• Pay or else... at Spanish Town Health Centre

Pay or else... at Spanish Town Health Centre

BY DONNA HUSSEY-WHYTE Sunday Observer reporter husseyd@jamaicaobserver.com
    Sunday, June 09, 2013

IT is 8:27 am, and already no more than 300 patients are crammed into the small facility that is the Spanish Town Health Centre.
    Pregnant women, babies — even the elderly who have to be led in, were present. Every seat in the centre was occupied, leaving many standing and waiting for a name or number to be called so that they could in turn occupy the seat to be vacated. Many would still be there way into the evening.

1/1

To the right of the room is the restroom, and a notice that reads 'Kindly make a contribution of $20 towards the upkeep of the bathroom, etc. Thanks. Management'. This drew attention.
    But while many may not mind 'making a contribution', the forceful way in which it is being carried out was a cause of anger to many.
    This, people found out, when they needed to use the bathrooms.
    A female attendant stood blocking the entrance to the restroom. After telling the people that they needed to make a contribution of $20 or more, she held her ground, refusing to move if patients declared that they did not have any money for this purpose.
    "You have to make a contribution," she declared, not moving.
    In fact, people were required to pay, no matter what they wanted to do inside.
    This included paying $20 to pass urine for a medical test, and another $20 to empty the container after it was tested.
    It was a situation that drew anger from many patients when the Jamaica Observer made a covert visit last Wednesday.
    "So even to empty the urine we have to pay?" one pregnant woman asked the attendant.
    "Yes, everything," she responded, blocking the entrance.
    "So suppose mi don't have it?"
    "Well, you have to make a contribution of $20 or more," she repeated. "Is just $20."
    Seeing her insistence the woman reached into her bag, pulled out her purse and handed her a $50 note and collected her change, a controlled look on her face.
    The elderly were not exempted.
    One woman stood at the restroom door negotiating payment for her elderly relative who was forced to wait while the debate of payment ensued around her.
    The same questions were asked, "Why do we have to pay to use the bathroom?"
    Answer: "You not paying to use the bathroom, you just making a contribution towards the upkeep."
    "Then suppose she want to use it again?" she asked.
    The woman handed over the $20 and her relative went in.
    "One $20 can't last fi the whole day," the attendant responded.
    The woman then began talking to herself as she waited on her relative.
    "That don't fair. Some people leave their yard with only fare 'cause they don't have it. So suppose they don't have it what they must do?"
    As her elderly relative emerged she held onto her arm and ushered her to a seat, still grumbling to herself.
    "Even if mi mother come here, is the same rule go fi she," the attendant said.
    It was debate after debate as people went to use the bathroom facility and were told the same thing.
    One thing was evident — it was not a request, but a demand.
    "Look here, I am not cussing with anybody, I talk to people," the attendant said. "I am a child of God. Child of God to the people who believe in truth and justice," she said.
    But the woman with her elderly relative was not alone, many others were in disagreement with the method employed by the health centre.
    "I'm not paying to use the government bathroom," one irate young woman said. "Before mi pay mi keep it up or go over hospital or over the plaza and use them bathroom because you don't have to pay anything. Why mi shoulda pay?"
    A child about five years old tried pushing her way into the restroom.
    "Go back for you mommy," the attendant stopped her.
    "Mi want peepee," the child said softly.
    "Go back for you mother!" the doorkeeper advised sternly.
    When the child returned with her mother she told her that she needed to pay no less than $20 for the child to use the facility. The mother had no option as her child stood looking up at her waiting impatiently to relieve herself.
    A man heading for the men's bathroom a few metres away was stopped and a similar request made by the attendant.
    He dipped into his pocket and she reeled off a piece of tissue and handed it to him. He gave her $10.
    "Sir it's $20 or more," she told him.
    "That is what I have," he said. "$20 to use toilet? Is $50 for a reel of tissue so why mi must pay $20?"
    The attendant grabbed away the tissue that she had given him and told him to go 'bout his business, the man insisted she could not stop him and cussed his way into the restroom nonetheless.
    And while the situation was displeasing and even a source of anger for many, the attendant too seemed frustrated at the situation.
    "Mi ago lock down deh place yah and go a me yard eno, I swear," she said. "Lock down this and go a mi yard!"
    When asked what the patients would do, she responded.
    "Dat a fi dem business! You see when the man them come and fix dem yah?" she said knocking the lock on the door to indicate what she was referring to.
    "Then nuh government place," this reporter asked.
    "Hello, government place or no government place," she responded.
    "The money is for the upkeep of the bathroom because you have some people come here, dem nasty! Sometimes you go in there and pad clog up the bowl, or blood deh all over the place. If you don't monitor them the place can't use," she said.
    She held her position at the entrance, making sure that each person flushed the toilets after use and wiped water splashed on the counter or the floor.
    While there was no water in the bowls at times, she ensured that water was in a bucket for flushing.
    "Mi nah get pay to do this," she argued. "You know how much time they tief out all the soap them?"
    She said that even if the soap is placed in the despenser which is mounted on the wall, the bottle is still removed from the dispenser. When placed on the counter, the hand soap simply goes missing.
    In fact, she explained, people will find innovative ways to steal. She recalls one woman taking a soda bottle into the toilet and emptying the contents from the hand soap into it then left the empty soap bottle on the counter.
    "That is why I don't even allow them to take garbage in here. So when you hear me talking, I know why mi a talk!" she said.
    But while many may be in disagreement with having to 'make a contribution', some see it as a welcomed change.
    "I don't mind paying it because it (toilets) keep much better now that they start collect," one woman sitting with a baby and a young child said. "Before that you couldn't go in there. It would sick you stomach. So I don't mind paying for the comfort."
    She said asking for contribution started about two months ago.
    "Nothing nuh wrong man," one man who had taken his son to use the restroom told the attendant after she asked him for a 'contribution'.
    "Nothing nuh wrong with that. Mi will give you $100," he said dipping into his pocket.
    "Mi nuh want you stand up a look inna mi face and go back go say you want 'peepee' or you want 'dodo' and mi nuh mek you go," she said to a woman waiting patiently outside the restroom door. "See one empty stall deh, go use it."
    Another woman came to the attendant's defence.
    "If you come here and you ask the lady she will allow you, but it depends on how you ask her," the woman said. "She not really going to turn you back."
    "Mi nah punish nuhbody but we just ask for a contribution," the woman at the restroom door said.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2VnIb9doF

This is what happens when government introduces polices like "free" health care while knowing fully well they cannot afford to sustain it. Well it free except that you have to contribute or **** up yourself. Nice.

I will say that every public bathroom that I have had to pay to use in JA has been clean and smells fresh. Not saying it should be mandatory everywhere and for everyone but in a nation where tax compliance is ridiculously low these are the ways to get people to pay for the maintainable of public facilities. Most people should pay.

We can afford it. We simply just not doing the right thing. Britain and Canada have decent systems. We could use taxes from cigarette, and other plus NIS from everybody's pay to run it and use some modern cost cutting measures.

I can remember when doctors use to tell people to bring them choice cow come in return for service, or was running their private practice in the public hospital. I wouldn't want our system to be like the one in the US as it is a killer, as they choose to put big price on everything.

We need to find out how Britain, Canada, Cuba etc. can do it and forward. Too many poor people can't afford it and it hard to decide between healthcare and paying your rent or starting a small business.

Sass that is dreaming. We can barely pay teachers salary and we talking bout free health care for everyone. Everyone?

If we were half decent at collecting taxes and quarter decent at spending it that would be different. But we are not.

True...

If I were a patient there, and they wanted me to give a urine sample, stool sample, and blood sample, instead of paying to pee, I would just give them my underwear.

I man the fact is most of the population is poor so you going to ask the teachers to pay for healthcare even with their no raise of pay???

We may can't give everybody it but MOST working people in Jamaica deserve it. You realize how many people wasn't going to hospital because they couldn't pay????? You realize the private rip off that was going on in the name of paying for healthcare? Even if they pay I can tell you the government will not get some a that money, some people will be running business in that hospital.

This is what happens when government introduces polices like "free" health care while knowing fully well they cannot afford to sustain it. Well it free except that you have to contribute or **** up yourself. Nice.

I will say that every public bathroom that I have had to pay to use in JA has been clean and smells fresh. Not saying it should be mandatory everywhere and for everyone but in a nation where tax compliance is ridiculously low these are the ways to get people to pay for the maintainable of public facilities. Most people should pay.
                How, so now its the free health care policy? What about those who couldn't afford it that benefitted from it? I agreed it should have been amended that those with health insurance should have presented their documents and those who can afford to pay should pay.

Why you not knock the current administration for the cuts to the health sector?

I am not into knocking administrations just for the sake of knocking them. I am into knocking bad policy.

It was a bad policy when it was implemented and continues to be a bad policy now.

I am not into knocking administrations just for the sake of knocking them. I am into knocking bad policy.

It was a bad policy when it was implemented and continues to be a bad policy now.
                    How is it a bad policy when people who cannot afford healthcare benefitted from it? Which new system is implemented that doesn't encounter hiccups? The policy was a good policy. That said, parts of it should have been amended, but to claim its a bad policy has to be a joke.

Deserves it? Nobody "deserves" free government services especially when they are not paying any taxes to pay for it, I don't care how you poor.

If I remember correctly some people who cannot afford basic medication get NIS health benefits. I am totally fine with that. What I am against is this "free for everybody" nonsense that almost never works out.

When services are free people generally do not value them as much, somebody else is paying for it, or so they think. Not just poor people, ALL people. You think insurance companies have a small co-payment because they can't afford to make it free? No, its because they KNOW that without a small co-payment nuff people would go doctor every time them sneeze or cough because it would cost them nothing , nothing that is until them premium go up and them them bawl blood.

The same reason Manley's "free education for all up to university" was bad policy. Many benefited from it including many of us. That is not the point. The IDEAS are not necessarily bad, the IMPLEMENTATION was bad. Was it properly budgeted for? Is it sustainable? How do we measure the outcomes to determine if the policy is working or not? I am not talking about how many people visit doctor office or how many students sit in a classroom. Those are just raw statistics. What matters is whether the OVERALL health of the nation or education of the nation is improved by the policy.

But those are the details that politicians do not want to bother with. Better to go on stage and beat off you chest and claim how much you love poor people.

"Deserves it? Nobody "deserves" free government services especially when they are not paying any taxes to pay for it, I don't care how you poor."

They are paying taxes. That is what NIS should be for so why people paying NIS and can't get the use the healthcare system??? Isn't that what NIS is for? or only for people who can't pay NIS??

There was no small co-payment because most people couldn't afford it. What maybe small to you is not to others. You know what I know seniors who live in nice house and drive car and couldn't afford it and by any survey they would come up as been above the "poor" threashold.

You know what I went to doctor recently and the doctor tell me I was ok but said I could do a test to be sure. That test was 2500 dollars and my insurance was covering 500 at the time. I had to choose whether to do it or not to since I don't have that kind of money lying around.

You rather people not going to hospital because they can't afford it. Do you read the data I gave you? 65% of people who use the system is uninsured and considered poor.

The same reason Manley's "free education for all up to university" was bad policy. Many benefited from it including many of us. That is not the point. The IDEAS are not necessarily bad, the IMPLEMENTATION was bad. Was it properly budgeted for? Is it sustainable? How do we measure the outcomes to determine if the policy is working or not? I am not talking about how many people visit doctor office or how many students sit in a classroom. Those are just raw statistics. What matters is whether the OVERALL health of the nation or education of the nation is improved by the policy.

But those are the details that politicians do not want to bother with. Better to go on stage and beat off you chest and claim how much you love poor people.
                            "What matters is whether the OVERALL health of the nation or education of the nation is improved by the policy. "

Well maybe you need to come down off the soap box. How many data was presented showing that numerous Jamaicans that couldn't afford it benefitted from it? I would think being able to detect and prevent would be better than trying to catch the horse after it went through the gate.

Implementation will not go smooth, what needs to be done is evaluate then make adjusments. That's what the previous gov't did wrong. When it came out that people with heath insurance was abusing the system, an adjustment should have been made. But to insist that it was a bad policy ... well ... we'll disagree on that.

Sorry I don't believe that 90 percent of jamaicans cannot afford a $20 JA co-payment. I just don't. $20? For your health?

How much a Red Stripe cost? A flask a rum? How much it cost fe go a dance? Not to mention stage show?

Sass, we poor but nuh so.