Pay or else... at Spanish Town Health Centre

"Was it properly budgeted for?"

That is the big mistake. Nothing free but must be properly budgeted for. How Barbados can provide their students with University Education???

Fact is our University is not in any business of business to even offset any of the cost to itself and not contributing the way it should to business development.

It is not that "Free" basic care don't work but you said

"But those are the details that politicians do not want to bother with. Better to go on stage and beat off you chest and claim how much you love poor" people.

the 20 dollar co-payment is not for most healthcare. I-man stop been so trivial. There was a cost for most people that runs into thousands, tens of and hundred thousands for many. Some places wouldn't even attend to people unless they could pay.

Again read the data I just gave you.

...to detect and prevent would be better than trying to catch the horse after it went through the gate.
        YES, absolutely! But many can afford it so mek them pay a smalls! Unless you agree with Sass that $20 co-pay is too much for most Jamaicans to spend on their health because them haffe use that fe go a bar Friday night.

where did I agree with that?

YES, absolutely! But many can afford it so mek them pay a smalls! Unless you agree with Sass that $20 co-pay is too much for most Jamaicans to spend on their health because them haffe use that fe go a bar Friday night.
            I think the problem is we looking at this from 2 different angles. I am looking at it from the angle of a man I heard about that did an operation at KPH. While at home recovering, he got a bill for more than J$100,000. Since he didn't have it to pay, he didn't even bother going back for post-op check up.

I am looking at it from the angle of a man who had colon cancer. He was provided with medication, which was very expensive and he couldn't afford. What this man was doing was enduring the pain throughout the day, take the pill at night so he could sleep, all in an attempt for the pills to serve.

Barbados has been blessed with decent government with most of thier post independence life. We have not.

I will never forget in the early 90s I believe when the Bdos govt told the people that money short and they are asking the publci sector to take a pay cut in the interest on the nation.....and they voted to take it!!Now you tell me in which century that coulda fly inna Jamaica.

In the Gordon Shirley era UWI has done quite a bit to generate income and have a plan to eventually be revenue neutral. I don't remember the timeline but at least they have that as a goal and it is long overdue.

I am not saying it cannot work, but when you talking bout a govt who cannot even do the basic things right how in the world are they going to take on the difficult things?

But Lazie, I am not saying that man should have had to pay $100,000.

I am saying saying he or someone who supports him should have to pay SOMETHING, not directly because of this individual very serious case, but because of the need to support the one hundred daily less serious cases where somebody come to the hospital because "me head a hot me" or "me step pon a glass bokkle" etc, etc. Those take up valuable time and resources too, resources that have to be split between those and caring for the colon cancer patient.

oh it is good government now?

They are not blessed with it but they make good choices and force the politicans to do their job and we don't. Yes Mr. Shirley seems to be a good man, met him a few time when he was Ambassador to US. But it has taken this long for UWI Mona? Maybe if they continue they can give some tertiary scholarshops.

Yes you right. They demand it, we don't.

Mona suffered from lack of dynamic leadership for a long time. Shirley is to go on secondment to Port Authority for a while, I hope he has a good supporting cast in place to continue his good work.

But Lazie, I am not saying that man should have had to pay $100,000.

I am saying saying he or someone who supports him should have to pay SOMETHING, not directly because of this individual very serious case, but because of the need to support the one hundred daily less serious cases where somebody come to the hospital because "me head a hot me" or "me step pon a glass bokkle" etc, etc. Those take up valuable time and resources too, resources that have to be split between those and caring for the colon cancer patient.
                      Islandman, how many times the authorities were asking the citizens with minor problems to go to a health center and the people didn't listen? All of that was addressed. Maybe what should have been done, if 'yuh' number get called at the hospital upon seeing that this was a minor case dem refer 'you' to a health center. Then we'd be hearing another set of complaints.

I am of the view it was a good policy that needed tweeking. However, since the masses saw it as a bad policy, the gov't should pull the plug instead of waste time with these meetings.

People won't ever change if it inconveniences them.

But charge them a $20 and tell them is just $10 at the health center and suddenly.......LOL.

Ok if you have a problem with the term "bad policy" lets just say that I think it could have been implemented better. I am not against accessible health care for everyone, I just don't think that equates to "free" health care for everyone.

you just nuh like the word "free".

"Free for everyone" is what I don't like.

But it is not free. That is what NIS was made for. A working government can raise NIS by just 1% to get millions. Communities working with their hospital can do a lot more. Just look at what Capleton alone do for Annotto Bay hospital. A just Sunday I called a friend in England and he was telling me proudly about my about his NIS. Everybody paying it out of their salary. We don't want a system either where farmers have to pay with their prized bull literally. Fact is there is not much plan and even when people were paying we had too many people who were excluded from going to a doctor when needed. What I don't like is some of the doctors take advantage and make prices and fees just for their own. I know someone who needed blood every so often and her relative told me she had to work an extra job as if you go to the hospital and don't have the money they act as if they don't want to give you the blood.

Yep, repeat after me - no free lunch!