Tired of hearing it

• Tired of hearing it

Just went for a brief walk and a co-worker said "I went on a cruise and stopped in Ochi Rios last week" She said when I read the reviews online I wonder if I should get off the ship. She said she and her husband did but they were harassed for buying stuff or taking pictures. She said she loved Dunns River and the Bobsledding at Mystic mountain but wouldn't want to go back because of the harassment.

I told her that this is sad as this happen a lot at the port and I am sure a visit to a top hotel maybe different. She said she would love to go back if not for the harassment. I told her if she decided to go back let me know and I will assist her that she has a good vacation by recommend a few places.

I am just tired of the same old story and we acting like we serious about tourism.

3/4 of them don't even get off in Jamaica...any chance the Captains get they bypass Jamaica...usually use choppy waters as an excuse not to be able to dock...Jamaica has nothing to offer really...

Jamaica has nothing to offer really...
      Then weh yuh woulda seh bout Cayman??
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Turtles and snorkeling is all. But people feel safe to walk around.

Yet jokers critcize Butch and the All Inclusive concept.

Pristine beaches, booze, clean streets, proper shopping, no harrassment...what more yuh want than that?

Don't you see Sas is making a totally different point? Stop the tourist harassment.

yes and instead of us selling our lovely island, we have to apologize first try to be coy.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                  Don't you see Sas is making a totally different point? Stop the tourist harassment.
                  Is it? Tourists staying at AIs are kept away from all this. Tipping staff isn't even allowed.

Are they mutually exclusive?

Twenty arrested in Ocho Rios for tourist harassment5:53 pm, Thu June 6, 2013

A joint operation aimed at reducing incidents of harassment against tourists and restoring public order in the tourist resort town of Ocho Rios, has led to the arrest of approximately 20 persons.

At least three women accused of offering hair-braiding services to several visitors, were also nabbed in the mid-morning operation carried out on Wednesday.

Captain Everton Phillips, Manager of the Tourism Courtesy Corps, says the main objective was to reduce the unwanted social harassment of visitors.

“The harassment stems from drivers, contract carriers and operators , to hair braiders offering services all operating without licence as well as persons offering beads and craft items with license.”

He said other breaches were detected by the joint team consisting of the St. Ann Police, Transport Authority, Police Traffic Division and Tourism Courtesy Corps.

Those arrested are scheduled to appear in Court at a later date.

Punishment should be a remedial class in tourism and customer service.

Probably need remedial classes in English and Math first....
                          Good to do see smthing being done as it has been the perennial cry....let's hope its just...and equitable...don't want it to be kangaroo system or way toget rid of competitors....

Hope the deal with it proper. In the pass the police use too much aggression which don't help and hope they don't have a criminal record for a first offense.

A think a ticketing system could work in this case.

When they going to deal with the hand miggle rubbers on every street corner in certain areas of Kingston ??