Pay or else... at Spanish Town Health Centre

I thought there were no user fees in the health system ?

Barbados now in some serious debt problems and economic issues.

Yes, but they are much more equipped at dealing with a crisis than we are. Much more educated and informed public.

I can never forget in the early 90s when they ran into some trouble and the government of the day asked the workers to take a pay cut in order to make the adjustment plans work. Well, the unions voted and agreed to take the cut!

Under the 1993 Wage and Price Protocol, workers and unions assented to a one-time cut in real wages of about 9 percent and agreed to keep their demands for future pay raises in line with increases in productivity. Firms promised to moderate their price increases, the government maintained the parity of the currency, and all parties agreed to the creation of a national productivity board to provide better data on which to base future negotiations.

Source: Institutions versus Policies - A Tale of Two islands

http://w4.stern.nyu.edu/aboutstern/p...slands-AER.pdf

Now you tell me in which life you would get Jamaican unions agreeing to this. I am not even blaming the unions, the larger problem is that we have ZERO trust in government and the traditional private sector as well, for good reason. They are not yet at that stage, again for good reason. Good for them. If Don1 want to find a moggle fe him social contract him nuh haffe look nuh further than the Bajans.

Yes their attitude toward Jcans stinks at times and them accent is one of the most effed up in the world, but give dem dem due.