenever you hear somebody saying that, it's very likely to be a set of businesses campaigning to make it true."

The 55-year-old New Yorker said that computer users should be keen to keep their information in their own hands, rather than hand it over to a third party.

His comments echo those made last week by Larry Ellison, the founder of Oracle, who criticised the rash of cloud computing announcements as "fashion-driven" and "complete gibberish".

"The interesting thing about cloud computing is that we've redefined cloud computing to include everything that we already do," he said. "The computer industry is the only industry that is more fashion-driven than women's fashion. Maybe I'm an idiot, but I have no idea what anyone is talking about. What is it? It's complete gibberish. It's insane. When is this idiocy going to stop?"

The growing number of people storing information on internet-accessible servers rather than on their own machines, has become a core part of the rise of Web 2.0 applications. Millions of people now upload personal data such as emails, photographs and, increasingly, their work, to sites owned by companies such as Google.

Computer manufacturer Dell recently even tried to trademark the term "cloud computing", although its application was refused.

But there has been growing concern that mainstream adoption of cloud computing could present a mixture of privacy and ownership issues, with users potentially being locked out of their own files.

Stallman, who is a staunch privacy advocate, advised users to stay local and stick with their own computers.

"One reason you should not use web applications to do your computing is that you lose control," he said. "It's just as bad as using a proprietary program. Do your own computing on your own computer with your copy of a freedom-respecting program. If you use a proprietary program or somebody else's web server, you're defenceless. You're putty in the hands of whoever developed that software."

Stallman is one of the most brilliant minds in the history of IT, his contributions to the field are legendary. But bwoy him can protest bout everything that is not pure GNU or Free Software Foundation.

Maybe he will be proven correct about Cloud Computing in the long run. We will see.

Of course he will!

Yuh nuh sight up the samfie?

yep. Them want you fi get fi load up your stuff and either pay up or it disappear.

Not for all services.

For example most personal email is not going back to individual computers, that is staying in the cloud (thank goodness). Certain mobile applications need the cloud to do the number crunching, that makes perfect sense.

Amazon Elastic Cloud service has opened up many opportunities for one-off projects that require intensive processing for a limited period of time. Great technology.

As for corporate software applications, critical personal data and that kind of thing, that is more questionable. But people already load up them life story to Facebook, them can't get it back.

Stallman is something of an extremist in his views on how software should be used. But he is also a genius so we expect those idiosyncrasies from such people.

A trap in more ways than one

The govt just needs one fiber connection to have backdoor access to multiple data points on hundreds of millions of subscribers to these online provider's servers

These cloud services make real time illegal surveillance a breeze

caan ketch mi

True, but mi know man whey rip dem CD and a store it pon cloud while dem sell off the physical discs. Yuh can see where this is gonna end, right? LoL

Oh me still have me CD dem inna one big box, just in case. LOL.

Maybe they will find a model that offers unlimited access and control over the songs you want to hear for a low fixed monthly fee, like a Pandora but with you selecting the songs. Say you can play any song any amount of times, setup playlists, etc and stream to whatever device you have. I would probably go for that. Me nuh need fe own a CD, I just want to have access to the songs whenever I feel like hearing them.

Assasin, how does that model sound as a man in the industry who has had to deal with piracy?

That model sounds ok but a few things.
                      1) it make it harder for break through. One of the reasons we don't have more hits and better music is because we all stuck in listening to the same songs and many of the times nothing new.

2) I am very wary of the CD copies because not only are users copying your stuff because I still have songs that are been sold in certain markets but you get no nothing. A distribute take x amount and then distribute for you and then distribute for themselves if you know what I mean. Mi nah call nuh name because it not that easy to prove in a court of law. I find it Ironic how Sony is the biggest Music company and at the same time the biggest seller of blank CD/DVD

Again the Internet model you can become overnight success by gaining attention somehow and your song will be played or view but for most young artists it is really hard to get in that rotation. Still trying to get a grasp of the best internet model to break. There are some opportunity but it takes a little bit of money paying people for marketing and DJ subscription, but back in the days you made 45s and sold it DJs and aspiring to recoup your production money and the rest is brawta to do your next project so it hard on most independent producers. Big companies get those royalties but you have to hired special people to collect it if you are a small man as ASCAP etc. mostly monitor big stations etc.

Spotify?

That is there already buy inly MP3 and now they have to be reasonable. When everybody run go cloud up, price can change...

Rhatid Spotify do all a dat? Didn't realize. Thought it was closer to Pandora.

Me haffe go check it out since it is available on all of my devices including the Roku box.

You know if the paid version of Pandora does all that as well? I have only used the free one.

Dunno,
                              A bredrin at work uses Sportify for like $20 a month? He is always telling me how great it is, but big man dont deal with MP3...Strickly lossless, hirez or DSD.