Baffling...
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
working with rural folks here and you see a lot of similarity with a lot of similarity with rural Jamaica.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Paul Marin told me he sent a fax to JA years ago, called the recipient to ask if they could read it; the reply was: "...it was fine " or something so. He left it at that as he thought everything was ok. Turned out they couldn't read it because the writing was "fine"... too small to read.Peter R
Now the question: 15/23...what do you call the long sandwich with cold cuts...lettuce etc etc...
My immediate answer was hero!!
The map shows that only Long Islanders refer to this sandwich as hero.
I lived on long Island for ~ 20 years!!!The only time TRUTH will hurt you...is if you ignore it long enough
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostHad a geography teacher in Jamaica who use to say AR-KAN-SAS...an American bredda in the class always tried to correct her and tell her it was pronounced AR-KAN-SAW...you know she run di bredda outta di class
For example, there is a place in Kansas close to the Oklahoma border name Arkansas City. If you were to go there and pronounce it ARK-AN-SAW as you would the state, you would be corrected and told it is AR-KAN-SAS City.
Having lived in Little Rock, Arkansas for a couple years, I got used to the ARK-AN-SAW pronunciation. I find it difficult saying AR-KAN-SAS City when I have to say it."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
I always say CONNECT-TI-CUT. I guess I am Jamaican then."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran